We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here for a wedding/babymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Winter Escape
Ranked #26 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Howell, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Here for a wedding/babymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We're here for a wedding, but since I'm in my 7th month of pregnancy (and it's our first trip away from our toddler) we're counting it as our babymoon, too! The beds are super comfy and even though our room overlooks Bourbon Street it was very quiet inside. I had some GREAT (1/2 caf) coffee & brought breakfast back to the room from PJ's this morning before we walked to Jackson Square & beyond. We loved that we didn't have to take the car & find parking, or even have to break to rest my feet or back- it's that close! The pool deck is so pretty we're going to take a few maternity pictures there while all dolled up for the wedding. What great memories we'll have of this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    703
    225
    75
    58
See reviews for
296
1,033
75
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just completed a recent 7 day stay at this hotel, and let me tell you it is awesome! Clean and refreshing, this is a complete 180 degrees from Burbon St which it is located. I will go through the hotel:
ROOMS: My room was not what I had envisioned, but rather a bit dated room that basically was a standard hotel room. King size bed, Flat Screen TV, three dressers/nightstands and a table with two chairs. It also had a larger stuffed chair. It has a MINI Bar in the cupboard, that you can use as a pay as you go system and is filled daily. Contains all a kinds of hard and soft drinks. My room was clean, and it was VERY QUIET. I had asked for the quietest room they had due to being in town on business. And that is what I got. It was on the 2nd floor, which is the smoking floor. I do not smoke, but I figured if I wanted quiet, I could sacrifice. It didn’t really smell like smoke to me either, but more like incense was burned in the room. The bathroom is standard, but the pluming is a bit loud. Large closet. NO COFFIE MAKER. There are bigger and nicer rooms, but for a higher cost.
HOTEL: Very clean. Lots of pretty flowers. You can’t tell that you are inches from Burbon St. Restaurants are very good, both Desire, and Revolution. DJ’s Coffee is a must in the morning. That is in the lobby. Parking was 36 bucks a day, but Valet is included so just tip the boys some cash and they take care of your car in a city where you can never find parking. Workout room was small and out of date. Needs to be updated. Jazz Club in the lobby was awesome. Great music/musicians.
POOL: Pool area is very nice and has a bar. It is on the third floor. It is outside.
All in all it was a nice hotel and in a great location. Right off of Burbon St. Walk out, and you are in the party. Walk in and you are in a nice quiet hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone coming to New Orleans and the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room if you want to sleep, or get a street facing room, to party the night away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent several nights to celebrate my wife;s birthday. Very nice accommodations. Customer service great...I would return again. The staff is very knowledgeable and accommodating. It was a pleasant stay. Our room was clean and the location was excellent. This is the very heart of the French Quarter, you walk to everything. We loved that we could jump out the front door grab an Irish coffee, listen to music etc. which we did daily, or walk down to the river and along the water. Great location, clean hotel, wonderful staff. Thanks for all!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the Bourbon Street side or the partying will keep you up all night, This is a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Royal Sonesta on Bourbon Street is an immaculate hotel located in the center of Bourbon street. The staff is helpful and the hotel is beautiful!
Eventhough the hotel is in the center of noisy Bourbon street, you can't hear a thing inside.
The restaurant,Desire, which is apart of the hotel, has delicious food and an amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Royal Sonnesta is a great hotel to use as a home base for your New Orleans/French Quarter getaway. My wife and I spent a weekend here while I was taking a break from a 6-week business trip near Baton Rouge.

This is a great hotel in a great location! It is true to New Orleans inside and outside and is a great escape from the party atmosphere of Bourbon Street. We got a good rate ($189/night) on a king-bed room as part of the Papa Noel promotion We requested a courtyard-facing room in the hopes of avoiding the nighttime noise of Broubon St. The room is on the small size, which didn't both us as we didn't spend time in the room. The room, however, is nicely appointed and has everything you would expect of a hotel of the Sonnesta's caliber.

Inside the ground level of the hotel is a great jazz bar, a coffee shop, and a restaurant. We overheard more than one person outside the hotel speak highly of the jazz bar. We stopped in there one of our evenings to enjoy a couple cocktails and the great music. Also within the grounds of the hotel is a wonderful courtyard with seating and a water feature. Off the third level in the courtyard area is a pool, which even in December was useful to guests.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the Royal Sonnesta and the French Quarter as a whole. If we decide to return we will definitely consider returning to the Sonnesta.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise of Bourbon St. request a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gramercy, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We live 40 miles away and frequently stay overnight to enjoy dinner and music in New Orleans. This was my first time at the Royal Sonesta and definitely now one of my favorites. (We stayed at the Roosevelt last Dec). Everything about it is classic and elegant without being over the top. Our room was spacious and well equipped - motion night lights under the bedside tables were unexpected and really handy. Large window and glass door to the poolside patio would be nice for other seasons. PJ's coffee in the lobby for afternoon pick-me-up, and Irvin Mayfield's Playhouse for after dinner (no cover - 1 drink minimum). Valet parking is underground $36 - normal for New Orleans. We had brunch in Restaurant Revolution - food was excellent and we knew it would be pricey, but overall we've had better experiences elsewhere in New Orleans. Can easily recommend this hotel for location, rooms, amenities and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location in the heart of Bourbon St....got the upgrade to pool side balcony! (not sure how/why) Nice, efficient staff. Beautiful decorated lobby for Christmas. Beds in the double room were comfortable and clean, but small - more like full size instead of queen. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.