We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Winter Escape
Ranked #24 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We did enjoy or stay but the price is not justified in my eyes. The only perfect thing about this hotel is the location. Rooms are run of the mill and our room was a view of the top of run down buildings. The lobby is pretty & courtyard is nice. I just don't see how they can charge $300-$400 a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    689
    218
    73
    56
See reviews for
292
1,013
75
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was really great and in an amazing location!

I had a room with a little balcony just off of Bourbon - which was great because it was peaceful. I spent 3 nights at the hotel. During the day it was easy to get around and do some sightseeing and at night you were right in the middle of things.

The staff were always helpful and informative!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, old New Orleans but with modern conveniences. The front desk lady was wonderful when we arrived late (@1:00 a.m.) and when we checked out early (@4:15 a.m.) during our stay. The room was clean, the bathroom was small but clean, and had a blow dryer. The bed was very comfortable, but the feather pillows were too soft for me. I made the mistake of requesting a Bourbon St. facing room, thinking it would be fun. It's nice hearing the music drift up, but not so much when the drunken masses on the street are asking girls to "show me your ...." and being otherwise very loud. I would get a courtyard or side street room next time. One other negative (not the hotel's fault) was the roudy, incosiderate guests that think that they are still on Bourbon Street when they are in the corridors, so just be prepared for that. There was a coffee shop and a club in the hotel, so those conveniences were nice.

Room Tip: Request side street or courtyard room. Bourbon Street very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just back from an extended weekend in New Orleans. A shout out to the room service staff and kitchen. The breakfast we ordered was delicious and the staff arrived on time and were extremely friendly and attentive. Kudos to this group.

Now for the not so great...Was not overly impressed with the quality of the rooms - the rooms at The Provencial were equally nice and half the price, but you are paying for location and that part was great. The location was right on Bourbon Street and very convenient for walking to everything you would want in the French Quarter.


That being said...Even a few weeks before Mardi Gras, this hotel was very noisy - motorcyles parked directly under our room who revved motors and set off car alarms between 6-7 a.m. every morning and yet we received a visit from the security officer (2 people couple) at 2 a.m. after we had just arrived an hour earlier because next door guests complained our tv was too loud. Really? The street noise alone was enough to drown out any tv noise, but maybe the tv was keeping them up.

Overall, for the price, I probably would not stay here again. The front staff was not overly friendly or helpful. The rooms were average. I've stayed at resorts for the same price that blew this hotel away. I think I was expecting something more from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitscoty, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is very good location as far as being central. It is definitely a busy part of french quarter as it is on Bourbon Street. The hotel was beautiful, clean, helpful staff, especially Russell the concierge. Desire restaurant had amazing breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first visit to New Orleans. We both wanted to stay in the French Quarter and so we looked at a bunch of hotels online and decided on the Royal Sonesta. It's a big hotel. We knew that one side of it was on Bourbon and the other was on Bienville. We chose the Bienville side, thinking we'd be somewhat spared all the ruckus and commotion of Bourbon, but we were wrong. We were not spared. We heard everything - tap dancing street performers, drunks, loud music, which in the end wasn't really a big deal - we were in New Orleans after all.

And so if you like to sleep, don't stay here (maybe don't go to New Orleans at all because this city does not sleep, ever).

The hotel was fine. Lobby was grand and clean. Staff was friendly. Room was clean but it was a little run down. Location was close to everything. Bed was comfy. Would we stay here again? Maybe, but probably not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived on the 20th December for 3 nights and had a room over looking Bourbon Street. Our room had been refurbished and was excellent. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was decked out with all the christmas decorations you can think of and lots of beautiful christmas trees everywhere.

We were there when the Raging Cajuns overtook the hotel and although very noisy at tea time with their parties in each others room going on, at night time you could hear a pin drop.

Coffee shop was excellent and so was the Jazz Club. Had a couple of drinks there each night before the end of the night. Great atmosphere.

We were given a free bottle of wine by way of an apology as room service knocked on our door saying we had ordered a bottle which we hadn't and they realised they had got the wrong room. 20 minutes later there was another knock at the door and room service bought us an excellent bottle of Chardonney by way of an apology of disturbing us. Great way to start our trip.

Overall a great location and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.