We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Oak BBQ now” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chickie Wah Wah

Chickie Wah Wah
2828 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6302
855-292-4924
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Blue Oak BBQ now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place does BBQ now, and REALLY great BBQ. Which is awesome, because I'm usually very skeptical of barbeque in this town. Every time my wife and I head to Memphis or St. Louis we usually make up for what we're missing here.

I've noticed recently there's a lot of new barbeque places popping up in town, and I have enjoyed trying the new variety that exists here. You've definitely got some OK choices now to fill your BBQ needs in NOLA. But I'm truly sold on Blue Oak.

I think they're making the best wings in town, and the groups of people I've invited to come with me to try have also confirmed this suspicion. They smoke their wings, and the sauces are pretty stellar. And for the record, these aren't those tiny wing pieces you'll find at some of the wing spots around here; they are legitimately sized wing portions. The rest of the menu is pretty solid as well- the brisket is great, as is the pork. I also really like their baked beans. If they've got a dessert going you should definitely try that too. We've had some great pie and bread pudding here.

The prices are pretty standard as far as plates go (~$12 I believe). You can order wings on game day in sets of 5 for a reasonable amount. The beer selection is good and the bartenders are great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    15
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Emerging as one of the more significant music venues in NO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Treat yourself. Go here any night and experience the NO club scene at its best. If you get a chance, see Jon Cleary, but if he is not in town, go anyway, take a chance and see whatever band is playing. You will not be disappointed. The kitchen keeps changing. When we were there in October 2013, it was excellent BBQ. (try the Brussels Sprouts and garlic Mac-and-cheese). But the food is the lesser part. Go when the town is not so crowded. Go early, and get a table at the front. Stay for both sets. Savor the wonderful-ness of the NO club scene, where you hear world famous musicians playing a few feet from you. You watch them sweat. And, between sets, they come into the audience for a beer and a break. I am very, very picky about where I go for music when in NO, and Chickie Wah Wah is one of the top three. Tell Dale that "Ellen sent me".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Short hop on the street car"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely Bar with a superb lineup of artists and the best "sammich" I have had in New Orleans in a long time. I went on the strength of seeing that Jon Cleary was playing a solo set even though I had seen him the night before. The Bar looks fantastic and the owner is a nice bloke and very friendly. Jon Cleary was as usual out of this world and a unexpected surprise to have a quick chat with him in between sets at the bar. Went back the following night to see Alvin Youngblood Hart who was also sublime. Must mention again the chef is amazing! the best sandwiches I have ever tasted. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the ride up Canal St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place for excellent music and a very good, reasonably priced NOLA meal/sandwich. Top rate musicians frequent this establishment on a regular basis. Check their web-site for updates schedules, you'll be glad you went.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“French Brass bands rule”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

stayed at the hostel around the corner great venue with great music in a great city what else can be said!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chickie Wah Wah also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Chickie Wah Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chickie Wah Wah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.