We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old New Orleans Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old New Orleans Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was exactly as advertised on trip advisor, the fountain in the courtyard ,the valet parking and friendly bell staff. Even received a phone call from the front desk just to make sure that everything is satisfactory it was a very nice touch. The room was exactly as advertised black tile floors, pillow top bed, in room refrigerator, safe, and two soft robes.
Hotel is located close to bourbon street and several very highly rated restaurants are within walking distance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    388
    68
    42
    13
See reviews for
178
844
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely hotel during our anniversary vacation...with a couple gripes.

To get to our room, 322 which was 3rd floor at the back courtyard, we had to take an elevator to the 2nd, walk down a hallway, past the service stairs back outside and up a flight, because the elevator doesn't go up to our room, nor to the area of our room. That's awful when you're carrying luggage, or when it's raining outside and you want to go down for breakfast. What a horrible design. We ended up taking the service stairs during our entire stay...which is not pretty. If you plan on making your guests take stairs to the 3rd floor, at least make it something to look at.

Now for the room. Pretty. But TINY. We walked into the room and practically walked into the bed. WTH. View was of NOTHING. Wait no,the view was of an alleyway, dressed up with plants. But you can hear the vents in the alley the entire time. I was soooo disappointed. I was wondering, where are all the rooms they advertised!?!?

Courtyard was beautiful. Continental bfast was superb. Great coffee, yummy eggs, best bacon we've ever had, croissants, chocolatines, cereals, juice, yog, fresh fruit. Extremely clean. Would have liked it if someone came around to refill our coffees rather than getting up every time, but that's ok.

Staff was absolutely amazing. Kind, forthcoming & helpful.Except for one guy working the counter (don't know his name....the only white guy there). We asked suggestions on restos...he had no idea what good restos were in the area & when we asked what he thought of Mr. B's & Acme, just shrugged and said he couldn't tell us. REALLY? Perhaps you shouldn't be working as Concierge. Thank goodness for the other employees who were exceedingly helpful.

Area can't be beat. All the good restos were around the corner (Mr B's, Acme, GW Fins - ALL A MUST in NOLA). A few steps from Bourbon so it's close to the action, but quieter than other options. And it gets LOUD in the French Quarter.

All in all great little hotel. I would recommend it to friends. We will however try other hotels in the area next time. For location & size of our room, we should have been charged less than others.

Room Tip: AVOID room 322 and any room near it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Location: The hotel location is perfect. it's feet away from Bourbon street but still quiet and quaint.

Service: Great friendly staff that's pleasant and eager to assist in any way.

Breakfast: great continental breakfast

Free Water: much needed daily. this was a great benefit.

Actual hotel: Lobby was extremely small. There was no where to spend time in the hotel besides the courtyard and room. this was understandable considering its a boutique hotel. courtyard waswell kept.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed two nights pre-cruise, May 31 - June 2. We have stayed in several hotels in NOLA, but this has flown right to the top of my list! The location, while it could have been loud, was perfect! Close to everything --- from the great restaurants near Decatur, to the fun of the French Quarter, to the shopping on Canal, to the WW II museum --- everything was walking distance. It had so much charm and a magical quality! The room (two queen beds) was large enough and beds were comfortable; very classically decorated. Staff was pleasant in all respects -- we arrived in a downpour and they couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was clean and had free WIFI, which was helpful for one of us finishing a graduate class on-line. I would recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet one - and they gave us one that isn't right on the streetside. Also was aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a great small-feel hotel. If you want a large "grand" hotel go to the Monteleone. If you want a more intimate experience, Mazarin is a good choice. It's close enough to Bourbon to have some noise, but you're not in the thick of it, and you can certainly escape from the Daytona Beach-ness of Bourbon here.

The rooms were very nice - nothing too crazy, but well-appointed and -maintained, and the bed was very comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful - a nice place to start the day with the included breakfast. Speaking of which, this was perhaps the biggest let-down. With the quality of food throughout the city, I would suggest the hotel step up the baked goods which were dry and not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel.

The front desk staff were very gracious and accommodating - especially Ulises, Rene and Manny. They made sure we were well cared-for.

All in all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Overall not good. Check-in was terrible. You have to valet across the street, but the doorman saw us struggling and walked away. Staff preferred to chat and smoke over helping guests. Room smelled of mildew and worse. Window opened to dark corner of walkway. Overall very quiet and breakfast was quite nice. Beds were comfortable, and room was clean. Would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean spacious and quiet , staff was super helpful and nice . Location was perfect for first timers and return customers to the quarter . The free breakfast was fresh delicious and plentiful everyday. Its right in the heart of the quarter and close to everything

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mazarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.