We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great hotel consistent with Westin standards"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“"Great hotel consistent with Westin standards"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during the extremely busy July 4th weekend. Considering the volume of tourists in New Orleans at this time, I thought the hotel staff handled the volume well. As far as the location, it is what it is. All sides do not have the picturesque views of the river and the city, but we are talking about New Orleans. Yes, it was a little odd to register on the 11th floor, but there is a mall (with great shopping, I might add) and a parking deck below. I don't think drivers would want to park any higher than 10 floors!


I was more concerned about renovations after Hurricane Katrina. Fortunately, I did not smell any mold or musty odors. Yes, there was a small area of chipped paint above the shower, but not to the point where I was concerned about showering. The toilets flush very slow, but they do flush which is key for me. The beds looked very clean and I felt comfortable sleeping on them. I am not comfortable with the "green policy" when your stay is more than 3 nights but when we asked for fresh towels, they were quickly provided.

Overall, I liked the hotel. I felt safe and it was close to everything that I wanted to do. This Westin is the hotel for me and for the right price, I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    322
    180
    88
    60
See reviews for
153
250
63
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel is in a great location, literally inside the mall. The Casino is across the street and the river right in front of you. Since the Hotel is shared by the mall and offices you have to take elevators to get to the main lobby and the guest rooms (no biggie). The rooms are very comfy and big. We stayed in a Riverfront Room and the view was great. We can see the River Boats floating at different times during the day. Room Service was really quick, staff friendly and the rooms were very clean. Clean is important in New Orleans. New Orleans already has a smell, so after a long day you want to come back to a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A nice hotel, very close to lots of restaurants, shopping, and attractions! The staff was friendly and made sure that we had a room with a king (although we had to wait one day!) The view was great; parking was a bit of a pain ($18/day is steep.) The view from our room was great...we had a nice view of the Mississippi. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and noise level was fairly low. I'd have no problem bringing my family back to stay next time! We walked up to the pool on the roof, but every time we went up, it was packed. Also, the restaurants were full, but we didn't try them...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There were a few problems with our reservations but they made good on them for the most part. However they sent our adult kids to the W for two nights and it was very unsatisfactory. The Westin did a good job in making up for the errors and we had a great stay at their hotel. Wonderful view and a a good location for walking around the town.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservations a few days prior and print out your confirmations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Got a terrific deal on Priceline for the Westin, so all complaints are minor relative to the value. This hotel offers some of the great Westin features: nice views, great bed, double shower heads. However, the parking and elevator systems are cumbersome. There are three different elevators to negotiate in the Canal Place building, which can be confusing. Check in was easy and the lobby views are great. Carpet is worn around the hotel. TV channels were often fuzzy and some didn't work at all.

Overall, the value was terrific. The complaints would not keep us from returning, but our expectation based on other Westins (Chicago, San Diego) wasn't lived up to here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location, easy, safe walk to Canal Street and the French Quarter. The lobby on the 11th floor of this building is stunning. The lobby bar was great. Our bartender didn't seem like your standard drink slinger. She seemed like a real old-school pro and made a great Sazarac. Staff were really friendly. Our room on the 24th floor had an unparalleled view of the river and french quarter. Roof top pool was great. It closed a little early for my taste. Room was in whites, cool and refreshing after a hot day. It felt clean and modern. My only complaint is the quality of sleep. The walls seemed thin, large gap under the door allowed additional hallway noise. Worst of all, it is right by the railroad tracks and a train came through in the middle of the night blasting its horn. Would stay again but wear earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Rencently stayed here for 4 nights while on vacation. Check-in was at 3pm but we were able to check in around 12:15 since they had rooms ready. Everyone was super nice, the hotel was clean and smelled nice. The rooms were clean, were serviced daily. One day the iron wouldnt work so we called housekeeping and within 15 minutes someone was at our door with a brand new one. The elevator situation is a little strange, if you do the self parking in the garage ($18 a day) you have to get on the elevator in the parking garage and go to the 11th floor which is the hotel lobby. Then get on another set of elevators to go up the rooms. The garage elevators were always packed and several times we had to wait becuase there was no room. Not the fault of the hotel, just a warning. There is a street car stop right in front of the hotel on canal street, and the aquarium and casino is less than a block away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.