We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My stay here was very comfortable. Excellent location and easy to get everywhere we were going. The dual elevators needed to get from street level to guest rooms is annoying, but manageable. The place smells delicious... Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We're delighted to have welcomed you to Westin New Orleans Canal Place and it's wonderful to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one! Comfort is a brand signature with our Westin Heavenly Bed and its 7 layers of supreme comfort. The smell that you enjoyed is also another Westin signature in our White Tea scent. White Tea is part of our heavenly bath program which helps our guest reach their potential with a calming and rejuvinating experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    302
    163
    83
    58
See reviews for
136
231
61
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days and t was fantastic , really interesting how the lobby is on the 11th floor giving a good view of the city , room had a view of the city from the 22nd floor , bell man was courteous and recommended some good places to go for some southern food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at Westin New Orleans recently. We're delighted that you had a great visit and appreciate the nice feedback! Our views are indeed breathtaking and our bell staff certainly does a fantastic job of giving our guest personal service, as well as great suggestions from a locals perspective.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin for my first stay in New Orleans I opted to upgrade to a suite. The location is the best right on the river and a few blocks from all the great restaurants, bars, casino, shopping And bourbon street. Service was really good, staff was willing to go above and beyond. I had a dress that needed hemming quickly and they found a way to get it down. The hotel itself is in dire need of upgrades. We had a suite and the views are amazing. Watching the sun rise over the river. Priceless. The hotel room decor is run down, the bathroom fixtures were falling apart. The rug in my room was all tore up and the toilet was pulling away from the cracked floor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We appreciate your nice comments regarding our service and are glad that you enjoyed our majestic Mississippi River views. Many of the desired upgrades you've mentioned will be completed by the end of the year. We have already modernized our elevators, as well as our Westin Workout facility, and are currently progressing through our guest corridors to replace all of our original carpet. We will then move on to our guest room bathrooms, followed by our exciting lobby re-design.

We hope to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin Canal Place Hotel during Jazz Festival weekend. The hotel was busy but not crowded. Moreover, the staff of the hotel was always nice even though they were being constantly being bombarded with questions from guests. The room was specious and comfortable with all the normal Westin amenities. The breakfast was quite overpriced, in my opinion, and was mediocre so you might find some alternative breakfast options.

I must add one thing. I forgot a package that was shipped to me (call it a hangover). I called the concierge from the airport and she happily shipped me the package. She was so nice and very cooperative with getting this done.

I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for staying at Westin New Orleans, as we are thrilled that you had a great Jazz Festival visit! We certainly get busy during "fest" season in New Orleans, but our team takes pride in providing personal service and delights in delivering great guest experiences. I'll be sure to thank our concierge team personally for efficiently getting your package to you as well.

We hope to see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel and located perfectly on the edge of the French Quarter and Garden District. Easy walking distance to Canal Street and Bourbon Street. Very friendly staff. Hotel is nice and clean. I'll speak to the elevators since I saw some commented on them - the hotel is in the process of renovating the elevators - two are new and the other two are in the process of being renovated. The two older ones were working, but dated looking. Rooms were older but have been remodeled and are super clean. I would stay here again - it is the perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Westin New Orleans and for taking the time to comment about your experience! We're glad you noticed our "super clean" rooms and we'll be sure to give our housekeeping team the positive feedback. We are also proud to report that as of this week, all of our elevators in service are the newest in the city. Over the coming months we are also updating our guest bathrooms, lobby, guest corridors, and more.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff was very friendly upon checking in and during the entire stay. The room was huge and they put us on the high floor with great view of New Orleans. We walked to everywhere as everything was so close.

If you are looking for good New Orleans Jazz music, walk down Bourbon Street past the party clubs (they are fun but after the first night partying we wanted to see something else..) down towards Frenchman. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a great view of Mississippi and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing some of the highlights from your Westin New Orleans visit! We're glad to hear that you had a great time and appreciate the compliments on our associates. You certainly gave an insiders perspective of the local hot spots that our concierge team is typically known to provide as well. However, there is always something new to experience, see, sip, or taste in our unique city - so we can’t wait for you to come back and visit again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - steps from the riverwalk, Harrah's casino, and the french quarter. The river views - from the lobby (and my room) were outstanding. The lobby area was impressive.

Yet, I was surprised at the shape the hotel was in. The elevator walls had what appeared to be ripped off plaques and small holes (size of a quarter) near the floor buttons. My room was okay, yet the carpet always seemed dirty and the bathroom needs refurbishing. The spigot in the bathtub had come away from the wall (gross). You could tell it was caulked a lot - yet, the caulk didn't hold. Also, the wall next to the bathtub was rusty. Also, the room smelled - of cheap cleaning liquids. Lastly, the A/C was not working in my room - the fan was on but the air was not cold. Engineering came up and ripped off that nasty panel (inside - ick) he had to turn the cold water on and then it was fine). The hallway on the 18th floor had a lot of stains.

The Westin brand makes me think of higher end - i.e. heavenly bed - more amenities. I was disappointed with this property. I was in room 1809. I had friends in the Hilton Riverside and I saw 2 rooms - both were much nicer than my room in The Westin and for a lower price.

The staff was very helpful and nice. I ate breakfast & one lunch in the lobby restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your Westin New Orleans experience! We're glad you enjoyed our breath taking views and that you were able to delight your taste buds with some of our local cuisine. However, we’re sorry that you were disappointed in some of the wear and tear that we are currently working to revitalize.

We have just completely modernized our 6th elevator this week giving us the newest elevators in New Orleans. I'm very excited to report that the elevator you wrote about will never be seen again! Additionally, in the next few months we will complete several other enhancements that will positively affect your next visit to NOLA. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your visit and we truly hope to welcome you back to enjoy our many improvements first hand in the near future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
Westin New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.