We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #91 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was a little nervous after reading the reviews here but we were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. The service, location and accomodations were perfect for our pre cruise stay of 2 nights. The beds were super comfortable, the view from our 27th floor room was amazing, the pool was clean and fun and much appreciated after a hot day in the Quarter! Would absolutely LOVE to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    328
    186
    91
    60
See reviews for
160
253
66
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place to stay when visiting New Orleans. The staff will bend over backwards to make your stay a pleasant one. On a scale of 1 - 5, I would grade the staff a 6. Rooms were very nice but you can almost see the need for a little bit of an upgrade. Room rate was quite good but the taxes are ridiculous. Stadium tax - $15.00?

Room Tip: Get a room with a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location in the heart of New Orleans. Requested a high room with a view of the Mississippi. No problem - stayed on the 27th floor - what a view! We watched barges going up and down the river - the steam boat going in and out and at night it was just amazing. This hotel is right on the edge of the river. No noise whatsoever but within walking distance of all the fun. Loved New Orleans, so much to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stay here about 50% of the time when we visit NOLA. The only other places we stay are the W New Orleans, and the W French Quarter since we are loyal Starwood Preferred Guest members. Other than the lobby being located on the 11th floor, this hotel has everything. It's connected to One Canal Place (a high end shopping center with a first class movie theatre (TheTheatres at Canal Place) which is adults only and serves some great food. The hotels rooms either have a great view of downtown, or a spectacular view of the bend in the Mississippi river and the French Quarter.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm split on this hotel. Pros: decent location (close to FQ and casino) great views from 11th floor lobby, helpful valet employees. Cons: the walls in the guest rooms were stark white and looked more like a hospital room than a hotel, I question the overall cleanliness of the hotel. In general, it's a forgettable hotel....much better options available!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a large group taking up ten rooms. It was quite the chore to get folks checked in as they had some issues on their end with their reservation system. However, the staff came through in a pinch and we were thankful for that.

- Pretty exceptional area in NOLA - close to the convention center but also super close to French Quarter (the convention center hotels are a HIKE to the FQ)
- This property is WORN OUT..everything about it is in rather desperate need of repair: elevators, lobby, hallways, bathrooms, and the like
- Rates are average
- The poor condition of the property would have initially indicated a lower, but the service was good to the point that I have to say three...they bent over backwards to accommodate us and meet some unique requests

Clean yourself up, Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Five night stay in a Deluxe, King, Riverview room.

Things that aren't up to Westin expectations -- or pricing:

- at check-in we were highly encouraged to accept their Go Green program, which means you forego housekeeping and just hang up your used towels, etc. Problem is.....there are no towel bars in any of the rooms in this hotel. I thought maybe it was just our room, so I reported this to the front desk. The staff "acted shocked" and said they would send maintenance right up to add towel bars. No one every showed up. I started asking other guests each time I road the elevator if they had towel bars. No one had one.

- toilet runs constantly. Its as if it is automatically flushing every minute or so. Not sure how that is saving water -- a big part of the Go Green push.

- our room was full of ants. They were everywhere. Just those little sweet ants, but it was obvious that there was something in the carpet that attracted them.

- housekeeping never serviced our room before 5PM -- just when we were trying to get ready to go out...."knock, knock, housekeeping". Hotel seems grossly understaffed.

- housekeeping was often out of items, such as hand towels, by the time they reached us.

- no robes in rooms, although I saw some people with robes at the pool. I asked the front desk and again got that "oh so shocked" reply, but no robes ever showed up in our room.

- no acknowledgement of our Westin status at check in.

- slowest elevators in the world. Bad enough that you have to take one set to the 11th floor lobby and another set to your room, but they are both ungodly slow.

- plastic cups in the rooms.

- no signage to find the pool. At least the elevators should be labeled so that one knows which floor the pool is on.

- no service at the pool. How difficult would it be to serve some wine or beer at Happy Hour or cold drinks during the day? You can't even phone for service to the pool.

The hotel has a good location and sterling views. It just needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.