We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the heart of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Guest Select Package
Ranked #16 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Bismarck
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Luxury in the heart of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I just spent the weekend at the Royal Sonesta. Our first impression as we entered the hotel lobby was wow! Beautiful Christmas decorations and trees in every direction. Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse right there where we watched the amazing Germaine Bazzle. Our room was a little on the small size but adequate for our stay. Centrally located allowed us to easily walk to the marketplace or anywhere else we wanted. If you wanted craziness it is right outside the hotel if you want quaint shops and restaurants go 1 block south to Royal. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Some reviewers have complained about the noise, we had a courtyard facing room and only heard the occasional person in the hallway. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms avoid the business of Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,077
    563
    166
    54
    49
See reviews for
240
806
56
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, GA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just enjoyed a long weekend at the Royal Sonesta. We had a courtyard room overlooking the pool which was great. I'm sure the rooms right on Bourbon Street would be loud, especially on a Fri or Sat night. Great location in the heart of everything French Quarter. My wife was able to get a coupon book at check in that had a lot of good deals we used. Look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will be quieter but if you like the action try to get a room on Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After avoiding staying on Bourbon Street my entire life, I finally succumb to a "real" French Quarter experience. I could not have imagined such a great time. The Royal Sonesta provided only the best during our Thanksgiving stay. Quiet comfortable rooms on the R Club level. Daily breakfast and PJ's coffee and evening cocktails and hors d' oeuvres in the R Club lounge made for a great beginnings for our days and our evenings. Located within walking distance to EVERYTHING.
A special thanks to Dan and Cheri in the R Club for making our adult family Thanksgiving truly special.

Room Tip: R Club rooms are located on a dedicated floor (7) on the back of the property. Absolutely no noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Royal Sonesta is a haven of tranquillity in the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street and New Orleans! It felt much more like a 5* hotel rather than a 4*, it's very luxurious, the staff are wonderful, and the pool is lovely! The rooms are large and comfortable and perfect for returning to after a busy day in the city. You couldn't get a better location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is beautifully appointed and charming. The staff is wonderful. This place is on the main drag. If you want to be in the center of it all and don't mind not sleeping until 4 a.m., this place is for you!! I do believe there are rooms that don't oversee the main drag and I wish I had one of them. If so, my review would be slightly different. If pleasure is the reason you are here - go for it. If you want the craziness and the debauchery the French Quarter has to offer with 5 star accommodations - go for it! If you are there for business, look slightly further.

Room Tip: Know your appetite for being in the center of it all and your need for sleep. Communicate that in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Sonesta in June 2012 because I wanted to be near Bourbon Street being that having a car was pointless. It was the best decision I made because it was right in the middle of all the action. Check in was very easy and quick. The room, though small and a little dated, was very comfortable. And the best thing I enjoyed about this hotel was that when I was ready to escape the "fun" of Bourbon Street, I could walk through the doors of the Royal Sonesta and enter a totally new world where I felt safe.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, do not choose a room facing Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed in September 2012. First time in N'awleans. This is a lovely hotel inside and out. You can't get any closer to all the craziness of the French Quarter/Bourbon Street experience. Ornate, refined lobby with fresh flowers everywhere. Great Blues/jazz club right off the lobby. The staff were friendly, enthusiastic and always helpful. We really enjoyed the interior "courtyard" with lots of pool action, easy-going bartenders and other guests from all over the place.
Now, we had a few minor issues. The door and lock combo to the courtyard was misaligned and difficult to open and close. Nice looking door, but not very functional. Perhaps the worst surprise was our first night when we arrived from Canada via Arkansas. Opened up some drawers to put our clothes away and found in the drawers.........drawers (AKA underwear), just slightly used, quite racy and exotic, I might add. Next drawer contained some very colourful wigs or they might have been hair extensions, also slightly used looking so we knew it wasn't some strange local gift, like a shower cap or some such freebie. The last things we found were a few plates and some cutlery. This appeared clean and unused.......which was great because I then used the cutlery as salad tongs, gingerly picked up the skimpys and wigs, put that gross stuff on the plates and deposited the drawer "surprise package" in the garbage without having to touch it with my hands. Luckily we had some sanitizer (don't leave home without it), so we used that on the drawers, waited 'til morning, then unpacked our clothes and put them in the drawers. To be fair, maybe the maids do not check drawers as part of their cleaning routine. If they don't, they should. Finding this stuff was an unpleasant experience, but it makes for a good story, and in some ways, mirrors the New Orleans style. We howled about it later. No harm done really. Perhaps the previous occupants had too much of a good time on their last night. Yup, that could happen. All in all, this is a good hotel in a great city. You should go.

Room Tip: Outside rooms have great balconies for "party central". Inside rooms are quieter and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel
New Orleans Sonesta
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.