We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Christmas Decorations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Christmas Decorations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed before getting on our cruise ship right before Christmas. The lobby and entire hotel was decorated with the most beautiful decorations. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great location and very clean rooms. Watch the doorman as he has a cab driver that he will recommend and he tries to take advantage of tourists! We've been too many times and know the local fares. Otherwise, enjoy your stay and have fun in the Big Easy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    757
    240
    79
    59
See reviews for
308
1,107
79
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Was in New Orleans for business and stayed at Sonesta. The location is perfect if you want to be in the French Quarter and the lobby is lovely. The staff was helpful but a bit stressed ( several conferences were being held there). Desire Oyster Bar and the R'Evolution restuarant were outstanding ( but this IS New Orleans, after all, so food expectations are high!). The room was fine, but utterly forgettable-- I could have been in any chain hotel in any major city. It was fine, but only fine---it needs a big update to make this hotel something special, which I am sure it would like to be.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been to New Orleans many times but this was only the 2nd time staying here (it had been years). For sure when we go back, we'll be staying here. I agree with most reviews...the rooms are on the smallish side but they're clean and the beds are comfy. You were within short walking distances from so many things...so many good restaurants right by the hotel! Yes, it gets a bit wild at night but you easily adapt and sleep well. Mayfield's Jazz Club was great music but loud. We enjoyed it several nights inside the club but also several just sitting in the lobby. The concierge were the best group of guys I've ever met...always friendly and helpful. The drawback I felt was worth noting...the coffee shop doesn't offer much in the area of breakfast food (ok, pastries and the like)...but I'd recommend Royal Sonesta any day!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing Bourbon Street...it did get a little noisy at night, but you learn to dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Sue, we are really looking forward to sharing your comments with our team, especially the concierge. Thank you for deciding to stay with us again after so long, and sharing your feedback on the hotel, Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, PJ’s Coffee Café, and our staff. We will consider adding another breakfast item at PJ’s, and we suggest you try Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar for a better selection of breakfast items next time you’re in town. Please come back to see us next time you’re in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to NOLA!
WOW what an awesome experience!!
Beautiful and charming hotel! Romantic & cozy too :)) We rang in the new year here! Perfect location! Everything was in walking distance.
Friendly people, great food everywhere you go!! The MOST delicious oysters we've ever had were at La Bayou!! Sit at the bar to watch oysters being shucked!
Have to try Cafe Du Monde for beignets too! Yummy:)) so good!
We will definitely be back as soon as we can!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to NOLA for a weekend getaway and stayed at the Royal Sonesta. I would hight recommend the RS. You can't beat the location...in the middle of the French Quarter just blocks from ...everything good in NOLA. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I got a great deal on Bookit.com which made it a great value! No complaints on the room...nice and fairly updated.

Across the street on Bourbon was a great find...Music Legends Park...great place to sit outside and listen to great jazz music includes a small bar and cafe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Bev, it’s a pleasure to read that your romantic weekend getaway to the Royal Sonesta Hotel was such a success! Thank you for sharing this experience, and we appreciate your recommendation. Please remember us when you are ready for another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a perfect place for our family to stay prior to our cruise. Location was great, rooms are very clean, staff was fabulous. After I emailed the hotel concerning the location of our rooms, Lakesha promptly emailed me back assuring that we would all be on the same floor away from the noise of Bourbon Street. They had a cold bottle of Champagne waiting for my parents as it was their 65th Wedding Anniversary. Loved our stay - we will definitely be back - loved the Big Easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Grammy, we are so glad that your family extended their cruise vacation in New Orleans at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. And what a pleasure for your parents to celebrate their 65th wedding anniversary here! Thank you for this review on your comfortable accommodations and the friendly service you experienced. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A pretty, old hotel right on Bourbon St. Friedly staff, good parking valets. Desire oyster bar is great food for breakfast or later meals on sirte. Mayfields jazz lounge in off lobby with great music and convenience. Rooms are a little small and dated, but clean and good beds. Stayed twice in 2012 and will gladly return. If you are driving, study your french quarter map carefully.

Room Tip: rooms facin inside, not street, are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Mark, thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans twice within the past year! We are pleased that you enjoyed the authentic New Orleans jazz playing nightly in Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse and the delicious meals served at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar. And yes, driving in the French Quarter can be tricky with all the one-way streets, but with a complete New Orleans experience offered all on our property, we recommend guests parking their car and walking to many of the world-famous attractions in the area. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.