We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #94 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We originally considered staying closer to Bourbon Street and now am so glad we chose Westin! It's situated just 2 blocks from the party and is a lovely, quiet, comfy quiet oasis to rest! The hotel is modern, high rise, lovely river views, rooftop pool, and quiet comfy bed and room. I recommend for my friends!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    273
    173
    71
    36
See reviews for
142
209
33
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our third time to stay in this hotel. We visit New Orleans once or twice a year, and this hotel has worked the best for us out any so far! We stayed in the Governor's suite this time. The space was great, since we were traveling with kids, and the view was amazing! Some of the furniture was a little dated, but that wasn't really an issue for us. Our favorite thing about this hotel is the great location! I love being right on the edge of everything. Convenient to French Quarter, riverfront, Harrah's, plenty of dining, shopping, etc. Friendly staff, beautiful hotel, convenient location, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Westin Canal Place is perched right on the edge of the Riverwalk, the French Quarter, and the downtown area with easy access to the Warehouse District. The lowest floor that you can get a room is the 15th floor (below the hotel rooms is a shopping mall, parking, and the lobby) so most of the rooms have great views, esp. the ones that face the river and the French Quarter.

The price was reasonable. I was surprised it was less expensive than the Sheraton on Canal. I think this is a better location and generally the Westin brand is a higher end brand - but maybe that Sheraton was more recently renovated.

I have stayed at many different hotels in New Orleans, from ones right smack in the French Quarter, to ones on Canal Street, and one nearer to the Warehouse District. I like the Westin's location because it is a little removed from the chaos that is the French Quarter after dark. But that also means it has a little less character. This hotel is very much a Westin. Smells like their signature white tea scent when you walk in; great customer service; modern, serene decor. The lobby is very attractive with huge windows that make it bright and airy and look out onto the river.

The rooms are standard Westin fare. Modern, large enough, with a good desk to work at. My only complaint is that the one sitting chair in my room is not particularly comfortable and seriously FILTHY. Very un-Westinlike. At first I was looking forward to sitting on the chair looking out the window, but seriously I don't even want to imagine what has gone on in that chair. It is supposed to be a cream color and it is riddled with stains. Very surprising because otherwise the room is very clean and nicely decorated. When you first walk in the room there is tile, which I much prefer to carpet which has a tendency to get nasty over time. But the carpet that is in the room looks clean.

There is a Starbucks at street level and a 24 hour gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the River and the French Quarter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, yesterday
Thanks for taking time to provide a review of your experience at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place! Many of our guests agree that the location enables you to enjoy all of the sites, wonderful restaurants, and French Quarter without the congestion.

Our prices vary based on demand and many other factors. If you catch us at the right time, you may find a price that you consider to be a great deal. I would like to acknowledge your comment about the chair in the guestroom. We have ordered a new chair for the guestrooms and they'll be in the rooms soon. We think guests will like the new design.

We appreciate your business and certainly hope you'll return someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Westin for a business trip. The hotel lobby has the best view of the Mississippi River and part of the French Quarter. Rooms were clean, as were the meeting locations. Great location, as it is a relatively walk to anything you may need or want to go to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, yesterday
We're glad you had a nice stay and I hope your still found plenty of time to explore the French Quarter.

You advised others to ask for a view of the river. Great tip! For those interested, look for Deluxe River View rooms at westin.com. They are a $20-$30 upgrade and well worth it! Best views in the city!

Thanks for your stay and for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland,CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place....is a great place to stay...right by the river...get a river room view..Nice short walk to French Quarters..The staff was great...the we ate breakfast every morning and you could ask for nicer people..they knew us by name...We had apperitzers in the bar and they were great!! Everyone was willing to help you.. Thank You!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, yesterday
We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while in New Orleans. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to the breakfast team in River 127. They love being recognized on Trip Advisor! Surely, you didn't see all there is to see and do in once visit so we hope you'll make time to return someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here while my husband had a conference in town. Good location near the quarter, you can walk to most places in 10 minutes. Don't bother with the food or bar, room service was terrible. It isn't the best Westin I have been to but the price is right and the view at night from the lobby is beautiful and the staff are accommodating.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello! Our staff will be glad to receive your compliments. I'll also make sure to share your comments regarding room service with our culinary and room service team.

Thanks for taking time to share your experience at The Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If your looking for a great place to stay in New Orleans, this hotel is hard to beat. It's location is perfect to explore the French Quarter, gamble at Harrah's, shop at the malls, hop a trolley to explore the Garden District or City Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the fantastic review of your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We hope you'll return soon since surely you didn't have time to enjoy everything our city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, AAA Travel Services, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.