We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Talladega, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wonderful location! I really enjoyed my room, the view, and how beautiful the hotel is! I stayed on the 16th floor. Imagine my surprise when I came down the elevator to leave this morning and was greeted by firefighters and police. I thought the building was on fire. I went straight to my car and checked my phone for the news. Apparently there was a hostage situation on the 17th floor. The news said the hotel had notified the guests inside the hotel. I never heard anyone come to my door or call. So sad that people have to act so crazy. Thankful no one else got hurt. You know- I never heard the gunfire or anything. That's how quite and peaceful my room was! (That's actually a good thing!!!) Looking forward to staying here again. Loved the Green Bar as well. The bartenders there are a lot of fun!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello. Thank you for taking time to publish a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The safety of our guests and associates is of utmost importance and we took necessary action while working closely with the first response teams, who arrived within minutes of the initial call. We are grateful for how professionally they handled the situation while we worked to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

We strive to maintain a comfortable experience for everyone. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your time with us over the weekend and hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    280
    180
    73
    37
See reviews for
149
218
33
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent location, spectacular view. The views from the room or the rooftop is amazing. The roof pool is cool since it is 29 stories up, but it is rather small and there is no hot tub. Older building, but definitely well maintained. Could us more elevators, as there was always a wait. Service was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Many thanks for the nice post. We're glad that you enjoyed your time at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. Since we're so close to family-oriented attractions, many families choose to stay with us when they visit the city. We're certainly happy that you chose us also.

I'll be sure to pass along your comments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good location , close to bourbon st and aquarium since we brought kids with us , room is clean enough but we checked in around 2 pm and about 20 mnts later one of the housekeeping knocked on our door and asking if we want our room to be cleaned , lol!! Really, and we told her we just checked in , she barely speak English , front desk agents need to improve their customer service skills , not friendly at all! No smile no greetings , nothing!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay and are glad that you liked the hotel. We are working to make sure all associates are attentive and friendly so your feedback is certainly valuable. I'll share your comments with our director of housekeeping. We hope you'll consider returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Have been coming here for the same convention the past several years. Wear and tear is really showing. I was on the 15th floor and my room was fine. Nothing fancy. But other associates on upper floors have complained of musty rooms. One friend who is highly sensitive to mold got sick. Common areas are in good repair, but guess rooms could use a serious update. Have stayed at other Westins where their signature scent kept the building smelling fresh. This one could use that touch.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and we sincerely appreciate your review. The signature white tea scent is present in our public areas although it is most noticeable in our lobby. I'll be sure to share your comments with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Room was stark but comfortable. Very quiet, with excellent bed and bedding. Wifi was a bit sluggish, and the bathroom countertop had a huge crack running from the sink to the front edge. I wonder what sort of life forms have taken up residence there.

Worst thing was no hot water when I went to take a shower on the only morning I stayed there. They responded and fixed the issue within a half hour. Unfortunately, I didn't have a half-hour to wait, so I got a cold shower and shave. Not a great way to start the morning. When I reminded the folks of the issue at check-out, the front desk person was apologetic, and credited the account in what I consider a decent amount for the discomfort.

Room Tip: Check the hot water supply before you go to bed, when there is still time to correct a shortage (or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello. Thank you for taking time to reply. I apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory and we appreciate you notifying our front desk staff members. I would like to pass along your remarks to my engineering staff, but before I do, would you mind emailing me your name and arrival/departure dates so that I can ensure that the room receives proper maintenance. We are constantly making improvements/ updates to our guestrooms and other areas of the hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated and helpful.

Regards,

Brian Atchison
Director, Sales & Marketing
brian.atchison@wesinneworleans.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was here for my birthday weekend. The hotel is great, the bed I didn't want to leave. The Westin isiimpressive and located close to all the hot spots. You must stay here!!! Classy, clean, affordable. Couldn't have chosen better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the nice review. The team works hard to deliver an exceptional experience for all guests. They'll be glad to hear your feedback when I share it with them. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

HORRIBLE customer service! Our AAU basketball team signed a contract in June for a set room rate and parking rate. When we arrived the last week in July, we were told that the parking deck was under new management and they could not honor the original contracted rate. How hard would it have been for the hotel to contact us about the parking rate change prior to us checking in? The reason that we chose The Westin over other hotels was due to the fact that they pushed their lower parking rates! They had no problem sending us emails about our upcoming visit but found it not necessary to contact us about a breach in our contract. Parking jumped from $18 per night to $29 dollars per night and oh by the way, each time you leave, you will be charged more! We spoke directly to our "sales guy" who set up our contract and he told us that he would call us back with a possible solution. Well, that was over a week ago and since my credit card has been charged for the full amount of our parking, I'm sure I will hear NOTHING from The Westin at Canal Place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Director of Sales at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Kelli,

Thank you for staying us and we sincerely appreciate your additional feedback regarding the increase in parking rates. The Canal Place garage is operated by Premium Parking, LLC (1010 Common Street, Suite 2950, New Orleans, LA). While the rates are consistent with other downtown New Orleans garages, our overnight guests are no longer afforded the discounted rate of $18.00 per day. We post the parking rates in our group contracts, but since we do not set the pricing, we also state that the rates are subject to change. Our websites have been updated to reflect the current pricing. Please let me know if you would like to discuss the matter further. We hope you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans.

Best regards,

Brian Atchison
Director of Sales & Marketing
504-553-5106
brian.atchson@westinneworleans.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.