We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Court Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Longmeadow, MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

My wife and I visited New Orleans for the first time in December and wanted to stay in what we thought would be the best hotel in town, well situated for the sights we wanted to see. The Windsor Court was a perfect choice. This is near the French Quarter in a nice part of the city, and our room offered a view of the Mississippi River. As New Englanders, we found the welcomes in New Orleans unsurpassed, whether in restaurants or shops, and every staff member of the hotel was as helpful and welcoming as possible. Everyone should visit New Orleans post-Katrina, as it is a testament to the love and dedication of people who have suffered great loss and fought back with great pride. This hotel is as good as any hotel, anywhere.

  • Liked — Quality, staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your recognition of our Team is delightful, and we are very proud that you feel the Windsor Court is "as good as any hotel, anywhere".

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    225
    78
    57
    30
See reviews for
192
445
34
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

American Express had originally booked the Ritz Carlton for my 5-day birthday stay in New Orleans. After seeing some current photos taken by a Trip Advisor reviewer, I asked AmEx to book me into a different hotel. The choice of the Windsor Court could not have been better!

Upon my early arrival, Ashley on the front desk greeted me enthusiastically and was genuinely interested in my birthday celebration trip! She had upgraded me from a Junior Suite to a Full Suite (I didn't know it at this point) and as the room was not ready said they would store the luggage and call me on my cell phone the moment it was ready. This was fine as we had a full day's activities planned.

In the early afternoon, the call came as promised. However, we didn't complete the check in for a couple hours because we were having too much fun snacking on raw oysters in the French Quarter. When we did arrive back at the hotel, I was again cheerfully greeted and told my luggage would be brought up immediately. I was pleasantly shocked to see we had been upgraded to a FULL suite. The luggage arrived within 5 minutes (you know at some hotels it can take an hour). Shortly afterwards, the door bell rang and a bottle of Veuve Clicquot had been sent by the hotel management as birthday cheer! Again, a super pleasant surprise!

Throughout our stay, staff (restaurant, bellmen, concierge) kept asking how the birthday trip was going and giving me birthday wishes on the exact day. Everyone seemed to really enjoy working at the hotel and the feeling was passed on to the guests. This was a huge positive.

I don't think I need to describe the room, other than to say it was super clean and everything was in working order and really, the bedding was luxurious! I fell asleep quickly and easily each night. The marble floors and walls in the bath were opulent. The shower was hot and strong. It's probably a shame we didn't spend more time in the room! Our city view was fantastic!

The main restaurant, The New Orleans Grill, was a bit pricey for breakfast, but absolutely excellent. On our last morning there, the staff even came by to say "goodbye" and "safe trip." They also offered to pack snacks and fruit for us for the drive! Our dinner there (the first night) was excellent. Service was attentive, friendly and neither rushed nor pesty. It was reasonably priced for a wonderful array of appetizers shared by the two of us.

Our stay at the Windsor Court made us genuinely feel welcome in New Orleans. I can't wait to return and would not consider staying at any other hotel. The Windsor Court hotel is absolutely the top hotel I have stayed in in North America and Europe ( That includes the former Plaza NYC and Hotel Sacher in Vienna)

  • Liked — The Staff was awesome! Everyone was genuinely friendly and super efficient.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your passion and excitement for the Windsor Court Hotel makes us so very proud to be your location of choice!

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs. We hope that we can make your next birthday even more special!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Not sure where all the rave reviews come from. We stayed on the club level and it was certainly NOT the Ritz. Rooms were ok, bathrooms were poorly lit with horrible, dirty white rugs and toilet mats. Mirror was peeling. The club lounge was lacking the extra attention to cleanliness you find at a Four Seasons or Ritz. Tables were not cleaned well and plates, utensils were dirty. Staff was very friendly and accomodating and the location is great - But the finer touches just aren't there.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear that you encountered challenges during your stay, particularly in regards to to the condition of your Guest room, as we strive to achieve the very best. As the leading luxury hotel in New Orleans and only hotel in the city to be coveted with Mobil Four Stars and AAA Four Diamonds, please know that this is not the normal experience of a Windsor Court guest.

Rest assured that we will investigate your experience and will address the issues with the appropriate team members to ensure future guests do not experience the same occurrences.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you as I am confident that you will have a more positive experience during your next stay.

Thank you very much again for your feedback…we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

My family took a quick trip to New Orleans to get away after Christmas. We decided to stay at the Windsor Court, since it is one of our favorite hotels in New Orleans. As always, the Windsor Court was outstanding. The lobby was still decorated for Christmas, and it was beautiful. Our room was very comfortable, elegant, and clean. The room service food was delicious and served timely. We will definitely return to the Windsor Court soon.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so pleased you took an opportunity to treat yourself to a getaway after Christmas!

At the Windsor Court, we take pride in providing an experience that will surprise and delight you at every opportunity.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

My husband and I had family in town for Thanksgiving and they were staying at the Windsor Court. We decided, as a treat, to stay there as well. What a wonderful time we had!

The staff was great - very attentive and friendy. Always ready to lend a hand or answer a question. The hotel itself looked lovely, especially with all of the beautiful Christmas decorations that went up during our time there. The rooms are so big! Well, ours was a suite...and it was the size of a small apartment!

Having tea at the Windsor Court is a must. They sell out over the Christmas season, so we were lucky to get in right before the rush! Thanksgiving in the restaurant was quite an experience. I mean that in a good way! And we got drift that there is a new chef there. I don't know if that's true, but I can tell you that the food was wonderful. And there is an energy in the restaurant I haven't seen in a while.

While we are locals, I can't wait until we have an excuse to go back! I know my family is already making plans to come back to New Orleans for NEXT Thanksgiving.

  • Liked — The friendly and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2008
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so pleased you took an opportunity to treat yourself!

At the Windsor Court, we take pride in providing an experience that will surprise and delight you at every opportunity.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

I've stayed in many large, small, & boutique hotels in new orleans and many years ago, i had the good fortune to stay at the windsor court. my experience was so wonderful that i have always hoped to return. i recently had that opportunity and was extremely pleased with my stay. the staff from top to bottom could not have been more helpful, kind and courteous. my room was large, airy and comfortable. the property is conveniently located to the french quarter, riverwalk, and the harrah's, in case you're a gambler.
my business colleagues stayed right next door at the W and each day brought a new litany of horrendous complaints about their hotel. the windsor court may not be the new, sexy, hot property, but i, for one, will take good service, and the pleasurable experience of the wonderful older hotel any day.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2008
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very pleased to have provided such a "pleasurable experience" for you.

At the Windsor Court, we pride ourselves on making every stay special, paying careful attention to individual needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegut, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

After previously spending a very romantic and fun weekend on our first weekend trip as a couple, we decided that we wanted to return to the Windsor Court for our honeymoon stay. It is such a easy place to make reservations. They have outstanding service and they make you feel like you are royalty, which we all know were not. We love the room service breakfast, its so convenient. You just fill out the menu, place it on your door and then wow! your meal arrives very punctually. Now, the service is great, but wait till you taste the meal. It is absolutely delicious.

The staff is very friendly and courteous no matter what your doing or where you are in the hotel.

We look forward to staying with you again in the future.

Thank you for making our honeymoon very special.

David & Lisa Gaudet

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Check out time, I wish you could have the option for a later time.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2008
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. It's our pleasure to, "make you feel like Royalty"!

At the Windsor Court, we are pride ourselves on making every stay memorable and special.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.