We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great classic and classy hotel. The staff was very nice and made our stay over Christmas great. RS is in the perfect spot on Burbon to enjoy the French Quarter. Surrounded by great restaurants and shopping, RS has its own restaurants as well that are excellent. The room was very nice, although queen beds would have been nicer than the doubles offered, but typical of older hotels. Very clean, wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, connecting rooms generally do not. Double beds were comfortable but I pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Mark, we are honored that you chose to celebrate the Christmas holiday with us at the Royal Sonesta! Thank you for sharing how pleased you were with our location so close to all the best restaurants and attractions you were looking for. We also appreciate you recognizing our hardworking team and clean accommodations. Please don’t hesitate to come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    755
    240
    79
    59
See reviews for
308
1,104
79
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I booked a package - Only stayed there because of the package price - and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel and staff. I was concerned about noise levels - we stayed in courtyard room and didn't have any problems. We will gladly go back and pay full price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Shelly, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for. It’s a pleasure knowing that your stay was so delightful that you’ll be back again to see us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans! Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the Bourbon Street location scare you, this spot is prefect, offering manageable walks to Riverside or French Market.

This was for a family Christmas holiday, with a 14 year old in our party. We stayed in the CBD in June and now strongly prefer this location.

The hotel is solid, and courtyard rooms are very quiet. Dining options in house are fabulous, and many of the best restaurants are within a block or two.

The rooms are large, luxurious and impeccably clean. You are greeted by a gorgeous lobby...especially at Christmas! This will be our go-to place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Kim, we are honored to now be your “go-to place” for future stays in New Orleans! We are thrilled that you had such a fun Christmas holiday with your large family at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and enjoyed dining at our on-property restaurants: Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar and the new Restaurant R’evolution, as well as the world-renowned attractions mostly within walking distance. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Temple, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Parking attendant Jon Michael was very helpful and friendly as was Antonio at the desk. The place was very clean inside as opposed to how Bourbon St is which makes it Bourbon St. Doorman was always ready to open and hold the doors and greeted those who went in and out with a smile and friendly greeting. We had a fifth floor over looking Bourbon St room and the noise level was very minimal from down below.

Room Tip: No matter what, ALWAYS be courteous and friendly to the staff anywhere you stay - they have the powe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Stan, we can’t wait to share your comments with our team. Thank you for recognizing our hospitable, dedicated staff, and the five star level of service you received from Jon Michael, Antonio, and the doorman. We truly value your patronage, Stan, and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed her for the Easter period of 2011 with our new baby. We were living in Ireland at the time, so it was quite a trip.

I must say, the staff are the best thing about this Hotel. They were so friendly, so helpful and so courteous. They are well versed on all New Orleans has to offer. They certainly made the first trip with our son a breeze.

The Jazz club downstairs - was a great hit. Most especially the hostess. She set us up with a table that allowed us to enjoy the music without damaging our babies ears... But most inportantly she made sure we had drinks waiting - the red wine was a complimented the mood of the evening.

Even though there was a mix up with our room the first day, everything was sorted out first thing the next moring, and the staff could not do enough for us.

The barman at the pool makes the best mint julep in town - I know, I conducted my own survey round town.

Yes you are right on bourbon street, and yes, it's loud once you get outside BUT It fills you with the excitement and eagerness to explore NOLA. And it certainly is oeaceful once you get inside.

Brilliant Hotel. Still have not found it's match yet on my travels.

Thanks Royal Sonesta for setting the bar so high. Tough act to follow and certainly to beat!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better sunlight, less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Jeni, first and foremost, congratulations on the new addition to your family! We’re pleased to have hosted your first family vacation and to have exceeded your expectations of a hospitable staff, peaceful accommodations and an authentic New Orleans experience at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse and around the French Quarter. We’re very grateful for your high recommendation and hope you will consider one of our Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We sayed at the Royal Sonesta following a cruise in December and had a completely positive experience. Although we arrived in the morning, knowing room availabilty was unlikely, the bellman stored our bags until our room opened up, shortly after noon. The room was clean and in good repair, including all of the expected amenities. After a week on a cruise, the room seemed spacious and modern. We were on the fifth floor in a corner of the courtyard and the room was quiet throughout our stay.

The service at the hotel is excellent, from the friendly check-in staff who recommended restaurants and activities, to the concierge, to the bellman who stored our luggage both on check-in and -out days and organized transportation for us to the airport. A quality hotel is set apart with the kind of service and attention we recieved.

The hotel lobby is beautiful at Christmas, with children's choirs singing and families coming to dine. The long hall of Christmas trees is visually stunning, a far cry from the craziness that is Bourbon right outside the door. The location is fabulous. Everything in the French Quarter is within walking distance.

I would not hesitate at all to stay at the Royal Sonesta when in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your post-cruise stay in New Orleans! We appreciate your feedback, and we’re overjoyed that our helpful staff, beautiful property with comfortable, updated rooms, and convenient location all met your expectations. We hope you stay with us again for an authentic New Orleans experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed two nights in December 2012, the room was spacious, clean and tidy....well all you would want from a hotel room. Not much of a view, but sure we were out most the time. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, and Mr Jim the consierge seemed to know exactly what would interest us. Oh, and I had a swim in the pool, that was lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Sue, thank you for sharing your memorable experience at our four-star hotel in the heart of the historic French Quarter. We will gladly pass along your compliments to Jim, one of our concierge, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.