We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #2 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Okoboji, Iowa
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Hotel Mazarin is in a very convenient location to Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter. The breakfast was very good and the wait staff friendly. Our room was clean and attractive. Having said this, these positive comments in no way make up for the negatives!
We had no mini frig in our room, key failures, and excessive noise. It was so loud next door that we could hear every
word they said throughout the night. It was very difficult to fall asleep. Even this was not enough reason to give a terrible rating; extreme RUDENESS, and the appearance of not caring about a paying guest of the hotel is! There is absolutely, under no circumstances, an excuse for this behavior. I am referring to front desk employee(s).
I am happy that so many of you had a wonderful experience at this hotel; we did not. I will never recommend this hotel. This kind of treatment can put a dark cloud over what should have been a great trip to New Orleans!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    292
    56
    34
    10
See reviews for
135
660
29
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Hotel Mazarin’s main strength is its location, which is perfect to access the French Quarter. The accommodation is modern, clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast was good. The rooms surround an atrium which gives the hotel a nice ambience, but if there is an event going on in the evening, this can lead to an amount of noise within your room. However, all in all you won’t go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

If you like friendly service and a great location with a nice bar then this is the place to stay. Just upscale enough to make one feel
Special but not over the top. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback during your stay at Hotel Mazarin. We pride ourselves on the product and outstanding guest service. We hope to see you again very soon at Hotel Mazarin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Staying here for our 14th anniversary. The staff has been great the entire time, the room has the ambience and charm of the French Quarter but is very modern and updated at the same time. The bed is super comfortable.

Very nice experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your 14th Anniversary at Hotel Mazarin and in our great City of New Orleans. Our owners put a lot of thought into our hotel, and we are pleased you enjoyed our finished product. We hope to see you next year for your 15th, if not sooner! Thanks again for staying at Hotel Mazarin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Great weekend getaway. If you ask for garden view room please make sure rain tent is not in window view. Very ugly and noisy when it rains. Bourbon street right at your feet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Mazarin, we do get rain from time to time in New Orleans epsecially around this time of year, but we sure know how to make up for it with a great hotel in a great City! We will let our Chef know how much you enjoyed your wonderful breakfast and thanks again for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Although I was in NOLA on business and stayed at this boutique hotel, Hotel Mazarin is a great spot for leisure travelers, as it is super close and within walking distance to everything in the Quarter. Very quaint; brand new, beautiful rooms. Most all rooms face the courtyard, which is a New Orleans must. Loved that they had free wifi, and free bottled water, and breakfast each day. A really nice amenity! But the best part about the Hotel Mazarin was the level of service. Front desk, housekeeping, valet were all so kind and helpful and made me feel as if I were coming home each day. It's close to Bourbon Street, so if you really don't like to hear a peep at night, be sure to mention when you check in and ask for a room on the top floor.....it's quieter up there.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter, as the lower to the ground you are, the more courtyard and street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a wonderful selection. I attended a conference with this hotel as accommodations. The staff was wonderful, friendly and accommodating. I had a cozy King room located on the back corridor. The room was small but met my needs. I liked the quaint, quiet atmosphere where my room was located. There are larger rooms but I liked the atmosphere. The hotel provided full breakfast with the room. Large variety with ample choices of foods. This is the only meal available but lots of surrounding restaurants. Parking is an additional fee up to $40 per day. Charging for parking is standard in the French Quarter. I would highly recommend Hotel Mazarin. I will be staying here for all my stays in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We hope you enjoyed your conference during your stay at Hotel Mazarin, we know how difficult it can be to pull yourself away from our wonderful City and focus on work. I'm pleased to hear our staff exceeded your expectations and our room fulfilled all of your needs. We hope you can make it down soon on a personal visit so you can really take in everything our City has to offer. Thanks for your kind and positive feedback on Hotel Mazarin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Amex, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mazarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.