We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient And what a view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #95 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient And what a view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The view from the 11th floor lobby is breath taking! You can see up the Mississippi River. Stayed the weekend--food and bar were very nice. Great location and the staff was very friendly. Room was okay but the bed was extra nice. Adjacent to the high end mall and across from Harrahs. A short walk and you are in the French quarter.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    288
    185
    74
    38
See reviews for
153
222
34
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were forced to stay at the Westin a second time because our favorite (Hilton River) was booked. Again the hotel is staffed with a some people who have an attitude and when you are spending that kind of money, you expect decent service. No ice on 7 floors that we checked? Come on, They should be able to do better than that. When we requested ice from from front desk, no "I'm sorry".....just rude response..."We'll have it there in 20-30 minutes". Also, don't expect to get change. They sent us to the bar and the bartender didn't even check if she had change. Just said "I can't change a $50". Again, no "I'm sorry". I will say that the concierge had to best attitude and offered to help in any way she could. She expedited the ice delivery. She was good, but don't think we will stay at the Westin again if we have options.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Westin was located centrally, in walking distance from Bourbon Street, across the street from Harrah's Casino, and on top of a nice mall, with Lululemon, Saks, BCBG and other great stores.
It is also a 10 minute walking distance from the Riverwalk Outlet Mall.

The rooms were large, clean and impeccable service from the concierge, cleaning staff and doormen. The lobby has the most breathtaking view of the Mississippi river. The only downside is that getting to the rooms took 2 separate elevators, which got a little annoying.

We were in town for a conference and paid $209/night in November. Celebrities (who shall remain nameless) were in town for various events and also stayed in the hotel too. I ran into 2 of them in the lobby and elevator. When I'm in town, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 4 days ago
What a nice review! Thanks for your business and your endorsement. Our location seems to always get the strong marks and the view of the river is the best anywhere, but it was good to read the recognition you gave our team members. They work hard to provide the best possible service to our guests. We receive feedback about the two elevator banks from time to time, but it is certainly much more secure than if Canal Place visitors had direct access to guest floors. Finally, I'm sure the celebrities appreciate you keeping their identity confidential. We certainly value their business as well.

We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You can't ask for a better location and view than this hotel, but a few kinks during my stay caused me to rate this at a 3. I received two wake up calls at approx. 5 am and they were for the wrong room. I was comped a meal for this inconvenience, but it should be noted. One of the staff did not know how to take off charges for one of my room service meals, but she told me to sign the receipt and her supervisor would take care of it (The jury is still out as of the time of this review). There were also reports of mold in the stairwell, but I cannot confirm this.
On a good note, I went to but deodorant at a late hour and the man at the front desk (I wish I would have gotten a name) didn't have change so he comped for me. Nice gesture.

Room Tip: Ask for a window overlooking the Mississippi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From check in until check out we had the very best experience. Everything about the room was just shy of perfection. Decor, comfort & luxury in an exquisite setting. All within walking distance of everything. It's my new go to place every time I'm there. Already looking forward to April

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for your endorsement and feedback on your stay. We look forward to your next visit. I hope you'll make time to stop by The Green Bar for a specialty cocktail, as it has been updated since your stay in September.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin is a hotel that keeps its promises and we got what we expected. Our room was spacious and clean, with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom (that being said, I thought the shower was not great for a hotel of that standard). The large windows provided an unrestricted view on the Mississippi river. It was too cold and windy when we were there, but there is also a nice rooftop pool.

The service at the hotel was impeccable and everyone was helpful. We only had breakfast there but it was delicious. My only complaint would be that breakfast should either be included with the rooms (after all, the rooms are expensive enough!) or cheaper. Spending $20-30 for breakfast seems a bit extravagant, even at the Westin.

Of course the location is great. The hotel is inside a shopping mall, very close to another mall and within walking distance from the aquarium and French quarter.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Froglita.

Thanks for your review of your visit to our The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct in that our breakfast buffet is in the price range you mentioned. We also offer a delicious menu of a la carte options that are priced lower than the buffet. We are excited to be launching our new fresh juice bar soon, which will be another great addition to our breakfast offerings. We hope you'll return one day to try it out.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic view, very nice and polite personnell, wonderful rooms and an excellent location ! One minute walk to the French Quarter, three minutes to the Riverwalk Outlet Collection stores (quite big mall with a lot of clothing and stuff), one minute walk to the ferry, two minutes to the riverboat, posh shopping centre and cinemas in same building. If I ever go to New Orleans again (and can afford it), I'll stay at the Westin on Canal Place.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there.

Thanks for choosing The Westin New Orleans Canal Place on your recent visit. We value our international travelers and are glad that you found our staff members to be pleasant. You seem to have summed-up our location perfectly. We hope you'll return to our city again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.