We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and smart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #91 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean and smart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location near to everything (5 minutes walk to Bourbon street- if that's your thing!), right by Riverwalk. Clean, good size room, friendly staff, especially wanted to thank Don on the front door, extremely helpful and friendly. Good breakfasts, the evening menu was changing whilst I was there and did not get to try it. Bar shuts at 11pm which with a huge conference in town meant they just gave that business to someone else. I will return.

Room Tip: Great views high up facing the Mississippi- ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    321
    199
    79
    41
See reviews for
168
241
40
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our second stay here. We like the location of the hotel for exploring the French Quarter, museums etc. Our room on the 15th floor was very comfortable with a lovely view. It would be nice to see a few more amenities in the room like cotton buds, shower cap etc. though. Apart from that our stay was very pleasant and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Westin Canal Place is a in a great location for all New Orleans has to offer. It is close enough to the Convention Center, Outlet Mall, very close to Jackson Square and the French Quarter, and shares space with the Shops at Canal Place. Our room had a grand view of the Mississippi River, but I thought that the rooms needed a touch of paint fresh-up. The decor was simple contemporary, and could use some color. The staff was friendly and polite. I found the location by the trains and boats on the river to be a bit noisy. Plus, there seemed to be construction on the roof which began early in the morning.

Room Tip: There are train and boat whistles close by, and construction was happening on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Greetings,

Thank you for sharing some notes from your experience with us and we truly appreciate the nice comments about our staff. We are all eager to deliver personal and caring service to our guests as we welcome them to their home away from home.

We were working on a few things while you were with us on the roof which have been resolved. I apologize that you noticed this, as we did not think this would be the case. While this work is complete, we are working to improve on a daily basis and I am sure that you will notice some of these enhancements on your next visit with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decajun45
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here when we went to New Orleans for Navy Week. I only have great things to say about the place and the staff.

From the time we pulled in to the entrance to checkout, everyone was extremely nice and helpful. We travel with our chiweenie and by the evening of the first night, most of the valets knew him by name. The afternoon after our first night, someone came by to make sure our room had been made up. That impressed us.

The views from the lobby are unbelievable, with the Mississippi and French Quarter right there. Our room had views of downtown, which is beautiful at night. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but I still slept great. It's quiet even though you are in a major city.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, because we ate in the quarter. But the menus looked great. Wifi was decent. Not great but it served its purpose.

One great thing is that the hotel is attached to the Canal Place shopping center, so when it started pouring in New Orleans, we went down and shopped.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Greetings,

Thanks for sharing the nice comments from your recent stay with us. Our team was delighted in knowing the impact they had on your stay with us. We can't wait to do it all over again.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a fantastic room with a beautiful view of the Mississippi River and the French Quarter. It's location was right at the beginning of the French Quarter and was close to everything we wanted to do. The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean and of course, it had our favorite bed......The Westin Heavenly bed.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 days ago
JVMurph,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. It was good to read about your positive experience and that you liked your room and the service our housekeeping team provided. I will make sure they see your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently spent 4 nights at the Westin Canal Place for Jazz Fest. We had never been to New Orleans, and I am a fan of Westin, so friends who know the area recommended it as a nice place to stay that was away from all the congestion, but close enough to walk almost anywhere. They were right. Overall this is a very nice hotel. The positives include 1) Location - within walking distance to French Quarter and all the action, but far enough away from all the noise to get a good night’s sleep. 2) Amenities - modern throughout, including a nicely equipped gym, a decent rooftop pool, a large parking structure and direct access to nicer mall-type shopping below. We made a daily stop at Starbucks, and shopped Francesca’s and Anthropologie. 3) Aesthetics - what a view! Cancel Place nearly sits on the banks of the Mississippi. You can have a river view or a city view - both are lovely. We requested a room overlooking the river, which is the same view from the 11th floor lobby/lounge. Gorgeous! 4) Food - I only ate in the hotel twice, but I recommend the Club sandwich via the room service menu, and the breakfast buffet - both were delish. The negatives: Unfortunately there was one big negative - the service. I have never felt more invisible in my life. We were paying top dollar during Jazz Fest - probably 2.5 times the normal nightly rate - but I was not greeted, helped, or advised at any time. With one exception - a bellman at the door who swore I was traveling with a celebrity - we were basically ignored. Needless to say our tipping was minimal. It’s aggravating in a service-related industry to get no service. Oh well, enough said on that topic. It was the only damper on an otherwise perfect first trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for your positive review of your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We hope you enjoyed your first visit to our city and to JazzFest. We're also glad you upgraded to a Deluxe River View Room. They are $30.00 more per night but certainly well-worth it.

We certainly understand your frustration and are sorry to hear that you didn't receive outstanding service from the staff. Our team works hard to make a personal connection with our guests and even though the two JazzFest weekends are among our most busy, there is no excuse for the lack of service that you described.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you on a return visit and I'll be sure to share your comments with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We normally stay in a small hotel near Bourbon St but this time I wanted a nice room that was clean and updated and that is exactly what we got. The staff is polite, room clean with a view of the river and the price is the same as the other smaller hotels. We really enjoyed our stay and will return when we want modern and clean!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place! Our entire team is delighted to have delivered upon the experience you were hoping for during your visit with us. Our majestic river views and location are truly one of a kind in our unique city, but we are most proud when our staff is positively mentioned in our guests feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to share with us and other travelers. We can not wait to see you again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.