We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not up to par!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Ok my husband and I check-in the receptionist tells us for being a Starwood member we can get one free cocktail from bar or free points. Well that's fine but its two of us as for as the drink goes. She tells us we can only get one drink. Ok we'll take the points. What two people going to do with one drink??? The rooms are a decent size for New Orleans. However when we got to our room it smelled like rubbing alcohol. At the night the loud train blowing, annoying. Not to mention my neighbor mones and groans so the walls are very thin. A lot of moisture in bathrooms kinda mildrewy. One free water complimentary for the whole weekend. Shouldn't you at least bring another the next day and by the way its Two guest. SMH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for providing us feedback on your visit and your comments are right on. We'll work to improve based on your suggestions and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    302
    163
    83
    58
See reviews for
136
231
61
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The good: the staff was friendly and quick to resolve problems. A bellman came promptly when I needed to check out. The service express line was answered quickly.

The bad: There were a lot of little problems that can be attributed to inattention to detail. I was charged for valet parking when I did not park at the hotel. There was no menu for room service in my room. 90% of the items on the room service breakfast menu are not on the breakfast hangtag; this led to an error in my breakfast order. One of my toiletry items looked like it had been used by a prior guest and not replaced.

Overall: The staff was nice about fixing problems, but it was annoying to have so many little problems.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After leaving the Saints game, we decided we wanted one more night. I grabbed my iphone map and started tapping/calling familiar sounding hotels. Prices were in the upper $200s/300s for most rooms until I came across The Westin for $189. We booked and WOW, what a find. The hotel has to have the best views in New Orleans. The Westin couldn't be more convenient. The rooms were clean, roomy, and VERY comfortable.

I'll say this, I've always enjoyed staying at different hotels for my frequent family trips. I just may be done with that. The Westin may be my permanent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saraland, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband is at a conference here now so we are spending 3 nights. It definitely needs to be updated but it's not bad so far. The views are amazing from our room on the 24th floor. The bed is comfortable and the room is a nice size.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is clean with large rooms, great views, and is well located. It is not luxurious, however. We booked using starpoints so felt that we got what we paid for. It's a big hotel so if you are expecting personal touches, look elsewhere. I wouldn't book this is if I was looking for an extra special getaway or luxury, but for a nice hotel in a great location, I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was a little nervous after reading the reviews here but we were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. The service, location and accomodations were perfect for our pre cruise stay of 2 nights. The beds were super comfortable, the view from our 27th floor room was amazing, the pool was clean and fun and much appreciated after a hot day in the Quarter! Would absolutely LOVE to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place to stay when visiting New Orleans. The staff will bend over backwards to make your stay a pleasant one. On a scale of 1 - 5, I would grade the staff a 6. Rooms were very nice but you can almost see the need for a little bit of an upgrade. Room rate was quite good but the taxes are ridiculous. Stadium tax - $15.00?

Room Tip: Get a room with a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
Westin New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.