We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Sonesta-Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
French Quarter Fling
Ranked #21 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Royal Sonesta-Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just got back from a 3 day 2 night get away at the Royal Sonesta. To say it was a perfect stay...well, it was a perfect stay. From the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. Our room, a patio suite, was immaculate. Tucked into a beautiful courtyard, it was truly an oasis. The room was beautifully appointed with fresh flowers, fresh, fruit, and all of the amenities. The bed was so comfortable. Anytime we needed anything, all it took was one phone call and miraculously, it appeared at our door...whether it was a lime for a gin & tonic...yes, room service delivered one perfect lime...or a prompt bellman to help with our luggage, the attention to detail and service was superior. We especially enjoyed visiting with Tommy, the bartender at Le Booze on Bourbon, as he gave us great tips on restaurants, cocktails, etc. Russell the concierge was incredibly helpful with directions, making reservations, suggesting wonderful outings, etc. Al Groos, the manager, runs an incredible operation. Do yourself a favor and next time you're in New Orleans, book a stay at the Royal Sonesta. You won't want to go home!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,188
    613
    187
    65
    54
See reviews for
264
902
62
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend!! The service was great! The restaurants and bar in the hotel were amazing!! The live mucis in the bar was great. We had a late night dinner at one of the restaurants and the food was really good. My wife had the blackened shrimp ceasar salad and I had the grilled oysters. We both thought it was some of the best food on our weekend getaway. The rooms are extremely comfortable and for being located on Bourbon St., the rooms were very quiet!! We stayed in a king size bed and it was extremely comfortable. Check in and check out went very smoothly. We parked our car at the hotel and had no problems getting in and out. All the staff at the hotel were great!! We would definately recomend this hotel and plan on coming back!!

Room Tip: King bed was worth it!! Very comfortable. Had six pillows that were all great on the bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for a long weekend and loved it. When we checked in we requested an interior room so that the Bourbon Street noise could be avoided and the room we got that overlooked the pool was perfect. The location of this hotel is worth paying for and everything is within walking distance. We liked to eat breakfast at the Desire Oyster Bar (Jambalaya skillet is top notch) and then venture out for dinner. The pool is perfect for relaxing and the pool bar is a nice touch. Get to the pool before 11:00am as the chairs around the pool tend to fill up quickly. Even if the lounge chairs are taken, there are almost always some umbrella tables available to sit and relax. The Royal Sonesta is truly an oasis in the middle of the French Quarter. We are already planning our next trip to this wonderful spot in September.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The location is outstanding! The rooms are older and the hallways are dark. The window in our room was so high we couldn't see out it. It was very small too which let in very little natural light. If location is what you're after - this is it! However, I've stayed nicer places in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

One word.......Supernatural. Also I will recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a unforgettable stay .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Expect to not have any rest. That is right. If you are looking for a romantic experience DON"T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT. The pool is loud and the guests are obnoxious. The location however is great. Try the turtle soup downstairs thats yummy! our mini bar was never serviced- the last guests left it empty and empty is how we found it. Staff is friendly & room is clean ad nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I just spent 5 days in New Orleans celebrating our 15th anniversary. The Royal Sonesta was perfect. The hotel was beautiful and the customer service was awesome. We loved grabbing breakfast, coffee and snacks at PJ's. The pool area was wonderful for relaxation. We stayed on the Bourbon Street side and had no trouble with the noise. We were on the 5th floor and enjoyed drifting to sleep with the sound of jazz drifting up from the street below. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Reservation Counter, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.