We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #90 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel was superb - easy check-in, clean and comfortable rooms, plus the location is close enough to the French Quarter without the noise that accompanies it. The pool was gorgeous - but small, so don't expect much privacy on a nice day. The staff definitely isn't a "present" as in other hotels, partially because the layout of the hotel has a lot of entrances/exits away from the front desk, elevators, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit! We’re happy you enjoyed your experience with us! It’s great to hear that our Staff was able to assist you at check-in and that you appreciated our location. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    324
    185
    89
    60
See reviews for
158
250
65
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel gave us so much information to us, being first time to this city. The concierge staff were knowledgeable about everything and doing the absolute musts for the time we were there . The great little restaurants to go to, the oyster bar, the local handouts, etc, gave us a real taste of what New Orleans is all about!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it sounds like you were able to visit some really great areas of our unique city. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saraland, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

During the last 6 months I have had the pleasure to stay at the Westin New Orleans on 2 different occasions with my last visit was August 16, 2013. I have yet to be disappointed with the Westin at any level. As we arrived we were greeted at the street by very friendly and helpful Bellmen (if that is what they are called these days considering stewardess changed to flight attendant). The lobby of the hotel is on the 11th floor and it is cavernous with floor to ceiling glass overlooking the Mississippi River...What a view!

We were assigned a room on the 21st floor on the side of the hotel that overlooks the French Quarter. Our room was very spacious clean, and well appointed with a desk. One nice feature is two upholstered chairs allowing both of us a place to sit comfortably after a long stroll in the French Quarter. The king size bed was very comfortable with great linens. The bathroom had modern fixtures was clean and supplied with ample towels, wash cloths and a bathrobe.

The hotel is conveinently located at the foot of Canal St in the French Quarter. About 5 blocks away are Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde with it's Beignets and Bourbon St. Harrah's Casino is directly across the street from the mall entrance of the hotel.

I live only 2 hours from NOLA and find it a great city for a weekend escape. I have stayed in numerous hotels in the city and in my opinion none compare to the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us and it sounds like you were able to visit some really great areas of our unique city. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, and yes they are still called Bellmen, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next getaway to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in on the Thursday before Labor Day. There was no one waiting at the desk when we arrived. The clerk greeted me and found the reservation with ease and recognized me as an SPG Platinum member. We got a nice room with a river view on the 20th floor. The only problem I had at all with the check in experience or the entire stay was that after recognizing my status as a Platinum member, I wasn't given a room on a Starwood Preferred Guest floor (read higher floor). I would have understood if she had said something like "sir, we are all booked on our SPG floors . . .or we don't have any rooms for upgrade due to the holiday weekend." Instead, she said nothing. I have grown accustomed to being placed on an SPG floor at this hotel and was rather surprised to not have it happen this time.

With that said, I have stayed in this hotel numerous times and love the familiar feel I always get when I step off the elevators. Great views from the lobby, friendly employees at the Concierge desk who are more than happy to help.

The room was nice, as I said, and the air conditioning provided a welcome oasis from New Orleans in August.

I will definitely stay in this hotel again, but it might not be on my next trip to New Orleans. For some reason, this hotel doesn't participate in Starwood's Take Two promotion which offers double points on stays September 1-December 15, so I will definitely use another SPG property close by. I already have a reservation for October at another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room if you don't have one reserved. Those have a great view of both the Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us! Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We apologize that you were not given an explanation as to why you were not placed on one of our SPG floors. Your comments will assist us in improving our service for future guests. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got a really good deal through Hotwire so we were amazed at how much nicer this was than most of the other places we have stayed on this trip. Everything was amazing except for 2 things. 1. No smoking rooms and 2. Two different elevators to get up to our room. What a pain in the butt to get down and back up for a smoke. To get to the rooftop pool you have to go up 2 elevators then up a back staircase. Otherwise we loved it! Our room was spacious and spotless, good views, staff was super!!! We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and in our unique city. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Westin Canal Place. We have stayed at this hotel in past. We've always liked it. It's a great location right across the street from Harrah's. It's also right on the edge of the French Quarter. The room we had was on the 16th floor. We got to the room very quickly. Found out the TV, phone and toilet were not working. The maintenance crew got everything fixed in 2 hours. The ice machine on our floor was broken the entire time. So, we were always on the prowl for ice. Thermostat in the room was broken but it was too the good. Ran constantly. The room was cold but that was fine since it was hot and muggy outside. The second night, my husband and son were coming from the 17th floor from an ice run. They shut the door. Two pictures and the thermostat fell off of the wall. We called but it wasn't fixed until the next day. Sunday, our room service order was delivered to the wrong room. The front desk was very apologetic and took the meal and one night's stay off or bill. This room was clean but very tired. We will try the Westin again but because of the staff, not the quality of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I would always recommend Westin for their exceptional service, pet friendliness, & green business program. This was my husband's 45th Birthday celebration. They gave us an early checkin & late checkout with no hassle. When we came back from lunch upon our arrival, they placed a nice bottle of wine in our room gratis. The location is perfect & everything is in walking distance. I will stay here again when I return to New Orleans! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.