We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #2 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked this hotel through tripadvisor when my son and his girlfriend had to find a room last minute.I read quite a few reviews and used the trip advisor discount to book it for them. I called the hotel prior to his check in and asked them to leave it billed to my credit card to help them out. The agent at the hotel was very kind and understanding and told my son that I was going to help them out. Then they unexpectedly upgraded them to a suite and they called me so excited, especially since my son's girlfriend had never stayed in a hotel ever. They loved the hotel, the amenities and the location and
hope to be able to return when they can afford it.
Thanks to everyone at Hotel Mazarin for making this unexpected stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    869
    298
    57
    34
    10
See reviews for
138
667
29
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mazarin. If you want to be in the French Quarter, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is close to Canal St., where you can hop the trolley to head into the city (check out Audubon Park - beautiful!). It is just a short walk to Jackson Square, and just off Bourbon St. If you want a night of purple slushy drinks, go for it. But Patrick's Wine Bar is attached to this hotel, and is a great place for a quiet drink. A few other more upscale cocktail bars nearby - Arnaud's 75 is just across Bourbon St. on Bienvielle and the Carousel Bar around the corner in the other direction. (If you are planning to spend significant time on Frenchman Street, this might not be the hotel for you without some major support from the local cab companies. I think it might be too far to walk at the end of a long night.)

Noise is an issue probably at any hotel on or near Bourbon St, but this place isn't bad. We had a courtyard-adjacent room, so we didn't have any noise from the constant party just a few yards away on the street. The front desk said that they are installing more soundproof glass on the street view rooms, so that might be nice too. That said, because of the beautiful courtyard style of the hotel and the picturesque brickwork throughout, there is some pretty significant noise from work crews and cleaning staff that begins pretty early (make sure to put up your do not disturb sign!!), and if anyone comes home from some time on Bourbon Street to have a laugh in the courtyard, you'll know. The fountain masks some of the noise, but earplugs to the rescue again for me!

The staff at the front desk, at the door and in the breakfast room were all very friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about them. Extra props to Manny for always being awesome, and the breakfast room manager, whose name I didn't get, but who was also lovely. A nice touch from the valets - whenever we got the car, they asked us if we needed any directions (getting out of the Quarter can be a little tricky-lots of one way streets). They were always right on.

Our room was SMALL, but elegant. We paid the cheaper room price, so I wasn't upset. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room anyway. The air conditioning worked great, the bathroom was stocked with nice supplies, and the bed was a little firm but comfortable enough. Four complimentary bottles of water appeared every day, which was great. There isn't a pool, but there is a gym (somewhere). Free Wi-Fi throughout (you have to log in once a day, but it's not a big deal). The complimentary breakfast was good. The husband filled up on bacon, sausage, eggs and grits every morning, while I enjoyed fruit, yogurt and toast-your-own english muffins. The coffee was good, and always welcome.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

had a great stay at this hotel right in the french quarter. convenient walking to everything on bourbon street and beyond. their continental breakfast had a large variety of items and was free per your stay. great comfy beds. A huge plus was the non-smoking hotel that doesn't allow smoking throughout. Attentive service and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First time in New Orleans, this was a great hotel to stay at, located just off Bourbon Street. Room was spacious and the bed really comfortable, breakfast was an added bonus. The only real complaint was the shower flooded our bathroom floor nearly every time we used it. The wine bar attached to the hotel was a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel right off Bourbon. Comfortable rooms, very good breakfast included. Nice wine bar attached. Location hard to beat. Just far enough off Bourbon to be away from the madness. Hotel feels personal but does not have all the facilities of larger hotels - no pool or concierge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friends stayed here, while we were across the street at the Royal Sonesta. The wine bar here, with both indoor and outdoor seating was a nice place to meet and a good escape from nearby Bourbon Street. Would recommend it if you're looking for a little quiet and a glass of wine instead of a big beer - and only a few feet away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The bed was amazingly comfortable! The view from the balcony was great but the doors didn't shut very well and didn't block ANY noise from the streets. It was pretty irritating having to listen to horns being honked by valet drivers pulling out of the parking garage to warn any people walking near the entrance/exit which was directly across from our room the entire morning after having to listen to a saxophone player on the corner until 4:30am. At least we received a free room upgrade upon arrival for some reason.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mazarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.