We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice New Orleans Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice New Orleans Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There were a few problems with our reservations but they made good on them for the most part. However they sent our adult kids to the W for two nights and it was very unsatisfactory. The Westin did a good job in making up for the errors and we had a great stay at their hotel. Wonderful view and a a good location for walking around the town.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservations a few days prior and print out your confirmations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    302
    163
    83
    58
See reviews for
136
231
61
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Got a terrific deal on Priceline for the Westin, so all complaints are minor relative to the value. This hotel offers some of the great Westin features: nice views, great bed, double shower heads. However, the parking and elevator systems are cumbersome. There are three different elevators to negotiate in the Canal Place building, which can be confusing. Check in was easy and the lobby views are great. Carpet is worn around the hotel. TV channels were often fuzzy and some didn't work at all.

Overall, the value was terrific. The complaints would not keep us from returning, but our expectation based on other Westins (Chicago, San Diego) wasn't lived up to here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location, easy, safe walk to Canal Street and the French Quarter. The lobby on the 11th floor of this building is stunning. The lobby bar was great. Our bartender didn't seem like your standard drink slinger. She seemed like a real old-school pro and made a great Sazarac. Staff were really friendly. Our room on the 24th floor had an unparalleled view of the river and french quarter. Roof top pool was great. It closed a little early for my taste. Room was in whites, cool and refreshing after a hot day. It felt clean and modern. My only complaint is the quality of sleep. The walls seemed thin, large gap under the door allowed additional hallway noise. Worst of all, it is right by the railroad tracks and a train came through in the middle of the night blasting its horn. Would stay again but wear earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Rencently stayed here for 4 nights while on vacation. Check-in was at 3pm but we were able to check in around 12:15 since they had rooms ready. Everyone was super nice, the hotel was clean and smelled nice. The rooms were clean, were serviced daily. One day the iron wouldnt work so we called housekeeping and within 15 minutes someone was at our door with a brand new one. The elevator situation is a little strange, if you do the self parking in the garage ($18 a day) you have to get on the elevator in the parking garage and go to the 11th floor which is the hotel lobby. Then get on another set of elevators to go up the rooms. The garage elevators were always packed and several times we had to wait becuase there was no room. Not the fault of the hotel, just a warning. There is a street car stop right in front of the hotel on canal street, and the aquarium and casino is less than a block away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice location to Bourbon street and art district, and right by the river. House of Blues was a 3 minute walk! Rooms generally ok with comfy beds but no microwave and fridge. Service was good but they will NOT let you use a luggage cart yourself which was kind of annoying because we had to wait for our bags and we were in a hurry. Once I inquired about our bags they brought them fairly quick. They have self-park but make sure to have the front desk stamp your parking ticket to get the discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I traveled to New Orleans for a week long business trip and I stayed at the Westin Canal Place. This was a perfect location for a business stay becasue it was located near many eateries and bars within walking distance. The cigar lounge, bourbon street, and many large seafood spots were within a 5-10 minute walk. Jogging path and hotel gym

Room Tip: I love the room with the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked the Westin through Hotwire and stayed at the Westin for 3 nights for a convention, and would not return. At first it is a little strange, and then it just becomes annoying, that the lobby is on the 11th floor – you have to take one set of elevators to get to the 11th floor, and then another one to get to your room. The lobby view is one of the few good things about the hotel, and clearly more attention is paid to the upkeep of the lobby than any other part of the hotel.

It is rundown and in serious need of a remodel - chipping paint, broken tiles, and just tired-looking and utilitarian. I am shocked that this is a Starwood hotel – felt like a minor step up from a Fairfield Inn to me. The rooftop pool was a major disappointment, and feels totally like an afterthought. From the weird entrance through a dank dark service staircase, to the artificial grass that surrounds the pool, to the cheap lounge chairs, it felt more roadside motel than 4 star hotel.

The room was utilitarian and without personality – unless I had an entirely different room than other reviewers, I don’t know where they see luxury. There was no marble bathroom as I had seen written, but the shower pressure was nice. The room was spacious and the bed wonderfully comfortable. Not like we watched it a lot, but the TV was too small for the room.

While the front desk and those working the door were wonderfully pleasant and helpful, the bartender was probably the most incompetent, personality-challenged bartender I have ever encountered. With just one other couple in the bar, took us at least 10 minutes to even be acknowledged.

Will not book through Hotwire, nor choose a Westin again after this experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
Westin New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.