We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“polo club lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
charlstonsc
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“polo club lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

lovely bar/club. went for a pre-dinner drink before our reservations at August restaurant across the street. good service, nice atmosphere and relaxing live music. pricey, but worth it and in retrospect, wish we would have just stayed here and ate more of there nuts/snacks with our drinks instead of spending major bucks at August !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear kimjohnjuly,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Polo Club Lounge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere, the Polo Club Lounge is so legendary for. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable evening on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    636
    187
    70
    53
    27
See reviews for
176
385
29
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In October my two sisters and three cousins decided to have our yearly weekend away in New Orleans. Two of the six of us had been there before. The Windsor Court was highly rated and we weren't disappointed. We had comfortable suites, service was very good. If there is any room for improvement it would be that from the beginning we were to be three people in each room. The room was serviced for two. I don't think that should be difficult to know how many of a party are arriving. We had to call for additional of everything. Towels, face clothes, slippers, coffee mug, glasses, everything. I think that would show great attention to detail. The only other issue would be we had asked a woman at the concierge desk to make a reservation for us. She never called to let us know if we had a reservation. I don't think either of these issues would have me change my rating from excellent to very good because overall this is better than very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear palomino62,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am delighted to hear we could be a part of your annual family get together; however, I apologize for a couple of the shortcomings you experienced. These experiences are certainly not indicative of the service we are able to provide, so I will ensure these departments are addressed appropriately. We appreciate your past and future patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the friendly greetings of the beel staff, to the helpful reception desk, it's a well located, service oriented luxury hotel. Spacious rooms (ask for one with a balcony), great restaurant, fun bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear camdeca,

Thank you for writing about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your positive remarks and are happy to hear we provided a delightful oasis for you while in New Orleans. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the Windsor Court and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The rooms have been beautifully renovated and are well suited to its traditional background - though not our usual preference in decor. I agree with some of the other comments re. inconsistent cleaning of rooms. Another negative was a charge to use the refrigerator. But these were minor issues and not enought to mar our experience.

The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous. Food at The Grill was superb as were the breakfasts. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear MoMoCow,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am happy to hear that our staff, food and renovated rooms provided a memorable stay for you. While you're oceans away, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another fabulous stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As others have stated this is a beautiful, grand hotel. The service was impeccable. Several staff remembered our names, remembered it was my first time there. The bar upstairs was elegant and well-tended, but not stuffy. The rooms (we had a suite) were large. What prevents me from providing a 5-star rating was the room service and maid service. Our room service (for lunch - a salad and a pizza) was promised in 30 minutes; but it took over an hour to be delivered. We had called and they said the waiter was walking up. Another 10 minutes passed. By the time it was delivered, the (very large) shrimp on my salad was cold, the salad itself was mushy from sitting in the dressing too long. The pizza was not good. The maid service came by early one morning and we were not ready to leave yet, so we asked her to come back. We left to have breakfast, spent time walking through the antique stores, had our fortunes read, but when we returned, our room was not done. We received a phone call that they would be back at 4pm. We left a little before 4pm and returned at 5pm and the room was still not done. The room does have a Keurig coffee maker, but I had to wash out the cups, they didn't look washed and there were stains on the bottom of the cup. When you get ice, they don't put in a liner. The ice bucket was not cleaned (which I noticed the next morning after the ice had melted). Although these are minor complaints individually, the combination was enough to impact my impression of this hotel. BTW - the spa was great!!

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor with the river view. It was incredibly noisy even with windows and doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear MotherHen,

Thank you for writing about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am happy to hear that, overall, you had a pleasant stay and that our staff in particular wowed you with our personalized service. I am disappointed, however, to hear about the deficiencies you experienced; I will certainly look into what happened. I apologize that we did not provide you with that perfect stay and hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back for the experience you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed six nights at the Windsor Court Hotel while attending a meeting in NOLA. The hotel location is very convenient, and by and large the staff was very accommodating. We were in a suite which was a great room and had plenty of space. However there were several irritations that you do not expect when spending the amount of money per night that you do for this hotel.
House keeping was consistently poor in terms of thoroughness. Cups were not replaced, one day the bath mat was missing as were some towels, dirty glasses and bottles were not removed, and a towel turban my wife uses to dry her hair was removed.
The bathroom suffers slightly in that this is an older hotel and the tub/shower is of an older design. This is quite slippery which can be easily solved with the addition of rubber mat for the tub.
Our first night we begged and cajoled to get into the dining room although we had no reservation. After the hostess talked to the dining room manager, and with some wringing of hands they were able to seat us, for which we were grateful, and had a great meal. However, as the restaurant was less than half full for the entire evening, we didn't understand the fuss about getting a table.
We will certainly consider the Windsor Court for our next visit, but we will probably look at other hotels as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear davidknoxvilletn,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent visit to our hotel. I am disappointed to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations and I apologize that we let you down. I will address the appropriate departments about the incidents you described as these are not typical of the grand Windsor Court experience we are able to provide. We would like to continue to welcome you here as our guest, so please do not hesitate to contact my office directly the next time you are visiting the New Orleans area and I'll be happy to ensure all is perfect for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Widsor court takes its name from Windsor Castle in England and you can picture the Queen sleeping here. We stayed in a King Suite room that was very Victorian in decor. The Bed was GREAT and the ammenities were above par. The Hotel bars and Resturaunt were terrific. Good entertainment and Great drinks. Also a daily afternoon tea sitting that was fun to see women with their big hats enjoying.Food was not cheap but very good. Right across the street from the casino if you want to get in some gaming. I think my only complaint was the availability of ice. No machines so you had to call for some and many times it took 10-15 mins. to get. You also felt obliged to tip the guy so you basically paying for ice. Also thought the suite should have a fridge so you can store some leftovers of all the good NOLA foods you eat. I would also mention that this is a grand hotel and NOT a trendy one so if you want modern decor and trendy bars this isn't your place. If you want to be treated like a King or Queen...this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Al L,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to New Orleans. I am so pleased to hear we made you feel like royalty and that our team was able to provide you with a positive service experience. In regards to your suggestion about refrigerators, we actually do have mini refrigerators we are happy to place in guest rooms upon request, so just let the reservationist know the next time you make your reservation and we will take care of that for you. Thank you for past and future patronage - we look forward to welcoming you back here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;