We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and relaxing retreat from Quarter chaos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious and relaxing retreat from Quarter chaos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was on the tail-end of a business conference in Nola and I wanted a Quarter hotel that wasn't right on the noisy path but close enough to everything that I could easily walk. And I wanted something that made me feel safe since I was traveling alone. The Mazarin fit the bill in EVERY respect.

The newly redecorated property is 1/2 a block from Bourbon but the minute you enter the front doors, the noises and drama disappear. I love New Orleans and am a frequent visitor, but sometimes you just want a touch of quiet and elegance. And Mazarin has it. I was won over by the gorgeous courtyard and the knowledge that Patrick Bar Vin, the wine bar downstairs, could be my home-away-from home when I wasn't frequenting the area restaurants and bars.

The staff was efficient, helpful and very friendly. They took care of me right away when I arrived, even though I was checking in early, and took care of my luggage while I attended the last day of the conference. When I returned, they led me to my gorgeous king suite overlooking the courtyard of Bar Vin. The floors are a cool (literally) marble tile that is delicious to walk on after a hot day spent trolling the city, the furnishings are stylishly classic (you feel like you're walking back in time to a turn-of-the-century Big Easy room without the dust) and the linens were high quality and extremely comfortable. Bathrooms are supremely well-appointed and the shower/toiletries are fab.

I requested a room with a balcony and was given a prime view over the wine bar courtyard. With the French doors open, on a quiet morning, you could hear the local foot traffic, the courtyard fountain and the distant call of cathedral bells, ship horns and even jazz music from down the way on Bourbon. I will say that having the doors open at the height of a hot day wasn't really possible (not surprising) and keeping them open at night also wasn't possible due to the proximity to Bourbon Street (again, not surprising). But the minute the doors were closed, the room cooled completely and the sounds of the street miraculously vanished. When I return, I might ask for a higher room with a balcony or a room with a view on the other side of the hotel, but only due to the expected street noise. It wasn't so much of a problem that I requested a different room or anything like that -- it was a fabulous room and view and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Great daily breakfast in the courtyard as well.

Do yourself a favor and book this hotel on your next visit -- the location, the staff, the rooms, the ambiance -- they're all top-notch and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front will likely have street noise -- if that bothers you, request a room on the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Well thank you for such a positive and glowing review of the Hotel Mazarin!! We pride ourselves on the quality of our staff and ownership involvement with our training program. We hand pick our staff before they are hired to ensure the highest guest service. The complimentary breakfast at Hotel Mazarin was instituted as our ownership doesn't want us to "nickel and dime" our guests. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    442
    78
    50
    17
See reviews for
209
966
43
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Breakfast was great from a timing perspective - quality was good though a little more variety would be an improvement. Bed was very comfortable. Closet space was lacking. An Armoire would be an improvement. Shower was exceLlent - though more counter space would be an improvement. We really liked the location on the interior courtyard as it was wonderfully quiet. All in all we would recommend to friends and chose to stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Remodeled last year. Enter in nice lobby and then into large courtyard. Rooms all open onto central courtyard from balcony, so no outside noise. Pretty furniture, big comfortable bed, up-to-date bathroom. Full breakfast included. Enthusiastic staff with helpful manager who wandered through the breakfast room. Good (but expensive) bar also opens onto courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First class stay. We own local restaurants and did some trade for room stay with the hotel. Spent two nights during Thanksgiving 2012. Rooms were immaculate. I hate leaving my ultra comfort bed behind when traveling for a hotel bed. The beds here were like pillows and the down bedding was luxurious. Slept like a prince.

The location was perfect. A quiet courtyard insulated you from the madness that was Bourbon street a half block away. When you wanted to enter that madness it was very convenient. The front desk staff was great. The Bar on property was a great little wine bar another sanctuary from the madness and booze fests on Bourbon. The complimentary breakfast was good with fresh juices, fruit and traditional breakfast fare. A great way to start the day. Will be back to hang in this little gem soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments on Hotel Mazarin. We are glad you had an opportunity to take a break from the hectic restaurant business and stay with us. We strive to have the finest furnishings and bedding for the comfort of our guests. Our staff is trained on giving our guests the best customer service and making them feel at home. Patrick's Bar Vin is known as one of the top 10 wine bars in the country, so we are happy you had a chance to experience what everyone is saying. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Mazarin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is exactly what I was looking for when I booked my hotel. I am so glad I went with a boutique hotel instead of a big modern high rise hotel. It was quant, comfortable and just off Bourbon Street. The staff was perfect and service was outstanding. And I want to personally thank the person cleaning my room. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We normally stay at the Royal Sonesta, but we (me and my boyfriend) took his brother along with us. The room (#215) had two Queen beds and was very spacious as compared to the usual NOLA/French Quarter hotels. The beautiful courtyard is tented, so if it is raining, it is still usable as a lovely spot to eat the AWESOME free breakfast. The breakfast "buffet" had link sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, juices (apple, cranberry, orange) - coffee, tea, yogurts, fresh fruit bowls. Breakfast is served until 11am, which is great if you've had a late night.

Desk people/staff were nice - didn't really talk to them much, no need. Beds were comfy. I really liked the bathrooms, because when you are staying with someone ( like my bf's brother) you want PRIVACY. Our oom had a door to the bathroom, then another door to the toilet./shower room. Was great in that way. There is a waterfall in the courtyard that is super loud which I LOVED. Our room was pitch black at night (which I also loved) and it was like sleeping during a hard rain. Very nice. I couldn't hear any of the Bourbon St noise, but I wouldn't mind if I did. loud partying is kinda the whole point.

When you step out the front door, you may as well be staying on Bourbon, its just 100ft away. Will ALWAYS stay at this hotel from now on, and I am SO PICKY when it comes to hotels. Beats the Royal Sonesta IMO. The marble floors made it seem clean, sheets and towels were clean, closet was spacious and nice. My #1 thing that made me choose the hotel was free delicious breakfast. That, in itself, saves (between 3 people) a $40 meal, and was a great start to the day.

STAY HERE! You will NOT regret it. I know I am a stranger to ya'll, but it is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 215, It was a corner room, I would suggest asking for this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We really appreciate your spectacular review about the Hotel Mazarin. I'm glad we succeeded in making your experience the best ever. Everything done here at Hotel Mazarin is to enhance guest service and quality of stay. You are so right, our complimentary breakfast is a great way to start the day and save $$$. We look forward to your return in the near future. Thanks for helping spread the great news about Hotel Mazarin!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

i loved this place. it was in the perfect location, half a block off of bourbon street. definitely close enough to all the action, and just far enough away to have some peace and quiet in such an amazingly bustling city. the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. i honestly did not want to get out of that bed!!! the people working there were nothing less than super-friendly and there was always someone to help you out with anything you needed, at any time of day or night. the only criticism i have is (as a smoker), i had to walk through the courtyard and lobby in order to grab my morning smoke. seriously, though, that is my only gripe --- and it's a very minor one at that. good job to all of the people working there and making it feel like home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mazarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.