We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Best Hotel in North America, but . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not The Best Hotel in North America, but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Still a pretty good hotel (but probably not in the New Orleans top 5). The location is about as good as you can ask for if you are not a college student. Close enough to the Quarter area, but in the much quieter, but still interesting, Warehouse District. The rooms were quite large, but are badly in need of updating for a hotel of this reputation. Our room also had a troubling moldy smell at times. Tea in the lobby is quite nice, but the bar upstairs is probably the hotel's best feature. The perfect place to share a drink or meet friends. The staff is gracious and helpful, as they should be. The pricing is also attractive, and less that you would pay for similar quality in other cities. A good hotel, just not world class.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear BlindTom,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you recently. At Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every guest.

I appreciate the positive feedback regarding the staff as southern hospitality comes naturally. We will be addressing the shortcomings of the room during our renovation process. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope that you will make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    179
    70
    53
    27
See reviews for
169
373
28
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We spent the weekend in New Orleans-our first getaway without kids in many years. The weekend was wonderful and a big reason was the staff at the Windsor Court. Everyone we encountered was fantastic: from the manager David Teich to the housekeeping staff that gave us our nightly turndown service and everyone in between! The hotel is beautiful, we also did not see any of the worn down conditions that have been mentioned. If you go to New Orleans, you must stay at the Windsor Court!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear travelmom2323,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that the service provided by our staff and management exceeded your expectations!

We take extreme pride in delivering world class service with a touch of charm. Whether for business or leisure, we strive to treat all guests like royalty.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

read about this hotel in Architectural Digest and decided to stay...just a wonderful
experience. Lovely courtyard,lobby full of flowers just wonderful and great staff.
I was visiting for my birthday with my husband and he was
very impressed with the service and even had early tea with me...must do.
This is not a flat screen modern hotel, this hotel is old world service and charm.
We never opened a door, our suite was great and the hotel is quiet (NO BANGING DOORS) so you sleep like a baby. Will recommend to all.
Mrs. S Roulhac, Philadelphia

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear aprilbaby1946,

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Court and for sharing your experience. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your experience and felt the warm hospitality of the staff.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This package was 500.00 for two nights including a lavish four course Easter brunch which i8ncluded a full bar and all gratuities.We stayed in a REAL suite and the package cost was inclusive of everything, including tax. The bill came to a flat 500.00, no hidden costs are tag ons. And the hotel is one of the finest in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Johniehank,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable!

We hope that you will make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We just returned from our stay in New Orleans for our anniversary and stayed at the Windsor Court. Everything was what we expected in a five star hotel. It was elegant and the staff was very courteous attending to every minute detail. We were very impressed and will definitely return when visiting the Crescent City!

Room Tip: Riverview and club level is the very best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Windsor Court and for sharing your experience. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your experience and felt the warm hospitality of the staff.

We are very happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My daughter and I just returned from 4 days in New Orleans. We had gone down to visit Tulane University and I was trying to decide if I wanted to stay downtown or closer to the university. I chose downtown at the Windsor Court and I could not have made a better choice. When it comes to hotels, I can be a bit of a prima donna. Come to think of it, so can my daughter! So I was a bit taken back by the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. Our experience at the Windsor Court Hotel was fabulous from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. In fact the great service was evident prior to our arrival., I communicated with Pam Lambert at the hotel for our booking and she was wonderful to deal with.
The hotel has a quiet elegance - a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street. We had a full suite and it was beautiful. It wasn't worn and tattered as previous reviews had said. Perhaps our room had been updated. I don't know. I just know that we were extremely comfortable and well rested. My daughter said that she slept better there than at home. We ordered room service a few times and the service was spot on: friendly, efficient and the food was delicious. They thought of everything including the white linens and flowers.
We dined in The Grill Room one evening and one morning and both meals were amazing. Our server at breakfast was Adam and he was knowledgeable and extremely professional. He even gave us a card entitling us to complimentary sparkling wine with dinner later. As for dinner, I have a nut allergy and my daughter cannot eat meat and they were wonderfully accommodating. The amuse bouche was foie gras and topped with crushed cashews and because we were unable to eat it, the chef made us a special combination of fresh peas, pea sprouts, morels and fiddleheads. Delicious! The restaurant is very elegant but not at all stuffy. Our servers Mary and Billy were friendly and so very nice and of course the food was lovely.
Lastly we lounged by the pool for a few hours and again the young lady who worked the deck was great and the loungers and pool great.
I can't stop burbling about how wonderful the Windsor Court was and I am secretly hoping that my daughter chooses to attend Tulane so I can get back to NOLA and to the Windsor Court Hotel again and again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Canoftomatosoup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that the service provided by our staff and management exceeded your expectations!

We take extreme pride in delivering world class service with a touch of charm. Whether for business or leisure, we strive to treat all guests like royalty.

We are happy to hear that you have made the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

To put this review in perspective, I've stayed at the Windsor Court for Mardi Gras every year since Katrina. As a member of one of the large Krewes, we travel to N.O. every year and have previously enjoyed the Windsor Court. We've overlooked the "oldness," things like the exhaust vents having an inch of dust on them and the worn carpet because it's a great location and the rooms are normally large. For further perspective, my friend and I have been responsible for referring multiple people to stay at this hotel. When people join us at Mardi Gras and fly in we've always said stay here. My friend had just brought his family there over Christmas as well and has stayed there several other times on business. There has been untold dollars spent at this hotel based on our stay.

This year we arrived as usual, payed $320 a night not including fees and walked into our room and it literally felt like a closet. We didn't even know they had these rooms at "an all suite hotel." That is a quote from one of the staff when we inquired about our room and how we ended up in something smaller than the La Quinta at double the price. Our inquiries were met with a complete indifference mainly from the manager on staff who even went so far as to question whether I had stayed there every year since 2005. They plain and simple, did not care that we had spent our hard earned money there and been very loyal customers.

Here's the rest. As has been mentioned many times already, the TV remote could change channels on the very outdated "Motel 6" TV, but it could not turn the TV on and off. You had to get out of bed to do that. In room free coffee was never refilled at this "4 star hotel." We asked three times and finally someone brought it. The plunger in the sink would not close when my friend wanted to put in his contacts and didn't want to lose one down the sink. He pushed it down and then it wouldn't open so the sink later filled up with water. When the maid came in, she pulled the plunger out completely and left it sitting on the sink until we checked out 2 days later.

It would have been easy for the management of the Windsor Court to make us feel a little better about a very substandard stay for a very expensive room. Access to Club Level, discount next year, dinner or whatever. They could have done something but they couldn't care less. Two different managers on two different days. We asked about the room professionally and respectfully and were met with complete indifference. We are the type of people that are loyal but expect the same in return. If not and as you can expect, we will never stay there again. They could have had 20 more years from us and our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear DC2128,

Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to New Orleans. As a repeat guest you know that at Windsor Court we strive to create a memorable and special experience for each and every guest. I was troubled to read about the service inconsistencies during your most recent stay. You have my most sincere apologies and I have taken the steps to see that it doesn't happen again.

We hope that you will reconsider and make the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.