We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located, Great Service, & Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #90 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located, Great Service, & Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin Canal Place Hotel during Jazz Festival weekend. The hotel was busy but not crowded. Moreover, the staff of the hotel was always nice even though they were being constantly being bombarded with questions from guests. The room was specious and comfortable with all the normal Westin amenities. The breakfast was quite overpriced, in my opinion, and was mediocre so you might find some alternative breakfast options.

I must add one thing. I forgot a package that was shipped to me (call it a hangover). I called the concierge from the airport and she happily shipped me the package. She was so nice and very cooperative with getting this done.

I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for staying at Westin New Orleans, as we are thrilled that you had a great Jazz Festival visit! We certainly get busy during "fest" season in New Orleans, but our team takes pride in providing personal service and delights in delivering great guest experiences. I'll be sure to thank our concierge team personally for efficiently getting your package to you as well.

We hope to see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    324
    185
    90
    60
See reviews for
158
251
65
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel and located perfectly on the edge of the French Quarter and Garden District. Easy walking distance to Canal Street and Bourbon Street. Very friendly staff. Hotel is nice and clean. I'll speak to the elevators since I saw some commented on them - the hotel is in the process of renovating the elevators - two are new and the other two are in the process of being renovated. The two older ones were working, but dated looking. Rooms were older but have been remodeled and are super clean. I would stay here again - it is the perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Westin New Orleans and for taking the time to comment about your experience! We're glad you noticed our "super clean" rooms and we'll be sure to give our housekeeping team the positive feedback. We are also proud to report that as of this week, all of our elevators in service are the newest in the city. Over the coming months we are also updating our guest bathrooms, lobby, guest corridors, and more.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff was very friendly upon checking in and during the entire stay. The room was huge and they put us on the high floor with great view of New Orleans. We walked to everywhere as everything was so close.

If you are looking for good New Orleans Jazz music, walk down Bourbon Street past the party clubs (they are fun but after the first night partying we wanted to see something else..) down towards Frenchman. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a great view of Mississippi and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing some of the highlights from your Westin New Orleans visit! We're glad to hear that you had a great time and appreciate the compliments on our associates. You certainly gave an insiders perspective of the local hot spots that our concierge team is typically known to provide as well. However, there is always something new to experience, see, sip, or taste in our unique city - so we can’t wait for you to come back and visit again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - steps from the riverwalk, Harrah's casino, and the french quarter. The river views - from the lobby (and my room) were outstanding. The lobby area was impressive.

Yet, I was surprised at the shape the hotel was in. The elevator walls had what appeared to be ripped off plaques and small holes (size of a quarter) near the floor buttons. My room was okay, yet the carpet always seemed dirty and the bathroom needs refurbishing. The spigot in the bathtub had come away from the wall (gross). You could tell it was caulked a lot - yet, the caulk didn't hold. Also, the wall next to the bathtub was rusty. Also, the room smelled - of cheap cleaning liquids. Lastly, the A/C was not working in my room - the fan was on but the air was not cold. Engineering came up and ripped off that nasty panel (inside - ick) he had to turn the cold water on and then it was fine). The hallway on the 18th floor had a lot of stains.

The Westin brand makes me think of higher end - i.e. heavenly bed - more amenities. I was disappointed with this property. I was in room 1809. I had friends in the Hilton Riverside and I saw 2 rooms - both were much nicer than my room in The Westin and for a lower price.

The staff was very helpful and nice. I ate breakfast & one lunch in the lobby restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your Westin New Orleans experience! We're glad you enjoyed our breath taking views and that you were able to delight your taste buds with some of our local cuisine. However, we’re sorry that you were disappointed in some of the wear and tear that we are currently working to revitalize.

We have just completely modernized our 6th elevator this week giving us the newest elevators in New Orleans. I'm very excited to report that the elevator you wrote about will never be seen again! Additionally, in the next few months we will complete several other enhancements that will positively affect your next visit to NOLA. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your visit and we truly hope to welcome you back to enjoy our many improvements first hand in the near future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel, was very dirty and under staffed to be a four diamond hotel. My room was not up to par, not very well kept up mismatching paint, missing grout in the tiles, stained carpet, very empty though. The bathroom was very dirt there was hair all over it. The condition of the room was dreadful. Housekeeping slams doors all day long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us with detailed feedback from your recent stay with us at Westin New Orleans. We are disappointed to hear of the mishaps that you experienced, but I assure you we will address immediately with our team to ensure this is corrected immediately. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future to see the improvements we have made as a result of your comments!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

There is a lot to like about this hotel, not the least of which is the 11th floor lobby offering a panoramic few of the Mississippi River and an energetic mix of both business and pleasure travelers. The location, at the edge of the French Quarter and attached to upscale Canal Place, is also a plus. Both the rooms and baths are on the large side. So why the less-than-stellar review? The answer is in the shabby condition of both the common areas and the guest rooms. The carpet throughout is thread-bare and stained to the point where it looks like a crime scene. There were tiles missing in our bathroom and the grout was less than clean. The veneer in a lot of the furniture was chipped or had worn through. Here's hoping that this usually-reliable chain invests in some capital improvements soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the feedback from you recent experience at Westin New Orleans. We are actually currently working on or have upcoming plans to work on all of the areas that you mentioned in need of an update. We have completed a new Westin Workout Fitness Studio and new elevators just recently. We are currently working on new guest corridor carpet and will be updating our guest bathrooms and lobby shortly as well. We hope you experience our exciting enhancements on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and like the location right near the French Quarter. We found the service very friendly. The room smelled damp and musty. It had a connecting door to another room so super loud and no sleeping in. We could hear every door slam and voice in the hall. Room quality about what you'd expect from a Day's Inn or other low budget, but not from Westin at $350/night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate the feedback from your recent stay at Westin New Orleans. We'll work to improve based on your comments and are currently updating many features at our property to enhance our guest experience. We hope to get a chance to welcome you in the future to show the improvements we have made.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.