We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #88 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Location location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

You're paying for the location to stay at this hotel. First off, it is located on top of a shopping mall. If you don't read all the signage close enough, you'll never find it to even check into. At 2:00am, after a ride in the elevator to nowhere, my wife and I found ourselves pulling our luggage aimlessly through a closed up mall. Fortunately, a security guard approached us asking what we were doing. He then explained how you have to take a certain set of elevators to the 11th floor to find the hotel. From there, you have to take another set of elevators up to your room. It's a big pain in the ___ to have to ride 2 sets of elevators every time you leave the hotel. With that said, the hotel is located at the bottom of Canal St. You are within walking distance of everything. The room was average and the breakfast buffet expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel have a great view of Jackson Square, the waterfront, the Mississ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience from your visit at Westin New Orleans. We're happy that you enjoyed our location, but understand that you had challenges with the transition from our high rise to low rise elevators. We appreciate your comments.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    323
    181
    88
    59
See reviews for
153
249
64
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Harrah's casino is across the street. Jackson square is 5-10 min walk as is Bourbon Street. The hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall with upscale stores. The hotel lobby is actually on the 11th floor! Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and beds were comfortable. Housekeeping neglected to restock coffee and enough towels. Rooms were cleaned late in the afternoon. Had to ask for more towels, coffee, shampoo etc. There was a desk and office chair in the room. A sitting chair and small table would be appreciated as their is ample room. Room needed updating. Because of its great location, I would stay here again if the price was reasonable. Don't miss the rooftop pool for great views of the Crescent City.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our great location. We apologize for the disappointing service you experienced from our Housekeeping staff. Your comments will assist us in improving our service in the future. We hope to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've stayed here hundreds of nights over the years. I also recently reviewed this property. First, I rarely get my faxes and true to form tonight my boarding pass was lost. I finally had to go to the front desk and get a personal email from A lovely front desk clerk who printed and handed to me. This is a hotel that needs a management reshuffle. I am here a few times each month for over ten years and I never see the same face at the front desk. I also eat regularly at the hotel, tonight in the only choice called the Green Bar, where they serve at night and not a true restaurant. It was so dark, no way to read menu or to see my meal when served. Asking why, I was told, "Corporate orders." Hmmm. My office is in this complex and it makes sense for my stays. Please get your act together for your business customers who wish for you to be a good hospitality choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We apologize for the issues you have experienced during your recent stays with us. We will be certain to share your comments with our Department Heads in order to improve on a property level, as well as with our Executive Management. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your experiences.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The room overlooked the river...wow is that cruise ship going to make the turn. Also overlooked the park....lots of street kids. Also overlooked the French Quarter.....easy walk. Casino next door....didn't use it. Hotel staff does a good job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much! We’re happy you enjoyed your stay so much. It is always amazing to watch those huge ships make that turn on the Mississippi River! We will certainly let our staff know that you appreciated their service. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Not impressed with our 5 day stay at this hotel for it's price. Apart from it's location for shopping and Casino and the nice river view, the hotel could do with some up dating and refurbishing. The room we were given had a noisy vent fan.We notified reception on this and apart from sending someone to look at it with no improvement, the reception staff seemed indifferent. The concierge was helpful with information. Room and bathroom cleanness was superficial and odors were camouflaged with chemicals. Pillows had a faint smell of urine! the sink taps in the bathroom was loose and wobbly. On our last day (Saturday) the room was not done or cleaned until we called reception at 6 pm to have it done, although we were out all day! Will not be going back, lots of other hotels to consider for next visit.

Room Tip: Check out the room assigned for noise level, view and cleanliness before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service and conditions you experienced during your recent stay with us. Your comments will assist our Housekeeping and Engineering Departments in improving procedures to prevent issues such as this in the future. We appreciate your review.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great hotel, great location, great staff, great stay. Stayed here for the essence music festival. Located right above the mall whic was not so great for my wallet. Centrally located between theconvention center and bourban street.
Will stay here again. Had a great view of the water towatch thefireworks on the fourth of July.

Room Tip: the higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us. We hope to welcome you back once again this summer for Essence Festival!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, right near the Harrahs casino, bourbon street and of course Cafe du Monde where you can get the most amazing beignets. The rooms were nice with a great view. I thought the staff was nice and very helpful with directing us to some great tours. Bar was nice and so was the gym. breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans, and took advantage of our great location to really experience the city! Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.