We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
French Quarter Fling
Ranked #21 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in the Royal Sonesta in early November. Had a small balcony on the 2nd floor of the building in Conti Street. The hotel, as most are, is very old. The rooms were updated and that's what mattered most to us. No coffee maker in the room was an unwelcomed discovery, but just downstairs was PJ's, which I'm sure is why they choose not to place coffee in the room, but, PJ's was fine. My husband and I really need that cup of coffee to go out and get that cup of coffee, but we managed.
The beds were beyond comfortable. Best nights sleep in ages. Very hard to leave that bed but will all NOLA has to see and do, we forced ourselves.
The hotel had one bank of 2 elevators but even with just 2, we never waited long for one.
We didn't eat at the hotel because we were out and about but I heard comments that people enjoiyed their food. Great choice for hotels if you want to be in the thick of the Bourbon St action!

Room Tip: Stay on a side street if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Patty, we are sorry for the lack of an in-room coffee maker in your guest room. We are reviewing this situation so appreciate your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed a good nights rest on our comfortable beddings, which Sonesta prides itself on. Please know that complete room renovations are planned for 2013, and we have already renovated the third and fourth levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,181
    613
    187
    65
    54
See reviews for
260
896
62
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have just returned from this fantastic Hotel. The staff , ambiance & food at Desire are absolutely Fantastic. The manager of the R club Level Darin is amazing he is a mind of information and pleasant and helpful at all times a real asset to the sonesta group. The hotel is placed right in the middle of Bourbon street so is just about the centre af all the action. we would recommend this Hotel 100 per cent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Ericwyn, we are looking forward to sharing your comments with our team! Thank you for choosing to stay in our R Club concierge level at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing this feedback of your stay. We appreciate your high recommendation of our property and teams at Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar and in the R Club, and we hope you come see us next time you’re in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

First, this hotel's location is its main attraction. In the heart of the French Quarter. Near the sin of Bourbon Street, but safe from it. The rooms are small and somewhat dated. The beds are very small and past their replacement date. It is clean, but just feels a little "ick" seeps in from the street. The staff is cordial, but I would not necessarily call them friendly. They certainly are courteous if you are the one who starts the conversation. The staff will only speak if spoken to. If you want over the top service, this is not the hotel for you. If you want location, then it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
David, thank you for taking the time to review our guest rooms, staff, and location and bringing these issues to our attention. Please know that your comments are very important and we take them very seriously as we pride ourselves on our friendly service and staff. We hope you will try us again and find the warmth that most people comment on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A very nice visit. The Royal Sonesta is directly on Bourbon Street, oh my what more could you ask for? Our room was nice not what we asked for. We squeezed in a roll away for the evening, you know they were busy! Our Window overlooked Bourbon St.and it is quite picturesque across from the Music Legends Park. The music flowing up to our window was out of the 40'S and quite remarkable. After a walk down the street and sipping our fabulous Hurricane we found steps that led us up to a balcony where we were able to watch all the festivities going on below. The music coming out the many doorways we passed was delightful!. Any kind that you would like. Great Musicians everywhere. Once we fell asleep we didn't even know there was anything down below. In the morning my husband and daughter ventured down to the hotel desk to have a chat about our room..After an hour and a half the lovely lady, a manager and several phone cals to whom we weren't sure they relented and gave us a new room with two beds at least! Oh yes a towel upgrade also. The couryard/ pool area was lovely. Ask for a room there maybe you will be able to get one. The hotel has several restaurants. We found Dessire to be a great spot for a fab breakfast. If you don't like sounds from the street this is not the place to stay. We found it wonderful, others complained. I asked if they knew where they were? Five stars I cannot give the Sonesta, people asleep in the lobby not my favorite site. Everything you need just a few blocks away, loved Canal Street, French Market, Coop's Place, Jackson Square, Grapevine Restaurant, Everyone helpful that we spoke with, a most friendly atmosphere. Oh did I tell you we booked our room 2 months before our visit and they did not have one with two queen beds? Remember it was Thanksgiving. Truly remarkable!

Room Tip: rooms facing Bourbon Street to enjoy the music and the noise or In the Courtyard if you are not a mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Kathleen, we are honored that you chose the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your Thanksgiving celebration this year! We are very sorry for the inconvenience of not having your requested room type available upon your arrival, but we are happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay regardless. We will address this comment regarding our lobby, and we hope that this trip is the start of future visits to New Orleans for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I made a reservation at another hotel for me, my wife and my youngest daughter, who had never been to New Orleans. When we arrived, I was appalled, and knew I had to find another place to stay right away. Royal Sonesta was just around the corner. When I entered the hotel, I was greeted by an amazing array of Christmas trees and lights that immediately told me that I had chosen the correct spot; however, that was just the beginning. Nicole, one of the front desk personnel, personally showed me 2 different rooms at my request, and I ended up booking a suite. She gave me what I felt was a terrific rate on short notice, and generally gave me the type of service that you might receive from a concierge at a 5-star resort, if you were lucky. I will absolutely stay at Royal Sonesta again, and I hope somehow Nicole gets the recognition from this review that she deserves !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you for this review regarding your first visit to the Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans, and the outstanding five star service you received from Nicole at the front desk. I am pleased to know she provided you a “royal” experience. The Royal Sonesta consistently strives to create an authentic New Orleans experience with the dining and entertainment experiences our guests have always imagined by offering the highest level of customer service possible. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal. We truly value your patronage Michael and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in July. The location was incredible. Walking distance to Jackson Square, street cars, Canal Street, and the French Market. The craziness of Bourbon Street is right outside the front door. Inside the hotel is a totally different atmosphere. We had a courtyard room on the pool level. Our back door opened right on the walkway to go to the pool, or just to the pool bar. There are multiple dining options, ranging from coffee shop to high end steakhouse. Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Lounge was very nice, and Mayfield himself walked in and performed one night.

The reason we chose this hotel was because we knew everything we needed was on site. So, if the weather was bad, and we had two days of heavy rain, all we had to do was ride down the elevator, and everything we needed was right there.

The cost was more than I usually pay for hotels, but it was worth it. The location was great, and the experience was unforgettable. I lived in New Orleans when I was a kid. This was my first trip as an adult. I WILL BE BACK.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Kevin, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We are thrilled to know that you loved the authentic New Orleans experience that you found all within our doors at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. Thank you for sharing your “unforgettable” visit to the Crescent City and we look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is the only place I stay when visiting the French Quarter. My husband and I love the service and the high quality of all it's amenities. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. We make sure to visit our Sonesta family at least twice a year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
ACT_ARM, reading your review really made our day! The Royal Sonesta consistently strives to create an authentic New Orleans experience with the dining and entertainment experiences our guests have always imagined by offering the highest level of customer service possible. Inspiring comments such as yours reaffirm that we are reaching that goal. Thank you for your feedback and know that we truly value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.