We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very kind staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and very kind staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We all went for my best friend's 50th. We took our 3 daughters, 2 other friends. All women.It was my first time to New Orleans. I loved the hotel and service. Everybody was very polite.

Patrick bar was excellent. Our bartender Kenny was over the top. We loved the street front outdoor courtyard and finished both nights there until very late.

The courtyard inside does close though.

Manny and Renee, baggage valets, were amazing and indulgent with all us women. There were a total of 7 of us.

I lost the hotel's cordless phone in my room and they brought another one, no questions asked. But I ended up finding it in my suitcase.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    740
    265
    51
    31
    9
See reviews for
118
566
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I and a number of my friends just spent a long week-end at the Hotel Mazarin. The staff was very friendly and helpful...the whole vibe of the place is laid back and local. We loved the complimentary (and excellent) breakfast buffet and the courtyard where we ate it. Also liked the bar (especially the outside tables) and the complimentary beverages we were offered. Rooms were faultless (nice fancy bathrooms) and reasonably priced , though my friends tell me that (due to street noise), one should request a quiet inward-facing room. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: request a quiet one (not facing the street or the courtyard in which weddings take place)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The regular rooms are very small. After we had a problem they responded quickly and efficiently. Lots of charm and beauty in this newly renovated hotel. Very close to Bourbon St. and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a well appointed buffet. We got a great deal on price so if you pay regular rates i think it would be to expensive in relation to the other hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandeville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for a perfect location to get a taste of Bourbon St and the French Quarter without it being outside your window while you try to sleep - this is the place! We stayed in a petite King room, on the interior second story courtyard. The room felt brand new, clean and totally removed form the hustle and bustle of Bourbon, less than a two minute walk away. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had for an "included breakfast". We stayed during the week, and there did not appear to be any other events booked at the time, so I cannot comment about courtyard noise, etc - but because of the layout I can see where someone might have an issue with that - however requesting the 2nd story courtyard rooms will eliminate that concern.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

the hotel mazarin is a nicely done boutique hotel in the heart of the french quarter. it is perfectly located for partying on bourbon street and its central location makes it easy to walk just about anywhere in the french quarter. because you are so close to the action, don't expect a quiet stay! you will hear partying late into the night and early morning, so if you require total silence to sleep, stay outside the french quarter! we didn't have any problem sleeping but i can understand if someone did--so be forewarned! IMO, being so conveniently located makes wearing earplugs worth it. i absolutely don't hold the noise against the hotel.

we stayed in a deluxe king room and it was very spacious and nicely appointed. the bed was super comfy as was the comforter and pillows. the AC worked great, the flat screen tv was nice, and the room comes with a small little fridge and free bottled water. the bathroom wasn't big but had a walk-in shower which was nice and a tiered shelf so that you have a place to put all your toiletries. all in all very nice touches. the one thing that i personally didn't like was that the flooring was travertine--not that i dislike hard, cold travertine or marble flooring, i just don't like it in the bedroom where i prefer to walk around barefoot. but of course that's a personal preference.

included with your stay is breakfast that goes from 7-11 am. being in the french quarter that really shows they understand their clientele. after all, it can be rough getting up for breakfast in NOLA after a night on bourbon st., even if it is included. the food was nothing spectacular, but very good and a decent selection. the bar vin on property turned out to be a great place to pre and after party. we enjoyed a bottle of champagne in the lovely hotel courtyard late into the night.

the staff were all very friendly and helpful. they promptly responded to our requests and did a great job arranging transportation for us. the only complaint we had was the housekeeping staff did kind of a cursory job. they made up the bed and cleared out the trash but it was clear they didn't really wipe anything down, didn't give us new soaps and shampoos, and just kinda laid the new towels on top of the rack. for a pricy, classy boutique hotel, i expect more. i want each time i enter the room after it's cleaned to be like the first time i enter the room (plus my belongings). that really was far from the case here, and thus the deduction to 4 stars.

overall though, we are happy we stayed at the mazarin. it's location is just too good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Mazarin for our anniversary on the reccomendation of our son who had stayed a month ago. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and attended to all our needs. The location was great. Close to all the activities, but on a side street away from all the noise of Bourbon Street. The king bed was super comfortable and the bathroom had all the ammenities needed. We really enjoyed the included breakfast. There were many food choices and the staff was efficient and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the courtyard are nice but more expensive. 3rd floor rooms away from the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very nice hotel! The room was very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable. The wine bar in the hotel had a friendly staff and was a very nice place for a quiet drink at the end of the night! Breakfast was delicious (more importantly coffee was great!) and enjoyed sitting outdoors on the beautiful interior courtyard. This is a small property and the staff makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments about the Hotel Mazarin and our staff. We pride ourselves on choosing the best people to service our guests. Our ownership has put a lot of thought into our product and training to enhance our guests' experience. Hotel Mazarin has one of the best courtyards in the French Quarter which makes your complimentary breakfast that much more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Mazarin and look forward to your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mazarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.