We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travel, great bar/lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for business travel, great bar/lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

i stayed here on a business trip in November. The location is terrific - just a few minutes' walk from Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. There are also several great restaurants right around the corner (August, John Besh's fancy restaurant, and The Ruby Slipper, great for breakfast). The rooms were *enormous* and the price was great. Overall, l had a great experience here, but the only slight issue was the service. The reception desk always seemed short-staffed, and the housekeeping was efficient, but would turn up at odd hours. I was offered turn-down service at 10pm, which seemed a bit late to me! I also had a horrible time with the business center - it was expensive to get online, print etc, and the printer kept jamming. However - the staff was friendly and professional, and the rooms were wonderful. Definitely check out the bar/lounge on the 2nd floor, they have great live music there most nights. Finally, although the property was gorgeous, it doesn't have all that much character. So on a future trip for myself / with friends, i would probably look for an older hotel in the heart of the French quarter, with more personality. However, for business travel, Windsor Court was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear AWills10026,

Thank you for taking the time about your recent trip to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our hotel to be great for your business travel needs. I am sorry to hear about a few of the inconsistencies you experienced and will investigate them further. We appreciate your patronage and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    638
    187
    70
    53
    27
See reviews for
176
387
29
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I traditionally spend the night at a hotel in our hometown to celebrate our anniversary. We usually stay either at the Ritz-Carlton or the Windsor Court. The last visit to the Windsor Court had been a tad disappointing, but I checked the website and the renovations looked fabulous. I made my reservation on line and requested a river-view. We were slated for a "junior suite." Well, I believe they upgraded us to a full suite, they helped arrange for red roses and Veuve Cliquot as a surprise from my husband. We had the most delicious breakfast the next day. All of the waitstaff were delightful. We will return for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Travelers072,

Thank you for writing about your recent visit to our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to assist you in having the 'Best Anniversary Ever'! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion. We appreciate your continued patronage over the years and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went to the Windsor Court with another couple to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. We entered to a huge display of roses and a lovely concierge. We were upgraded from the Junior Suite to the King Suite. It was huge and very well appointed. We have stayed in plenty of high end hotels and this hotel is on par with the Ritz Carltons which we love but this hotel has the advantage of being smaller and more quaint. The manager sent up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for my husband's birthday which was an amazing gesture! The breakfasts were amazing but know that it takes a VERY long time for room service (at least 45 minutes so plan in advance). There is always live jazz at night to sit and relax before or after dinner. Overall, great experience. I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: King Suite is amazing but was very big for just one couple. Can always choose junior size and I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Pandabearbow,

Thank you for writing about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am so happy to hear that we could provide your husband with such a memorable 40th birthday celebration! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back for many more memorable visits to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Louisiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Took my wife and two daughters down to The "Big Easy" for the weekend and a Saints game. They booked a "Holiday Tea" in the lobby of the Windsor Court. It was a special mother-daughter event. The hotel is first class and the staff is exceptional. They went out of their way to accommodate and make us feel welcome.
All of the staff addressed us by name from the bellman to the valet. It made it that much more special.

We will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Bigmeaux56,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay in New Orleans with us. I am so delighted to hear we provided you and your family with the perfect weekend getaway! We pride ourselves on providing the highest of personalized service, so I'm happy you were able to experience that. Thank you for your patronage - we look forward to providing you with another memorable experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This amazing historical hotel has the best high tea we have ever attended...elegant, lobby sitting room, harpist (or other professional musician), amazing selection of teas & 3 course trays of beautifully prepared & presented delicious delights...not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear gb7ihla,

Thank you for posting about your recent visit to Le Salon for Afternoon Tea. We agree that our Afternoon Tea is something very special and not to be missed. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others and look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great visit to a marvelous hotel. The staff is excellent and the service is about the best I've had around the globe. I traveled a lot while working and I have to say that the Windsor Court is one of my favorites. Its within walking distance of most French Quarter sights. The beds are very comfortable and the surroundings are very well done. I try to stay here whenever in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor just for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear lomax7006,

Thank you for writing such a nice review about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. We are thrilled to hear such a seasoned travel such as yourself considers us a favorite. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Windsor Court for four nights over Thanksgiving weekend. We had a junior suite as did our daughter, husband, and two year old son. The rooms have recently been redecorated, and are lovely. The furnishings are traditional, and in excellent taste, with soothing colors. The marble bath includes Molton Brown toiletries and plenty of large white towels. We had two large flat screen tvs, one in the bedroom, and another in the living area. Really enjoyed having a balcony for a breath of fresh air as well as view of the Mississippi with all the shipping traffic.

We thoroughly enjoyed having drinks in the lobby, and the second floor bar. Our kids had an excellent breakfast in the dining room.

Everything about this hotel is upscale and elegant. The staff are consistently friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. In parts of New Orleans it is likely you will see outrageous people behaving badly, as well as a lot of tacky. It is such a joy to return to the hotel, and be surrounded by calm and beauty. I love New Orleans, and loved our stay at the Windsor Court. This will be our hotel choice for every return visit.

Room Tip: very much enjoyed having a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear stray,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear we could be a part of a memorable Thanksgiving weekend! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back here with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.