We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Struck!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Star Struck!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

"Oh boy! What a trip". I will remember this trip forever. This is one of my favorite trips I have enjoyed. On this trip, we stayed at the Windsor Court. The Windsor Court is perfectly located between the convention center and bourbon street. Also, it is not to far from the super dome. As my family and I were walking around our hotel, we visited the gym and low and behold we saw The Crew's Family (Rebecca and Terry Crew) walking on the treadmill. Rebecca said, "She was walking off her beignets". What a treat! And then later, we saw the whole Crew Family even their granddaughter "Miley" inside the pool from our room. Also, we got to see Steve Harvey and his wife(she is very beautiful) in the lobby, as they were getting ready to go out and enjoy the night. Also, we saw Mathew Knowles (Beyonce's dad) in the lobby get ready to get on the elevator. Other people said, Tina Knowles was staying there too, but we did not see her. This hotel has a club level which was being rennovated and they moved the club level to the lobby and closed off space for the people who were part of the club level. This is why we are hanging out in the lobby and seeing stars come and go. Next year, the club level will be back up on the 21st floor and you can see Louisiana and the Mississippi River. This hotel has an assortment of flowers all over the low level of the hotel. It smells divine. The workers are very nice at this hotel and very helpful. Also, we saw alot of other stars on this trip up close and in-persons at the Convention Center, like the Basketball wives and ATL Housewives. Can you guest why we saw so many celebrates? THE ESSENCE FESTIVAL!!! We would differently recommend this hotel to our family and friends. A lot of stars stay here doing the Essence Festival. Now, you can understand my title.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Tonya531,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at the Windsor Court. We were truly delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure that each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one.

Your recommendation of The Windsor Court is very important to us and we thank you for being a fan. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    179
    70
    53
    27
See reviews for
169
373
28
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We visited NOLA for the first time this year in July for three nights and chose to stay at the Windsor Court due to its reputation as one of the best and the great user reviews.

The hotel is in a fabulous location, one of the best. It's only a few feet from the French Quarter but out of the section so it's nice and quiet. The staff are very, very friendly and professional and they definitely try to deliver a 5 star result.

Now we decided not to go with the Club level but went with a Junior Suite instead (this was, after all, a 4 week holiday). When we arrived around noon the front desk moved quickly to get us a room and prevent a wait to check-in. But when we saw the room it looked like a bad 80s Days Inn - with the tacky switch activated pop-up CRT TV cabinet I was tempted to look for a quarter slot to vibrate the bed on command. But what I really wanted was a river view so we requested a different room with a view and the front desk again were very accommodating and after a short wait we had a room with a great river view. But again, it was incredibly dated and out of repair - torn carpet, stains, and the balcony door could only be opened by a very strong person. I know they're renovating but based on management response to reviews this has been going on since 2007 and was supposed to be a three year program. But the real kicker was that the room bordered the elevator shaft and it truly sounded like Grand Central Station 24x7. On the one hand, we asked for a different room with a view so I didn't complain as the move was our choice. On the other hand, why do they have expensive, unrenovated junior suites without any sort of sound proofing? A warning might have been nice. Our only saving grace was a few Hurricanes each night - which wore off by 6am and we were laying awake guessing which elevator was running to which floor.

When this place is sound proofed and fully renovated it will be simply fantastic. Until then, make 100% sure that your room has had the full treatment or be prepared for a bit of disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear jvachon,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you recently. At Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every guest.

I appreciate the positive feedback regarding the staff as southern hospitality comes naturally. We are addressing the shortcomings of the room during our renovation process. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope that you will make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at a junior suite, which was very large but needed some updates. The window treatments collapsed when we opened the curtains. The kitchenette's appliances and utensils have been there since the 70's! The sad refrigerator was so loud it woke me up a couple of times. The public areas are nice and the restaurants and room service were good. Snobby front desk staff. Not worth the price tag.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear aracne63,

Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to New Orleans. At Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every guest. I was troubled to read about the service inconsistencies during your most recent stay. You have my most sincere apologies and I have taken the steps to see that it doesn't happen again. Please know that we are addressing the shortcomings of the rooms during our renovation process.

We hope that you will reconsider and make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel twice for business within a 4 month time frame. It is fantastic. The rooms are huge, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is the kindest I have ever known. The location is great for convention center or Cafe Dumonde! The have a fantastic restaurant and bar onsite and the pool area is amazing too. I have only wonderful things to say about this hotel. While I was traveling for business this hotel met all my needs, but I loved it so much I would go back with my family as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear kvbmcrae,

Thank you for the high praise of a fantastic stay. We were truly delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure that each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband was in New Orleans for business and I went to relax, do some shopping but mainly hang out by the pool and read! We absolutely loved this hotel! The staff treated us like royalty. When we checked in were were told be would need to change rooms in a couple of days due to renovations. We were told we would be upgraded. We were put in a three room suite and come "moving day" we were put in a five room suite! Plus we were given a $100 discount. The staff was very friendly and eager to answer our questions. By far the nicest hotel we have stayed in and we travel quite often.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Mommabulldog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience and for your patience during our renovation. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that we exceeded your expectations! We take extreme pride in delivering world class service with a touch of charm.

We hope that you will make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I spent three fabulous nights at the historic and beautiful Windsor Court (our first visit and hopefully one of many more in the future). It's understated sophistication and style and always attentive but not bothersome staff reminded us of the best of the European gem hotels in which we have been fortunate to stary as well as the Mansion on Turtle Creek in Dallas. A sense of calm and contentment was felt immediately upon entering the front door and it never ended during our stay. All guest rooms/suites are in the midst of extensive rennovation (expected to be completed in December, 2011). As to be expected, construction brings challenges to staff and some inconvenience to guests. To the great credit of management and staff, the inconveniences were recognized and minimized and our needs were accomodated without question. When in New Orleans, we will not consider staying elsewhere. We have only been home one day and already miss it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Travelers77007,

Thank you for the high praise of a fabulous stay. We were truly delighted to learn that we had exceeded your expectations from our prime location and gracious service levels rendered by our colleagues.

Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure that each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, LA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Been to New Orleans for business and pleasure many times. After visiting many other hotels in the City, I've come back to the Windsor Court. It's the best.

The staff is fabulous. You are treated like Royalty by everyone.

The bar is one of the best in the city.

Great fitness center.

The location is fabulous. During Mardi Gras, parades are just outside your window.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Jccminden,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that the service provided by our staff and management exceeded your expectations!

We take extreme pride in delivering world class service with a touch of charm. Whether for business or leisure, we strive to treat all guests like royalty.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.