We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't mind noisy Bourbon Street then stay here...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Papa Noel Rates from $149
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“If you don't mind noisy Bourbon Street then stay here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

So I booked this place because the only place I've ever heard of when it comes to New Orleans is "Bourbon Street" or "French Quarter"....This place is right on Bourbon Street. Perfect right? Not really. The NOISE is outstanding. We were in town nowhere near Mardi Gras, but if it was THAT raucous outside. I can't even imagine what it's like when it is Mardi Gras. And I'm relatively young and enjoy going out a bit! My 20s weren't that long ago! Made me feel very old.

The hotel itself has a very pretty courtyard area for hanging out and having a few drinks. My favorite part of the hotel, actually. The lobby is stately and pretty as well. Very opulent. The rooms are average. Nothing special. They command the prices they do because of the location.

The staff is friendly for the most part. The managers on staff are gruff and annoying though. My key card did not work three different times when we first checked in. I had to keep coming back downstairs. I even went so far as to ask one of the maids to help me...JUST in case I had lost my mind and forgotten how to use one (this isn't my first rodeo, folks. I know how to use hotel key cards). I was told by one manager, "there is nothing wrong with the card" and handed the same one back only to try it and have it not work again! They sent me back upstairs with maintenance the third time with those original cards only to have maintenance not be able to get me in either! How about just giving me two new cards in the first place? Why so stubborn about the cards working when I'm a rational person telling you that I, AND your maid, weren't able to get into the room (and making me go back and forth from the room to the front desk wasn't the nicest thing to do either). Unreal.

Here's a little tip I wish I knew when I booked. Even things that look like a hike are still pretty close in the French Quarter. If you're in the French Quarter (or even a few blocks away from the technical French Quarter) you are FINE. It really doesn't matter what block you're on. You can walk everywhere. And if you're not sleeping with your room facing Bourbon Street you might actually be able to sleep!

All in all, as a first time visitor of New Orleans I will definitely be going back. It is a beautiful and historic city with tons to do. I will probably not be staying at the Royal Sonesta as there are better options in the same price range, but if you do then you could do worse... but you can also do better.

Room Tip: Avoid Bourbon Street facing rooms if you want to sleep at all. The party goes ALL night in the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the details of your stay. While it seems there were a few highs during your stay, we would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory lows. We are dedicated to exceeding our guest’s expectations with each stay, and it is evident we did not live up to our own commitment. It would be our pleasure to regain your confidence in our hotel; given the chance, I am certain we can recapture your trust. At your convenience, we would appreciate it if you will contact our Director of Hotel Operations, Jay Wiendl, at 504-553-2222.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    688
    216
    72
    56
See reviews for
291
1,009
75
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Situated in the heart of the French Quarter but managing to keep the rabble outside of its front doors, this is an great choice for those who want to be in the midst of it all. It was our first trip to NO and we considered some more established hotels like W or Sheraton but decided for our first trip, we wanted to be in the hear of the French Quarter. From our arrival to departure, this was a can't miss. The friendly and engaging doormen and bell hops are out of central casting. The rooms, while a little small, are well kept (I think the size is a reflection of the age of the hotel rather than an effort to cram you in like in NYC). Further, if you choose a room off of Bourbon, the hotel is suprisingly quiet at night. We were able to easily partake in great restaurants, music tours in and near the French Quarter. The location is a definite plus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Bernard, it was our pleasure having you stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We greatly appreciate your sharing how much you enjoyed the stay. And, we couldn’t be happier that you chose our hotel among others finding that the Royal Sonesta truly provides an authentic New Orleans experience. We’re glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and charming and recognized our friendly and dedicated team. We’d love to have you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

During your stay you are treated like royalty-rooms very comfortable-best service in town. But the best of the best is Sunday Brunch!! Should you decide to partake the fabulously delicious food-make reservations and then take your sweet time in doing so!!! Talk about GOOD...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
It’s our goal to welcome each individual as a guest in our home and to ensure that you have everything you need or want to enhance your visit to New Orleans. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to treat you like “royalty.” And, we’re thrilled to know how much you enjoyed the Begue’s Champagne Sunday Brunch! Many people are unaware that this brunch was originally invented at the Madame Begue’s restaurant and now is a tradition every Sunday 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. The brunch features a made to order omelet station, grilling station dessert, carving station, cheeses, salads, seafood, and champagne and mimosas, of course! We look forward to seeing you at another Sunday Brunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel has a great location for the French Quarter. Finding the parking garage was difficult due to the closed and one way streets, but we called the hotel and got great directions. Be prepared to pay $30+ per night parking fee. The staff is exceptional, friendly and very helpful. The room was adequate, a little on the small side, and clean, but the carpet needs to be replaced. The bed was comfortable and had a good nights rest. When we got to the room, the safe was not operating properly, but we called the front desk and security had the problem resolved in less than five minutes. I would probably stay at this hotel again due to it's great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Spence, we really appreciate the feedback about your experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and letting us be your home base during your visit to New Orleans. We’re glad that you rested well and found our team particularly hospitable. Please know that we are currently renovating our guest rooms on the 2nd to 5th floors to an updated New Orleans décor, so carpet is being replaced. Also, please know that we review our parking rates twice a year to ensure competitive pricing for our guests. We’re sorry that you were inconvenienced by the safe in your room, but happy to know that our maintenance team resolved the problem quickly. Thanks for your business, Spence, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been nothing less than amazing. They not only are a beautiful hotel, but the staff is excellent, they are all so polite and caring and this is the best place to be away from home. We had an emergency situation and the hotel staff not only helped us, but took care of us an checked in with us regularly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for letting the Royal Sonesta Hotel be your home away from home in New Orleans. We are overjoyed to have exceeded your expectations with our excellent and attentive guest services. Our team is glad to have helped during your unfortunate emergency, and we hope everything is now okay. Thanks again for your feedback, and please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is right on the corner of Bourbon Street within steps of all the fun, food and music you could want. The rooms are well-appointed and charming, the pool is beautiful, the food is divine. We ate breakfast downstairs each morning (ask to sit at one of Ruthie's tables) and had the French toast made with baguette bread (mmmm) and then moved to the courtyard with the most exquisite fountain and plenty of umbrella tables to read the morning paper and hang out in the shade until things got rolling on Bourbon Street. The best part is when you want to relax you can stay at the hotel in the courtyard or lay by the pool (there is a handy bar right by the pool) and when you want to get crazy or party you step outside. What could be better?

Room Tip: We chose a courtyard room so we could get some good sleep away from the noise of Bourbon Street. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I decided last minute Dec 29th to take off on a road trip from Toronto to New Orleans. We booked this hotel online with no recommendations or tips from anyone. I can only tell you how happy I was that we picked this hotel. For the NEw Orleans experience you must spend some time on Bourbon St regardless of your age. This hotel is right in the midst of all the action. Its a gorgeous period hotel with the best concierge Russell Murphy, who was extremely helpful in helping us plan our New Years eve festivitites.The hotel rooms were spacious, spotless and just stunning. Our hotel room had a view of Bourbon st which we couldn't have even dream of.
I would totally reccomend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the French Quarter, Bourbon St New Orleans.

Room Tip: We booked online which was cheaper than booking through the hotels website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Wow, we are thrilled to learn about you and your husband’s spontaneous New Years trip to New Orleans from Canada! We are so excited that you both had such an amazing experience staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel complete with luxurious accommodations with a Bourbon Street view and New Years Eve plans! We really appreciate your feedback, especially recognizing our very dedicated and attentive concierge, Russell Murphy. Thanks also for your outstanding recommendation, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.