We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Base for a Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Guest Select Package
Ranked #16 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Home Base for a Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Royal Sonnesta is a great hotel to use as a home base for your New Orleans/French Quarter getaway. My wife and I spent a weekend here while I was taking a break from a 6-week business trip near Baton Rouge.

This is a great hotel in a great location! It is true to New Orleans inside and outside and is a great escape from the party atmosphere of Bourbon Street. We got a good rate ($189/night) on a king-bed room as part of the Papa Noel promotion We requested a courtyard-facing room in the hopes of avoiding the nighttime noise of Broubon St. The room is on the small size, which didn't both us as we didn't spend time in the room. The room, however, is nicely appointed and has everything you would expect of a hotel of the Sonnesta's caliber.

Inside the ground level of the hotel is a great jazz bar, a coffee shop, and a restaurant. We overheard more than one person outside the hotel speak highly of the jazz bar. We stopped in there one of our evenings to enjoy a couple cocktails and the great music. Also within the grounds of the hotel is a wonderful courtyard with seating and a water feature. Off the third level in the courtyard area is a pool, which even in December was useful to guests.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the Royal Sonnesta and the French Quarter as a whole. If we decide to return we will definitely consider returning to the Sonnesta.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise of Bourbon St. request a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,091
    566
    169
    56
    49
See reviews for
242
818
58
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gramercy, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We live 40 miles away and frequently stay overnight to enjoy dinner and music in New Orleans. This was my first time at the Royal Sonesta and definitely now one of my favorites. (We stayed at the Roosevelt last Dec). Everything about it is classic and elegant without being over the top. Our room was spacious and well equipped - motion night lights under the bedside tables were unexpected and really handy. Large window and glass door to the poolside patio would be nice for other seasons. PJ's coffee in the lobby for afternoon pick-me-up, and Irvin Mayfield's Playhouse for after dinner (no cover - 1 drink minimum). Valet parking is underground $36 - normal for New Orleans. We had brunch in Restaurant Revolution - food was excellent and we knew it would be pricey, but overall we've had better experiences elsewhere in New Orleans. Can easily recommend this hotel for location, rooms, amenities and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great location in the heart of Bourbon St....got the upgrade to pool side balcony! (not sure how/why) Nice, efficient staff. Beautiful decorated lobby for Christmas. Beds in the double room were comfortable and clean, but small - more like full size instead of queen. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We came back to the Sonesta to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday. As usual...perfection. From the champagne sent to the room in honor of the occasion to the beautiful decorations and fun and festive atmosphere, we couldn't have asked for a better way to celebrate.

Room Tip: We like to stay in the suites on the 3rd floor. Very spaciious and comfortable. They are tucked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Murray,SC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Spent 4 nights at this great location for sightseeing and got the added benefit of all the beautiful Christmas decorations at this hotel and others in the area. Did not get rooms we requested (connecting rooms since we were 3 gals wanting to share two bathrooms), but we did not spend a lot of time in our rooms so it was OK. Nor did we get the requested balcony or patio rooms. The interior rooms we ended up with were clean and fine with one glaring exception...NO COFFEE MAKERS in the rooms. Room service coffee for a small pot was $14+tax+$3.25 delivery charge+tip making a few cups of coffee for the morning very costly. Do not understand a hotel this nice not having coffee in the rooms. All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and very helpful. Especially the concierge! Very helpful in planning our City tours away from the French Quarter. Helpful hint for area transportation-Get a $3.00 24 hour pass for the trolley cars and bus. You can hop on and off any city bus or trolley with the pass. I would stay here again because of the location. But, I may walk up the block to Canal St. corner to the CVS and buy a cheap coffee maker for my room and just throw it away when I leave. Would have been cheaper than one day of room service coffee...LOL

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Lakecliff, thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your recent visit to New Orleans. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with our friendly staff at this convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter, however we apologize that the room type you preferred was not available. And we are very sorry for the lack of an in-room coffee maker in our guest rooms. Please know that in addition to coffee through room service, our PJ’s Coffee Café on the lobby level is open 6a.m.-9p.m. daily. We are reviewing our policy on in-room coffee so we appreciate the feedback. On your future travels, we hope you will consider one of our Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in the Royal Sonesta in early November. Had a small balcony on the 2nd floor of the building in Conti Street. The hotel, as most are, is very old. The rooms were updated and that's what mattered most to us. No coffee maker in the room was an unwelcomed discovery, but just downstairs was PJ's, which I'm sure is why they choose not to place coffee in the room, but, PJ's was fine. My husband and I really need that cup of coffee to go out and get that cup of coffee, but we managed.
The beds were beyond comfortable. Best nights sleep in ages. Very hard to leave that bed but will all NOLA has to see and do, we forced ourselves.
The hotel had one bank of 2 elevators but even with just 2, we never waited long for one.
We didn't eat at the hotel because we were out and about but I heard comments that people enjoiyed their food. Great choice for hotels if you want to be in the thick of the Bourbon St action!

Room Tip: Stay on a side street if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Patty, we are sorry for the lack of an in-room coffee maker in your guest room. We are reviewing this situation so appreciate your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed a good nights rest on our comfortable beddings, which Sonesta prides itself on. Please know that complete room renovations are planned for 2013, and we have already renovated the third and fourth levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from this fantastic Hotel. The staff , ambiance & food at Desire are absolutely Fantastic. The manager of the R club Level Darin is amazing he is a mind of information and pleasant and helpful at all times a real asset to the sonesta group. The hotel is placed right in the middle of Bourbon street so is just about the centre af all the action. we would recommend this Hotel 100 per cent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Ericwyn, we are looking forward to sharing your comments with our team! Thank you for choosing to stay in our R Club concierge level at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing this feedback of your stay. We appreciate your high recommendation of our property and teams at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar and in the R Club, and we hope you come see us next time you’re in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel
New Orleans Sonesta
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.