We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Hotel in the middle of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Hotel in the middle of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have stayed here several times while in New Orleans. Our most recent visit was in April 2012 and it was as great as all the previous times. The Hotel is central in the heart of the French Quarter and is walking distance to everything. Although it is an old Hotel is has been rennovated many times and is currently undergoing rennovations in the meetings area. The rooms are very clean and they do not have that old hotel musty feel or smell. The carpets in some of the halls will need to be replaced shortly but all else is fine. The Staff understands what Service means and will go out of their way to accomodate your request. There is a fantastic pool and bar at the pool area. A beautiful French QUarter courtyard with a fountain. This place is a GEM! You cannot find a better place to stay during a New Orleans visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans time and time again. We’re very happy to learn that you enjoyed your most recent stay because of our prime location in the middle of the city’s legendary French Quarter, clean accommodations, and a service team that works their hardest to enhance each guest’s experience in New Orleans. Thanks for your loyalty and feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    755
    240
    79
    59
See reviews for
308
1,104
79
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Inside room is key to a pleasant stay. Staff is very helpful. All requests were honored. 2nd floor allows smoking,avoid this floor unless you are a smoker. Rooms are spacious .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, Andrea, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing our outstanding team and comfortable accommodations. Please come back to visit us next time you’re visiting New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was already in New Orleans for a conference and had my husband fly down to meet me after it ended to celebrate my birthday. We had reserved a club level room, which I highly recommend. The room was elegant, clean, and quiet and being on the club level was worth it: Complimentary breakfast, bottled water, chocolates at turndown, fresh flowers in the room, concierge with great dinner recommendations, and much more!

The hotel was very stately, and the staff were friendly and accomodating. It is convently located on Bourbon Street - directly across from Jazz Legends Park with Cafe Beignet and live music daily. Although it can get crowded on that part of Bourbon, it is also accessible from the side streets, so the crowds are avoidable.

Room Tip: The Club Level is worth it! Very quiet, nice complimentary breakfast, free bottled water, free wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We are so pleased to know that our management team exceeded your expectations so much during the conference you attended at our hotel, that you invited your husband down to extend your stay with him! It just goes to show you that New Orleans offers the best for both business and pleasure. Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing the wonderful experience you had in our R Club Concierge level. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Royal Sonesta on our return trip home from a reunion in Galveston. The hotel has a great location on Bourbon Street, in the center of all the French Quarter activities and attractions. Nearly everything you would want to see is within easy walking distance and when you need a break from all of the action the hotel provides an oasis of quiet in luxurious surrondings. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a courtyard room. For those wanting to check the action on Bou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans on your way back from Galveston! We greatly appreciate your feedback about our convenient location in the city’s legendary French Quarter where all the world’s best restaurants and entertainment are right out our front door! Please come back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Royal Sonesta is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the slightly tacky French Quarter. Much has changed on Bourbon Street since I visited the first time many years ago.

We had a beautiful room (somewhat small) with a shared balcony overlooking the courtyard. You would never know what was just beyond those walls! It was heavenly quiet, clean, cool. The balcony was a great place to sit and read a book with my feet propped up. The staff was great. Desire Restaurant and Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse - - don't miss either! Also good music right across the street at Cafe Beignet.

One single, teeny-tiny complaint/suggestion - - please add in-room coffee/tea maker!!! The coffee shop in the lobby was fine, but I think they would frown if I wore jammies down to get my tea.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We’re glad you chose to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans on your first visit back after many years. It’s a pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations with how “quiet, clean, and cool” the hotel is, an oasis in the heart of the French Quarter. If you’d like to share more about your experience at the Playhouse or Desire, their Trip Advisor profiles at http://bit.ly/x2jnOA and http://bit.ly/yeAYbQ also welcome your feedback. Don’t’ worry about coming to the PJ’s Coffee Café in your pajamas; PJ’s Coffee is also available through Room Service and in-room coffee makers are available by request! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had to wait until after 4:00 before we could get into our room. The service was good. Several at the desk were very helpful. Our room was tiny but comfortable. I think that if a business is in the heart of such a historic place, it should reflect the history in many respects.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was approxiamtely our 20th stay at the Royal Sonesta. We have a group of friends that stay in a bank of rooms for French Quarter Fest in April every year. The property is located in the middle of all the activity of Bourbon. Great location for the Fest. There are rooms on Bourbon and rooms facing the pool/courtyard. Location is best decided by your tolerance of noise. We totally enjoy the benefits and fun of Bourbon St., so we always bring earplugs.
The service is great. Restaurants around the hotel vary from the 5 stars to the pizza joints. Begue's was the restaurant in the hotel, but it has been closed for some time. There is a Sunday brunch which we have not eaten.
This is a wonderful hotel, albeit expensive. But IT IS the Quarter and it's an event weekend!

Room Tip: Decide how much noise you can tolerate, as rooms on Bourbon St. are noisy through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your years of loyalty to the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans! We’re pleased to know how much you enjoy coming back annually to attend the French Quarter Festival and our hotel’s prime location. If you like to experience Bourbon Street from your room and choose a Bourbon balcony room, don’t worry about bringing your earplugs; they’re provided complimentary at the front desk! And since you liked Begue’s Restaurant, you’ll love our Begue’s themed Sunday Champagne Brunches. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.