We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location,location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Winter Escape
Ranked #24 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location, location,location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

This is good hotel, unless you get the upgrade room/suit...rooms are too small. The ambiance is great and the ideal location for Bourbon Street. Great coffee bar and shops. Parking is tight and Internet is not good for business as it fades in and out.



  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed the convenience of our location in the heart of the French Quarter, the locally roasted coffee at our PJ’s Coffee Café, and the surrounding antique shops and art galleries. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced using our free wireless internet. We will follow up on the signal strength as we have not had this challenge since a recent upgrade of the system. And we are sorry that the size of our standard guest rooms did not meet your expectations. Please know that our guest rooms are quite large compared to other hotels in the French Quarter. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    689
    218
    73
    56
See reviews for
292
1,013
75
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was very pleasant and the staff were attentive. We really appreciated the 2 ladies who staffed the club room on Nov. 16th & 17th. They were very personable and attentive to the guests. All in all we enjoyed Desire Seafood and Oyster Bar, Irvin Mayfields Jazz Playhouse and P J's Coffee Cafe.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back away from Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a 7th floor suite. The service was impeccable. The location is the best around, right in the middle of all of the action of Bourbon Street. My only complaint was our jacuzzi tub did not work and the sink stopper was broken. Everything was beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We are absolutely elated by your high recommendation of our hotel and its 7th floor R Club Concierge Level! Throughout the whole hotel, our team is dedicated to consistently providing such “impeccable” service. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the Jacuzzi and stopper in your room. Our maintenance team has been notified and proper repairs have been made. Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

we stayed at this hotel the end of October 2011 , the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, we were given a free upgrade to the new R-Club level, which is amazing, should you be thinking of booking here i would strongly advise upgrading, the rooms are great and the extra's you get are so worth the extra cost. should we ever return to New Orleans we would without question stay here again. with PJ's coffee house on site another bonus. the only slight downside to our stay was there were not enough Jazz clubs on the street which is nothing to do with the hotel just a little annoying, but the hotel had Jazz playing so that helped, our stay could not have been more comfortable thanks Royal Sonesta

Room Tip: R Club level is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed here for a business conference and my husband joined me later extending the trip a few extra nights for personal travel. Nice hotel, comfy room with modern decor. The room was clean, well furnished and the maid showed up everyday. The location is great for walking anywhere in the French Quarter! We walked everywhere day and night and felt quite safe. We were not out after midnight walking, but that has everything to do with our not being in our 20s! My only reason for giving a 4-star instead of 5-star is that the temperature of the room seemed to take awhile to adjust.

Room Tip: Our room did not face Bourbon Street, so it was quiet and peaceful overnight. I cannot speak to wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for leaving such kind compliments and helpful feedback! It’s wonderful knowing that you managed to enjoy both business and pleasure at our hotel and that you were comfortable and felt safe doing so. Thanks again, and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just arrived home from our trip that started on 11/16/11. WOW what a hotel! It was always clean, and the staff were all very friendly. On the first night I had taken ill with the flu and had to have the bedding changed. The maid didn't even blink an eye at the request and changed everything, including the comforter and pillows! The Jazz club was very nice. I know that it hasn't always gotten a great review, but the music was very good. We had to wait for the main act, as he was late. However, he brought in tow several other well noted musicians and even Irvin Mayfield himself! It was quiet a remarkable act! The halls were a bit noisy during the early evening, but always quieted down and never disturbed our sleep! Thanks again for a great time! If there is one thing I can let a potential visitor know, USE the Concierge! Russell Murphy was a great help to us! We were able to see everything that we wanted to, with the exception of a swamp tour. Our tour got canceled and he did everything he could to get us on another short of putting us on an hour long taxi ride! He had recommendations on food and because of it we had a few of the best meals of our lives! Again, can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: If you want something more quiet, ask for an interior room. Our room didn't have any view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Hi Michelle. Thank you so much for your raving review of your most recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We’re relieved that you still managed to enjoy yourself with being so sick, especially at the Playhouse. Our staffs, including Russell, our concierge, and the Playhouse team are responsible for these compliments and we will gladly pass along your comments to them. If you’d like to share more about your experience at the Playhouse, Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse now has its own Trip Advisor profile at http://tiny.cc/xebkx and welcomes feedback. Thanks again, and we’re looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed 5 days at the Royal Sonesta; right on Bourbon Street! This is as close as you can get to ground zero in the French Quarter. Bars, restaurants, strip joints, the good, the bad, the ugly all within walking distance. Never hailed a cab until it was time to fly out! I always felt safe, even at night (but watch it if you tend to wander). Room was large, well maintained, great staff; simply no problems. You've got to go to Desire, the hotel owned oyster house at the end of the block. A NOLA treasure! The parade of folks on Bourbon St. is a show in itself. While I was there a wedding party (bride, groom, families, etc) all marched down the street following a dixieland band. Simply a piece of Americana that's so unique. Would go back to the Royal Sonesta in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Might want to stay on the far side, the party does go on late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.