We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, tired rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #94 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, tired rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Westin Canal Place. We have stayed at this hotel in past. We've always liked it. It's a great location right across the street from Harrah's. It's also right on the edge of the French Quarter. The room we had was on the 16th floor. We got to the room very quickly. Found out the TV, phone and toilet were not working. The maintenance crew got everything fixed in 2 hours. The ice machine on our floor was broken the entire time. So, we were always on the prowl for ice. Thermostat in the room was broken but it was too the good. Ran constantly. The room was cold but that was fine since it was hot and muggy outside. The second night, my husband and son were coming from the 17th floor from an ice run. They shut the door. Two pictures and the thermostat fell off of the wall. We called but it wasn't fixed until the next day. Sunday, our room service order was delivered to the wrong room. The front desk was very apologetic and took the meal and one night's stay off or bill. This room was clean but very tired. We will try the Westin again but because of the staff, not the quality of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    279
    177
    73
    38
See reviews for
148
213
33
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I would always recommend Westin for their exceptional service, pet friendliness, & green business program. This was my husband's 45th Birthday celebration. They gave us an early checkin & late checkout with no hassle. When we came back from lunch upon our arrival, they placed a nice bottle of wine in our room gratis. The location is perfect & everything is in walking distance. I will stay here again when I return to New Orleans! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Westin in New Orleans is a good representation of their chain. I am a frequent visitor to the diplomat in Hallandale beach Florida, and this one met my expectations. The views from the lobby were superb! The heavenly bed... As heavenly as always. I will have to buy one to sleep so good!
With some comments from people about the wood on the pool, they were finishing redoing and painting them completely.
Only two things: I usually liked that they would close the shades and get the bed ready at night, they don't do it here.
Also if there would be a way to improve the elevators.... The hotel was not that busy and we had to wait a lot.
Congratulations to the manager for keeping up with the comments in this website!!!

Room Tip: River view!!! Yes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This wasn't the greatest place we've stayed but certainly wasn't the worst either. The furnishings in the lobby area as well as the room showed age-definitely appeared worn and some appeared stained. The rooftop pool area, despite excellent views, was underwhelming and showed age. Construction was underway on the top floor, therefore, guests were required to take the stairs from the floor before to get to the pool and the stairway was occasionally crowded with people working on the building. The room, though aged, was clean and comfortable with an excellent view, though construction was also going on with the air conditioning which meant we often had workers just outside of our window. For one evening and day during our stay the hotel was without air conditioning. Apparently this was unavoidable due to a malfunction; however, the hotel offered a complimentary breakfast to all guests that morning. We were worried the heat would be rough (June in the South); however, we were never terribly uncomfortable. We did hear several others complaining about the heat. The location of the hotel was excellent, within walking distance of pretty much anything you might want to do downtown. We probably will book elsewhere in the future because, for the price, we have definitely seen better in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel... lobby with the most magnificent view of the Mississippi river... wonderful staff!!! Hotel was just a few blocks away from the French Quarters, Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde and the River bend!!One can hear Dixie music played by the Natchez ( Mark Twain) boat on Sunday mornings as soon as you step out from the hotel... I miss New Orleans already...I will definitely go back to this city and stay in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Even if your room has no view.. the magnificent lobby at the 11th floor of the hotel will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I am a New Orleans native and think I have stayed at every hotel downtown over the years. I was very disappointed with the Westin on this trip. The staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby is beautiful with amazing views of the river. However, the elevators were apparently unairconditioned, and only two seemed to be working, causing long waits and packed elevators. On the guest room floors, the elevator lobby and hallway carpets were horribly stained and discolored. The ice maker on our floor was not working and the catch drain was growing something nasty. The hallways were long and bare and kind of creepy - I didn't feel totally secure. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. However, until some upgrades are done to the hallways above the lobby, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Not all that cracked up to b..parking was horrible. .was not explain that the parking lot was not theres we sent 80bucks in parkin. .construction went on in another room. .geez never again..also they charge 200 for incidentals crazy...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.