We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I expected, or perhaps wanted, this to be a quaint boutique hotel on Bourbon Street. That it is not. If you want to stay on Bourbon, you can't beat the location. Walk out of the hotel and you will immediately be swept into the hustle and bustle. However, I would described the rooms as the equivalent of dated Marriott rooms. It's just fine and clean, but nothing special. The staff were very nice, but don't expect Ritz-like service or beds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and sharing your experience. Even better than boutique hotels, we feature larger rooms, a personable full service staff, and everything that makes an authentic New Orleans experience: great food, live music on site, and a PJ’s Coffee Cafe. Please know that our 2nd through 5th floor guest rooms are being renovated and updated to a modern, New Orleans influenced décor. We hope that you plan to visit us when the renovations are completed at the end of 2012, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    755
    240
    79
    59
See reviews for
308
1,105
79
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. We stayed Oct 23-26th....We originally requested an R club room but at check in our room was not what we had asked for and switched to a pool deck room. I am actually happy it worked out. The pool room had french doors that opened and was a bigger room then the R club room. Louise (front desk) is exceptional. Overall it was a nice hotel. We have stayed at the Monteleone and Omni Royal. I would stay at the Royal Sonesta again ( I really do not have anything bad to say other than Tommy the bartender is awful/and rude and we had to have the keys programed several times during our stay), but I think I would stay at the Hotel Monteleone in the future.

Room Tip: Helpful tip: if you want a quiet room...ask for pool deck side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks for deciding to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel after having been to other equally as beautiful hotels in the Quarter. We apologize for the inconvenience of reprogramming your keys and your original room choice being unavailable, yet we’re pleased that the poolside room did exceed your expectations. We will certainly pass on your gracious praises to Louise at the front desk. However, the situation you described with our bartender is unacceptable and is uncharacteristic of our staff and our Department Heads are addressing this. We try very hard to set our hotel apart with an experienced and caring staff, as our reputation suggests. John Gomes, our Director of Food & Beverage, would like to speak with you regarding the experience. Please call him at 504-553-2273.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

On a recent trip to New Orleans, we decided to stay at the Royal Sonesta - it is located right on Bourbon street in the heart of all the activity. We also splurged and stayed on the R Club floor. Overall the stay was fantastic - i'm telling you the bed was the best ever - i can't remember the last time i slept so well.

The R club is nice, but I'm not sure i would stay there again - it doesn't come close to what you get with the Ritz Carlton Club level - you get breakfast and a happy hour - but the times are very limited and the food is just ok - we would have been better to pay less for the room and just buy our own drinks. I was also very disappointed in the conceirge offered on the floor. We asked for a reservation at NOLA's restaurant and were told that they couldn't get it - i then went out to OpenTable and booked it myself - so my recommendation would be stay at the hotel, but don't pay for the R Club.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and sharing your experience. While we’re overjoyed that you had such a restful night’s sleep, we’re disappointed that our R Club did not meet your expectations. Please know that we take your comments seriously and will address the R Club food offerings and the concierge feedback immediately. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel, and we’d love to have you back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The web site, calls to the hotel and even at check in failed to mention major remodeling. It was loud , starting very early. Dusty and not pleasant. Won't stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had booked a Bourbon Balcony. What that means is the balcony has access to Bourbon but the room may be facing another street. At first we were disappointed and we had them move us. I now can tell you that either way it is a great hotel and we mostly likelly would have been just as happy in the first room since the balcony was shared. The room was well furnished and clean. All the staff we encountered was pleasant and professional. The hotel is the Old French Quarter at it's best. If you are looking for the most modern type rooms, have a low tolerance for noise, and expect to be catered to similar to an island resort this destination may not be a good fit for you. If you like the personality of older buildings, cajun food and your fill of choices for watering holes, New Orleans is great and Royal Sonesta is the perfect property to meet your needs. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor gives a great view and a little distance from the revelers. Our traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive comments! We apologize for the inconvenience of moving rooms, but we’re glad to know that overall you enjoyed your view, the staff, the location and accommodations of our hotel. Thank you for the comments on our historical architecture, amazing food and spirits, not to mention our live music in the Playhouse each evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

You can't beat the location if you are looking to spend some time on Bourbon Street. It is a beautiful hotel with a very friendly and efficient staff, comfortable rooms and a charming courtyard. We were delighted with our stay. We were worried that we might hear loud noise from the late night partiers on Bourbon street, but we slept very well and couldn't hear anything from the street. It is actually quite the contrast from the somewhat unkempt Bourbon street. Stepping into the hotel off of Bourbon Street is like stepping into another world; however the hotel maintains all of the uniqueness that makes New Orleans what it is. You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for sharing your glorious recommendation of our property! It is rewarding to know that you were delighted with your stay and how we live up to our reputation of a tranquil oasis in the heart of the French Quarter! We’re looking forward to your return to the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Once again, we were delighted with our rooms, meeting rooms, meals and service. The front desk is friendly and always offers a room with a view on or off Bourbon Street. The rooms are nicely decorated, fresh bathrooms with loads of nice towels and bathrobes and a very comfortable bed. The location is fantastic. Everything is clean and looked after by a very caring staff. The coffee bar in the lobby, PJ's offers great coffee and pastries. The meals we enjoyed throughout our meetings were very good, with attentive service.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from Bourbon Street for a very good night of sleep! The front desk is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.