We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elequent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Romeo, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Elequent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Windsor Court is a wonderful hotel that is conveniently located to transportation that will take you to most of the city sites. It is easy walking distance from the hotel to the French Quarter and just a couple of blocks to the River Walk. And a casino just across the street. Great location. Most importantly, the hotel is a gem in every respect. Service is superb. Decor is beautifully and tastefully done. We stayed in a Junior Suite that was well thought out and very accommodating. Can't imagine what a Suite must have. Tea time is beautifully done with all of the china and silver. What a treat. And if you care to splurge a little, treat yourself to the executive level. The executive lounge is beautifully done. Afternoon tea there too as well as evening refreshments. And yes, breakfast is provided there as well. When you go for the best, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear William E,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our location, service and accommodations. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    175
    70
    53
    27
See reviews for
166
371
28
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first time in NO and loved it. Stayed at the Windsor Court located just on the margin of the French Quarter. Tucked away but still very convenient. First class accommodations. Rooms and lobby are beautiful, comfortable, clean. Staff very accommodating. Kind of pricey but we were guests of Tulane Univ so didn't have to foot the bill. Actually had the opportunity of meeting Morgan Freedman riding up in the elevator. What a treat! He was very gracious and kind enough to allow us to take his picture with us! It was an amazing stay and would definitely return to both NO and the Windsor Court! Loved it all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Debra C,

Thank you for writing about your visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court earlier this year. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and location and that you loved your stay. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Could I nitpick the Windsor Court for its need for more staff at the front door at certain times, the need for a tub in the bathroom; the need for plugs on each side of the bed; sure.
But none of that takes away from the fact I really enjoyed my stay and could not find another hotel in the city that offered the space and comfort.
Out suite while a little dated in décor was spacious and the balcony enjoyable but could have used a small chair. On a higher floor one could have seen the river; we saw the roof of Harrah's.
Breakfast in the sunny second floor room offered bacon and ham that were scrumptious. Could not get enough.
The lobby bar was enjoyable to relax in watching the comings and goings tot a good piano player.
The staff was friendly.
We had come to town for a meeting at another big hotel and decided to continue staying in our comfortable suite here and commute to the meetings. It was worth the price of the second room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Venamo,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience to the Windsor Court Hotel. I am so delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that we provided the space, comfort and service that you were looking for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a leisure visit so that you can continue to explore all that the hotel and New Orleans has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After visiting NOLA many times over the past 10 years, My girl and I booked at the Windor Court. First of all, the hotel is located in a wonderful area, across from the casino and a short walk to the Quarter. The hotel is gorgeous. Fresh flowers, beautiful furniture, large rooms with comfortable beds and good water pressure.
We stayed in a Junior Suite on the executive level. We took full advantage of the executive lounge for breakfast and evening drinks. The horderves were tasty too. Every night we stopped at the POLO LOUNGE to listen to some music, drink and chat with Roger the bartender.
What really adds to the attraction of this hotel is the people that work there. Jerry and Darlene in the exectutive lounge were friendly and genuine. I had conversations with maids and bellmen who made me feel welcome. My girl went to the spa and told me that the girls who worked there were amazing! Well, I guess we found our "home spot" in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Spring for the executive floor. If you use the executive lounge for breakfast and happy hour it wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Readyright,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience to the Windsor Court. I'm so happy to hear about the great time you had at the hotel. Between the Club Lounge, Spa and Polo Club Lounge, It sounds like you got a nice sampling of all the hotel has to offer! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently attended the New Orleans Jazz and Hertiage festival. I stay at the Windsor Court having stayed here in the pass and loving it. They also have a good price for the Jazz Festival so I decided to try it again. I was debating between this and the Ritz Carlton on Canal Street. But I like the location of the Windsor Court much better.

This is a refined hotel. You can feel it the moment you enter the courtyard in the front. It's a real contrast to the hustle and bustle of the French Quarters. But the location is within walking distance of the quarters and the shuttle taking you to Jazz Fest. I had relatives staying at the Hyatt Regency and they described it as a "young persons" hotel. Large, lots of activity, lots of people milling about, etc. I wouldn't say Windsor Court is an "old persons" hotel, but it definitely is a very quite, relaxed and upscale hotel. This might not be everyone's cup of tea, but suited me just fine.

I had a suite, which provided me and my sister who stayed with me, more than enough room so that we were nto getting in each other's way. There were 2 seperate sinks and a seperate makeup area. The bathroom was nice and big; the living room held 6 people (I had family come to see me while I was there) with no problem and the bedroom was nice and spacious. One drawback I had was the maintenance and cleaniness of the room. There were a couple of utility outlets that didn't have covers on them at all. And there were also 2 walls where it looked like soda or something had been spilled and it was never cleaned well. I was there for 5 days and these things were never addressed. But the bed itself was great! I love the matress and the bedding felt great. If it wasn't for Jazz Fest calling to me, i might have stayed in that bed all day :-)!

All in all, this is an excellent hotel. It was remodeled recently, but it still retained all of the historic and charming freatures it had before. I didn't have a chance to check out the new bar, but i could hear some of the music as i entered the hotel. Will make a point of going there on my next visit. Had breakfast in the dining room. It was just ok and very much over priced. Had much better breakfast within wlaking distance of the hotel. Also, room service priced seemed a bit high. They changed more for room service food than for whatever you order in the dining room and also charge the standard additional service fee. I understand the service fee, but why charge more for the meal itself?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear DeeJon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your recent Jazz Fest stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our atmosphere, location and spacious rooms which contributed to your grand stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely small hotel in the midst of bustling NOLA. Our suite was spacious and comfortable with very nice amenities. The front desk and concierge service were very patient and helpful. The walk to the French Quarter was quick and safe. My husband and I had not been to New Orleans in nearly 35 years...we didn't get to explore everywhere we wanted, so we will be looking forward to our next stay at the Windsor Court next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Flamenco-Fans,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable stay and that our front desk and concierge were patient and helpful in your needs. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely stay in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first stay since the renovation of the hotel. Very well done. The suites are roomy and beautiful. Very helpful staff. You are truly treated as royalty. Looking forward to another visit soon. No comparison to any other hotel in new Orleans area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Philly180,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Windsor Court. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the renovations and that we continue to be your hotel of choice while visiting New Orleans. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.