We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alright stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #94 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An alright stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This wasn't the greatest place we've stayed but certainly wasn't the worst either. The furnishings in the lobby area as well as the room showed age-definitely appeared worn and some appeared stained. The rooftop pool area, despite excellent views, was underwhelming and showed age. Construction was underway on the top floor, therefore, guests were required to take the stairs from the floor before to get to the pool and the stairway was occasionally crowded with people working on the building. The room, though aged, was clean and comfortable with an excellent view, though construction was also going on with the air conditioning which meant we often had workers just outside of our window. For one evening and day during our stay the hotel was without air conditioning. Apparently this was unavoidable due to a malfunction; however, the hotel offered a complimentary breakfast to all guests that morning. We were worried the heat would be rough (June in the South); however, we were never terribly uncomfortable. We did hear several others complaining about the heat. The location of the hotel was excellent, within walking distance of pretty much anything you might want to do downtown. We probably will book elsewhere in the future because, for the price, we have definitely seen better in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    279
    177
    73
    38
See reviews for
148
213
33
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel... lobby with the most magnificent view of the Mississippi river... wonderful staff!!! Hotel was just a few blocks away from the French Quarters, Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde and the River bend!!One can hear Dixie music played by the Natchez ( Mark Twain) boat on Sunday mornings as soon as you step out from the hotel... I miss New Orleans already...I will definitely go back to this city and stay in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Even if your room has no view.. the magnificent lobby at the 11th floor of the hotel will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I am a New Orleans native and think I have stayed at every hotel downtown over the years. I was very disappointed with the Westin on this trip. The staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby is beautiful with amazing views of the river. However, the elevators were apparently unairconditioned, and only two seemed to be working, causing long waits and packed elevators. On the guest room floors, the elevator lobby and hallway carpets were horribly stained and discolored. The ice maker on our floor was not working and the catch drain was growing something nasty. The hallways were long and bare and kind of creepy - I didn't feel totally secure. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. However, until some upgrades are done to the hallways above the lobby, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Not all that cracked up to b..parking was horrible. .was not explain that the parking lot was not theres we sent 80bucks in parkin. .construction went on in another room. .geez never again..also they charge 200 for incidentals crazy...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights on the first leg of our trip from Florida to Texas. Our room was on the 24th floor and the view of the Mississippi and the French Quarter was spectacular! We brought our dog with us and he was happy as a clam with the river front park right across the street to walk him and Café Dumont within walking distance, along with being two short blocks from the French Quarter. The staff was extra friendly. The room was immaculate and service was exceptional. The location of this hotel was the perfect distance from seeing all the sights of the beautiful City of New Orleans. The only drawback was that we could hear a party of guys drunk and yelling in the hallway at 3am - totally oblivious to the time and people sleeping. When asked if they would be quiet they were indignant. Go figure, I drank my first beer once too (lol). However, we won't throw the baby out with the bathwater and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a river view room to see the glorious Mississippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I will be staying later this year but had a conflict with my non-refundable reservation due to an unplanned change in my flights. Volker, who I believe to be the front desk manager, went out of his way to try to accommodate our changes. He was under no contractual obligation to do so and was helpful out of sheer goodwill. It's little niceties in service like this that I rarely experience anymore so I'm really looking forward to our upcoming visit if Volker's helpfulness typifies the service ethic of the hotel staff. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Canal Place for a short weekend conference. Was skeptical at first because its so big, but boy was I surprised. The staff have outstanding attention to detail from the moment you walk in, and are willing to go the extra mile for any reasonable request.

The restaurant has a new chef and I would recommend their pizzas if you need to have something quick for lunch, but definitely go into NOLA for dinner.

My room was excellent, ask for a corner room if one is available facing the water. The roof pool has spectacular views of the city. Bourbon St. is only a short walk, as are some of the finer restaurants in the business/warehouse district.

Enjoy your stay, I sure did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.