We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, wonderful service, awesome room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #89 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views, wonderful service, awesome room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our third 5 night stay in New Orleans. Our first hotel was the Sheraton, second one the W French Quarter and now the Westin Canal Street. All of these hotels had their special touches. However, you cannot beat the Westin for the mix of service, beautiful room with awesome views and location. It is also attached to a high end mall which is easily accessable by elevator from the inside of hotel. We received an upgraded room which was really 3 rooms with an entryway. Champagne with fruit and chocolate waited for us when we arrived. (it was our anniversary) Living area, full bedroom and a 2 room dressing/bath area. Floor to ceiling windows overlooked the Crescent City wrapping around the Mississippi River. Incredible day and night. They could not do enough for us. Also the lobby is on the third floor with great seating and beautiful river views. Doorman was hilarious. Will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for river view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your anniversary stay! We’re happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We’ll be sure to share your comments with our Staff. We appreciate your review and hope to see you soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    369
    211
    84
    45
See reviews for
199
278
43
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I had a business conference at the Westin last week and I have never experienced such poor customer service. We were unfortunate enough to have Tamika check us in and she was not only unhelpful but downright rude and aggressive. The night before we stayed at the Sheraton and the front desk there was very nice and helpful. Everyone in our group agreed the Sheraton was much nicer and had much better service. Also the hotel is next to the train track so ask for a room far from it or bring your earplugs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the disappointing customer service you encountered from our staff. Your comments will assist us in improving our guest experience. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back in the future to see the improvements we have made.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nasty hairs an mystery stains from previous guest (or housekeeping) on the bathroom floor and fixtures. They only stocked rooms with decaf, too.
I left a kind note for housekeeping to please clean the floor and get the blood of the toilet seat. After returning, more decaf and now there were more stains on the toilet seat??? Complained at the front desk and he just punched it into the computer. Could have given me a few coffee packets for the next morning. Staying 3 nights for a sales meeting so I'm stuck here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We apologize for the very disappointing service and conditions you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our Department Heads in an effort to improve procedures and prevent this from occurring again. Once again, we apologize and thank you for letting us know about your visit.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived at the westin new orleans on 1/16/14, it was very difficult finding the hotel entrance. The hotel starts on the 11th floor, best view in the New Orleans area. Rooms were decent but kind of outdated. The food was so delicious, we ate at the river 127 located inside the lobby and also ordered room service. Our waiter/coffee maker clearence was AWESOME! my stay was wonderful and we plan to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back soon! It’s great to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We’ll be sure to send your compliments to Clarence! Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Loved where this was located! Walking distance to everything. Very close to cruise port. We were on floor 22 with great views of the city and river. Nice lobby and bar. Helpful staff. The only thing we didn't like was the extra $18 per night for parking. It was a little confusing with which elevators in the mall to use to get to the lobby. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience from your visit at Westin New Orleans. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our service and are glad that you enjoyed our majestic Mississippi River views. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Located just outside the French Quarter, we were very pleased with the proximity to everything. Great Views. However, the rooms weren't immaculate - especially the bathrooms - definitely could be cleaner. The last evening of our stay, the alarm system went off in the middle of the night and we instructed to evacuate the hotel. After going down 17 floors and around the outside of the hotel to the lobby -- we were instructed that we could return to our rooms. No explanation whatsoever. It was very strange -- they could have said that it was a false alarm or a prank by someone, but nothing -- just "it's all clear". It makes a person very uneasy not knowing what happened. Even when I asked the next day about the incident, while checking out, the staff said they had security checking into it -- they didn't offer the guests anything for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re glad that you enjoyed our views and location; however I apologize for the disappointing service you experienced during your visit regarding the fire alarm. We will share this experience with our team to work to improve our procedures. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's quite nice, with an 11th floor lobby with a panoramic view of the city and the river. I stayed on the 19th floor in a very nice room with a king bed. I had no problems with my stay and would recommend it to anyone. The location is fine, perhaps five minutes to the French Quarter. I had to extend my stay for an additional night, and the front desk staff was more than accommodating. The room was clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We’re happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,791 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#17 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
French Quarter
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,167 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#91 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.