We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #87 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We got a really good deal through Hotwire so we were amazed at how much nicer this was than most of the other places we have stayed on this trip. Everything was amazing except for 2 things. 1. No smoking rooms and 2. Two different elevators to get up to our room. What a pain in the butt to get down and back up for a smoke. To get to the rooftop pool you have to go up 2 elevators then up a back staircase. Otherwise we loved it! Our room was spacious and spotless, good views, staff was super!!! We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marki2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and in our unique city. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Westin Canal Place. We have stayed at this hotel in past. We've always liked it. It's a great location right across the street from Harrah's. It's also right on the edge of the French Quarter. The room we had was on the 16th floor. We got to the room very quickly. Found out the TV, phone and toilet were not working. The maintenance crew got everything fixed in 2 hours. The ice machine on our floor was broken the entire time. So, we were always on the prowl for ice. Thermostat in the room was broken but it was too the good. Ran constantly. The room was cold but that was fine since it was hot and muggy outside. The second night, my husband and son were coming from the 17th floor from an ice run. They shut the door. Two pictures and the thermostat fell off of the wall. We called but it wasn't fixed until the next day. Sunday, our room service order was delivered to the wrong room. The front desk was very apologetic and took the meal and one night's stay off or bill. This room was clean but very tired. We will try the Westin again but because of the staff, not the quality of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I would always recommend Westin for their exceptional service, pet friendliness, & green business program. This was my husband's 45th Birthday celebration. They gave us an early checkin & late checkout with no hassle. When we came back from lunch upon our arrival, they placed a nice bottle of wine in our room gratis. The location is perfect & everything is in walking distance. I will stay here again when I return to New Orleans! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Westin in New Orleans is a good representation of their chain. I am a frequent visitor to the diplomat in Hallandale beach Florida, and this one met my expectations. The views from the lobby were superb! The heavenly bed... As heavenly as always. I will have to buy one to sleep so good!
With some comments from people about the wood on the pool, they were finishing redoing and painting them completely.
Only two things: I usually liked that they would close the shades and get the bed ready at night, they don't do it here.
Also if there would be a way to improve the elevators.... The hotel was not that busy and we had to wait a lot.
Congratulations to the manager for keeping up with the comments in this website!!!

Room Tip: River view!!! Yes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This wasn't the greatest place we've stayed but certainly wasn't the worst either. The furnishings in the lobby area as well as the room showed age-definitely appeared worn and some appeared stained. The rooftop pool area, despite excellent views, was underwhelming and showed age. Construction was underway on the top floor, therefore, guests were required to take the stairs from the floor before to get to the pool and the stairway was occasionally crowded with people working on the building. The room, though aged, was clean and comfortable with an excellent view, though construction was also going on with the air conditioning which meant we often had workers just outside of our window. For one evening and day during our stay the hotel was without air conditioning. Apparently this was unavoidable due to a malfunction; however, the hotel offered a complimentary breakfast to all guests that morning. We were worried the heat would be rough (June in the South); however, we were never terribly uncomfortable. We did hear several others complaining about the heat. The location of the hotel was excellent, within walking distance of pretty much anything you might want to do downtown. We probably will book elsewhere in the future because, for the price, we have definitely seen better in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS7615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel... lobby with the most magnificent view of the Mississippi river... wonderful staff!!! Hotel was just a few blocks away from the French Quarters, Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde and the River bend!!One can hear Dixie music played by the Natchez ( Mark Twain) boat on Sunday mornings as soon as you step out from the hotel... I miss New Orleans already...I will definitely go back to this city and stay in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Even if your room has no view.. the magnificent lobby at the 11th floor of the hotel will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adabella U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I am a New Orleans native and think I have stayed at every hotel downtown over the years. I was very disappointed with the Westin on this trip. The staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby is beautiful with amazing views of the river. However, the elevators were apparently unairconditioned, and only two seemed to be working, causing long waits and packed elevators. On the guest room floors, the elevator lobby and hallway carpets were horribly stained and discolored. The ice maker on our floor was not working and the catch drain was growing something nasty. The hallways were long and bare and kind of creepy - I didn't feel totally secure. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. However, until some upgrades are done to the hallways above the lobby, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotton77025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#19 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing