We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our stay was wonderful..This hotel thinks of everything for your comfort. Great to have a breakfast waiting each morning and it too was great, such variety. The service was out of this world. I had trouble with printing our boarding passes and the desk clerk was very helpful even tho he was extremely busy. The locationb was the best! I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    395
    71
    43
    14
See reviews for
191
874
35
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Hotel Mazarin is great- but there were some visual items I had issues with. First of all, the paint was damaged on the exterior during the hurricane two months ago and they are having trouble getting permits to correct- so the exterior looks VERY bad right now. Next, the "tarp" over the courtyard looks very bad and appears to be for painting. Not sure why they even have it as no other quarter hotels have tarps over their courtyards. They claim it's to keep the plants warm. The wine bar was closed half the time during my stay for reno, then the wine bartender died in a car accident. While I was there every hotel had up their Christmas decorations except Hotel Mazarin- they started to put theirs up on 11/27. There is no water in the courtyard fountain and I was told that was due to a leak. Also, By looking at the 5th floor hotel floorplan, I could tell I was given the smallest room on the 5th floor, even tho I paid for a deluxe King.
The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, La. USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel with friendly and helpful staff and has a great location. Beautiful renovation of the historical St. Louis Hotel. Has a European feel. The rooms can be small, but very well done.
The breakfast was amazingly good and the buffet line was kept clean and food fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was a beautiful hotel in the heart of the action, but still intimate and quiet. Although being basically on Bourbon St. during a very busy weekend (Bayou Classic weekend), I was amazed by how quiet and peaceful it felt after walking in the hotel doors, it was like an oasis from the madness! The rooms were very clean, elegantly appointed, and extremely comfortable.

We stayed at the Hotel Mazarin while in New Orleans for our wedding... The staff was unbelievably helpful and accommodating, we were amazed! The staff went out of their way to down a steamer so I could steam my wedding dress that got creased during our flight. The banquet manager brought it to our room, gave us a lesson on how to use it, and then brought up a bottle of champagne. These days, it is rare to encounter places that go beyond what is 'required', and go above and beyond to make your stay special. From the friendly and helpful front desk staff, to the hot breakfast that was served from 7-12, they exceeded what is expected to make it a pleasant and guest-centered experience.

I will stay at Hotel Mazarin every time I come to Nola! I'm hooked!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Loved it, loved it, loved it. Three nights in the heart of the quarter, yet such a serene setting. It was easy access to everything we wanted to do. The room was comfortable and we were impressed with shower set up. I really enjoyed our daily breakfast and learned everything tastes better with Tabasco. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed this hotel. It is quiet - especially for being one block off Bourbon. The rooms are small but you get the feel you are in a European hotel. In fact most of the guests appeared to speak French. The bed was comfy and the decor very welcoming. The area has many cute shops and restaurants in easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BUFORD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went to New Orleans on a get away with my wife. Check in was fast and room was small but very clean and up to date. Parking was a nightmare, but New Orleans is not known for the parking. The AC worked very good, beds where very comfortable, bathroom was small, but shower was great. The breakfast was very good and served in the courtyard. The hotel itself is small, but I see that as a plus. Room service was quick and polite. The room we had was very quite, you could not hear the party going on just one block away on Bourbon street. Check out was good, no hidden charges.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mazarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.