We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was amazed by the beautiful views from the 11th floor lobby area, as well as, in my room. The rooms were very spacious and I enjoyed my stay overall. I stayed on the 27th floor in a room with a view of the river and french quarter. I also enjoyed the view from the rooftop pool. The only thing that put a damper on my stay were my noisy neighbors and having to call security at 2am and 3am and then again at 8am when they got up and made noise again. I was pretty annoyed that security wasn't able to shut them up. My first night was great but the noisy next door neighbors ruined my last night as I didn't get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re happy you enjoyed your overall visit, especially the beautiful views of New Orleans that our central location provides. We apologize that you experienced noise issues from the neighboring room. When our Security Team responds to a noise complaint, our standard policy is to issue a warning to the guests informing them that a complaint has been made. We will certainly discuss your experience with our team to ensure that the correct procedures were followed. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    280
    178
    73
    37
See reviews for
149
217
33
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Truly loved my stay at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place. Upon arrival, as a Starwood Preferred Guest, I was immediately greeted with a smile, then upgraded to a king room with river view. The horn of the tug boats, view of the winding Mississippi, and view of the trolly cars added to the ambiance I found so complete in my 18th floor room.

The room was immaculate, large by New Orleans standards, mirrors for days, and an extra nice comfy bed. The A/C was room controlled with super refreshing cold air, as it was in the 90's and super humid.

The lobby is breathtaking, with Mississippi River and French Quarter views.

This hotel is situated atop a mall(Canal Place) with high end stores. Also there is a huge Las Vegas style casino right across Canal St. There is an aquarium right out the door too.

All in all, this 4 star hotel provided the comfort, cleanliness and "get away" atmosphere I hoped for.

Great Stay !!

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and we’re happy to hear that you really enjoyed our unique city. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed in New Orleans before, and we enjoyed this hotel so much more than a higher priced hotel nearby that we stayed out our last trip. Yes the elevator situation is a bit annoying if you use self park, but 18 dollar a day parking versus 40 valet is well worth a little extra work.
The roof top pool was amazing late at night, and there was plenty of room for 3 of us in a double queen room.
We had a great view of the river, and as others have said the lobby is beautiful. The location is great for hitting the French Quarter or the Market. The trolley is nearby, but we found it to be easier to grab a cab or walk, the trolley was always super busy, however it was labor day weekend.

This will be my go to hotel from now on!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us recently at Westin New Orleans, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit! As you mentioned, our location puts you in the perfect spot for hitting the town, or just kicking back and enjoying our fantastic views of the city and the Mississippi River. We’re happy to be your “go to hotel” in New Orleans and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arrived after 3pm (checkin time) and our rooms were not ready. Was told to go get our luggage and then maybe our room will be ready. Staff was rude and argumentative. One staff member gave us 2 vouchers for the bar - but there were 4 people in our party.

Parking was ridiculous. Was told we could park our own car - but if we were to leave the hotel in our car it would cost $18 each time we left the garage. Website does not state we have to pay each time we leave.

Hotel could have used cleaning. Hallways were dirty; couldn't tell when the last time they had been vacuumed. Pool area needs updating - was total joke. Stairway to pool smelled like urine; you had to hold your breath as you walked to and from the pool area. Elevators were extremely slow no matter what time of day.

Outside of hotel need an extreme makeover. Looks more like a lower class hotel than a Westin.

Overall was very disappointed with the experience. I expected a lot more out of Westin. The worst part of the experience was the rude and argumentative nature of the staff. They acted like they were being forced to work there and wait on the guest who are paying to stay there - essentially, paying their salary. If they don't like there job, then find something else they enjoy more - leave your problems at the door - don't bring them to work and take it out on your guest!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We apologize that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We certainly pride ourselves on our helpful associates and high level of customer service. To hear that you were treated rudely and found the hallways in need of cleaning is disappointing. Your comments will assist us in improving our service for future guests.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Superb location... Clean rooms and every last minute requests were conveniently delivered with ease and simplicity... truly fitted to be a great part of the city of "The Big Easy!!!"...The Hotel offers a fantastic view of the great Mississippi river in all it's glory...on its 11th floor!!! ( no wonder the lobby is on the 11th floor!!) Our room has a view of the old Cafe Du Monde, a portion of the Mississippi river and the French Quarters... Since our stay at NOLA was not for so many days, unfortunately we were not able to try the hotel's other amenities such as the swimming pool... but I will go to this hotel again when I go back to New Orleans... which will be pretty soon... Thank you so much to your wonderful staff!!!

Room Tip: Request for a room with a view of the River and the French Quarters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! Our location does provide us with some of the most spectacular views in New Orleans, and we’re happy our Staff was able to take care of you during your visit. Thank you for your review!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was superb - easy check-in, clean and comfortable rooms, plus the location is close enough to the French Quarter without the noise that accompanies it. The pool was gorgeous - but small, so don't expect much privacy on a nice day. The staff definitely isn't a "present" as in other hotels, partially because the layout of the hotel has a lot of entrances/exits away from the front desk, elevators, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit! We’re happy you enjoyed your experience with us! It’s great to hear that our Staff was able to assist you at check-in and that you appreciated our location. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel gave us so much information to us, being first time to this city. The concierge staff were knowledgeable about everything and doing the absolute musts for the time we were there . The great little restaurants to go to, the oyster bar, the local handouts, etc, gave us a real taste of what New Orleans is all about!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it sounds like you were able to visit some really great areas of our unique city. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.