We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury right in the middle of crazy Bourbon St.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Lake Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Luxury right in the middle of crazy Bourbon St.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful- a stark contrast from Bourbon Street! The pool area is a nice quiet haven if you want to get away from the crowds outside the hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor, overlooking the pool and even had an exterrior door for easy access to the pool deck. The hotel has a jazz bar (live music every night) and coffee shop in the lobby and is in a great location for access to Canal St, the casino and Riverwalk. Room service is expensive (spent $45 on breakfast that would have been $7 at IHOP).

The wedding took place in the courtyard and banquet room at the hotel. It was so convienent for guests to be able to stay in the same place as the wedding. The courtyard is on the small side, but the ceremony turned out beautiful and very intamate. The food at the reception was delicious. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool to escape from the sounds of Bourbon street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    688
    218
    72
    56
See reviews for
292
1,010
75
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This property is in a great location for tourists who want to be in the French Quarter. However, it needs an update. We stayed on the seventh floor concierge level. This entitled us to breakfast every day and wine and/or beer and cocktails from 5-7. A great value. The room had beautiful linens and robes but the room safe didn't work. The single bathroom sink didn't drain properly and a closet door was hanging by a thread. The carpeting seemed very worn.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the hotel pool and courtyard which was considerably more quiet than room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently planned an event at the Royal Sonesta and the planning was done remotely. The event was a luxurious 40th birthday celebration with a total of 50 people in attendance. With the assistance of the staff members Colleen Page and Jackie Sanabria, the event was executed flawlessly all with an extremely friendly staff. On a personal note, I have been in the event planning business for many years and the professionalism I experienced was of the highest standards. I am tremendously thankful for the staff members’ expertise, organizational skills, and enthusiasm to assist their clients. Should the opportunity ever present itself for a NOLA event, it would be my pleasure to work with Colleen Page again.

Thank you,
U.S.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Mother and I attended my cousin's wedding at the Royal Sonesta last weekend. The hospitality of the employees was wonderful. The wedding was beautiful and ended with a "second line" all the way down Bourbon Street over to Royal and back!!!! I will always cherish the time spent at the Royal Sonesta!

Room Tip: I had a standard room facing one of the courtyards. It was spacious and beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

3 of my colleagues and I stayed at the royal sonesta hotel from 14-16 nov 2012 . We had a wonderful time there and loved the hotel. Fab rooms and brilliant location in bourbon street. Will defenatly go back if I ever go to New Orleans again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am a person who knows deep down she was meant to have been born in the city of New Orleans, there is no place like it on this earth and the food, music, history, culture, etc....are just part of it. The biggest plus to NOLA is the people who live there, they are wonderful. I go to NOLA at minimum two times a year and the only hotel I will stay at is the wonderful Royal Sonesta Hotel. The hotel is just gorgeous, the rooms are great, the pool deck is the best in the city and is rocking during Jazz Fest! The location is prime and their staff is top notch. From the moment you arrive and their wonderful doormen (like Malcolm who always greets me with.... "My Queen is here"!) you feel like your in for an amazing experience. The bellman, the front desk staff, the concierge, all top notch! I've stayed in several other NOLA hotels years ago but once i discovered the Sonesta it was all over for me - - - I'm hooked! 6 stars in my opinion and worth the price!

Room Tip: I always ask to stay on the higher floors away from the Bourbon Street noise - I've been in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Susie, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel every time you visit New Orleans. We greatly appreciate your recommendations and will share your compliments with our team, especially Malcolm. We’ll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzgerald, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Highly recommend the R club level - the concierge desk outside the elevators was a nice touch - we received several excellent food recommendations from these nice folks.

Great location on Bourbon - on this level you cant hear any of the partying from Bourbon.

Ate a Desire twice - once for lunch and once for breakfast - highly recommend both.

Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Eric, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the 7th floor R Club level at our hotel. Thank you for sharing how our team at the hotel and Desire Oyster Bar managed to meet your expectations. Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.