We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay at The Westin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average stay at The Westin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - steps from the riverwalk, Harrah's casino, and the french quarter. The river views - from the lobby (and my room) were outstanding. The lobby area was impressive.

Yet, I was surprised at the shape the hotel was in. The elevator walls had what appeared to be ripped off plaques and small holes (size of a quarter) near the floor buttons. My room was okay, yet the carpet always seemed dirty and the bathroom needs refurbishing. The spigot in the bathtub had come away from the wall (gross). You could tell it was caulked a lot - yet, the caulk didn't hold. Also, the wall next to the bathtub was rusty. Also, the room smelled - of cheap cleaning liquids. Lastly, the A/C was not working in my room - the fan was on but the air was not cold. Engineering came up and ripped off that nasty panel (inside - ick) he had to turn the cold water on and then it was fine). The hallway on the 18th floor had a lot of stains.

The Westin brand makes me think of higher end - i.e. heavenly bed - more amenities. I was disappointed with this property. I was in room 1809. I had friends in the Hilton Riverside and I saw 2 rooms - both were much nicer than my room in The Westin and for a lower price.

The staff was very helpful and nice. I ate breakfast & one lunch in the lobby restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your Westin New Orleans experience! We're glad you enjoyed our breath taking views and that you were able to delight your taste buds with some of our local cuisine. However, we’re sorry that you were disappointed in some of the wear and tear that we are currently working to revitalize.

We have just completely modernized our 6th elevator this week giving us the newest elevators in New Orleans. I'm very excited to report that the elevator you wrote about will never be seen again! Additionally, in the next few months we will complete several other enhancements that will positively affect your next visit to NOLA. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your visit and we truly hope to welcome you back to enjoy our many improvements first hand in the near future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    315
    177
    86
    61
See reviews for
148
248
61
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel, was very dirty and under staffed to be a four diamond hotel. My room was not up to par, not very well kept up mismatching paint, missing grout in the tiles, stained carpet, very empty though. The bathroom was very dirt there was hair all over it. The condition of the room was dreadful. Housekeeping slams doors all day long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us with detailed feedback from your recent stay with us at Westin New Orleans. We are disappointed to hear of the mishaps that you experienced, but I assure you we will address immediately with our team to ensure this is corrected immediately. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future to see the improvements we have made as a result of your comments!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

There is a lot to like about this hotel, not the least of which is the 11th floor lobby offering a panoramic few of the Mississippi River and an energetic mix of both business and pleasure travelers. The location, at the edge of the French Quarter and attached to upscale Canal Place, is also a plus. Both the rooms and baths are on the large side. So why the less-than-stellar review? The answer is in the shabby condition of both the common areas and the guest rooms. The carpet throughout is thread-bare and stained to the point where it looks like a crime scene. There were tiles missing in our bathroom and the grout was less than clean. The veneer in a lot of the furniture was chipped or had worn through. Here's hoping that this usually-reliable chain invests in some capital improvements soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the feedback from you recent experience at Westin New Orleans. We are actually currently working on or have upcoming plans to work on all of the areas that you mentioned in need of an update. We have completed a new Westin Workout Fitness Studio and new elevators just recently. We are currently working on new guest corridor carpet and will be updating our guest bathrooms and lobby shortly as well. We hope you experience our exciting enhancements on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and like the location right near the French Quarter. We found the service very friendly. The room smelled damp and musty. It had a connecting door to another room so super loud and no sleeping in. We could hear every door slam and voice in the hall. Room quality about what you'd expect from a Day's Inn or other low budget, but not from Westin at $350/night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate the feedback from your recent stay at Westin New Orleans. We'll work to improve based on your comments and are currently updating many features at our property to enhance our guest experience. We hope to get a chance to welcome you in the future to show the improvements we have made.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Checked in around 11:45 a.m. on Monday April 29. Room (1515) smelled great and was very clean plus the view of the French Quarter and the Mississippi was spectacular! Enjoyed our stay of 3 nights immensely. All staff interactions were very positive. Concierge was outstanding as she arranged our swamp tour and then troubleshooted it when the operator missed our pickup. It may be all in a day's work for a concierge but for us, it made for a worry-free stay. Front door staff were warm, friendly and always had a smile, a funny comment or a helpful suggestion. Thank you Westin!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the French Quarter/Mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the nice note on your recent visit at Westin New Orleans. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our staff will surely appreciate the thoughtful comments on their service. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Although this was not a business trip they did honor government ID so we thought the room was very reasonable. Staff was great, room was large with a great view of the city. Starbucks coffee in the room and free bottled water and newspaper every day. They had a rooftop pool with amazing views and hotel is at the edge of the French quarter convenient to everything. Concierge was very helpful. They need new furniture in the lobby but we didn't really care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent Westin New Orleans experience. We're delighted that you had a great visit and will be refreshing our entire lobby by the end of the year which will further accentuate our majestic views of the Mississippi River. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location is great right on the Mississippi with rooms overlooking the river & French Quarter or facing downtown and Harrah's casino. It's sits on top of an upscale mall. It's right off of Canal Street close to everything. The rooms were clean and large. However, they could use an update, the carpet in the hallways are old, as are some of the elevators. Having said that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Westin New Orleans. We're delighted that you had a nice visit and are currently updating or planning to update all of the areas you mentioned in the very near future. We look forward to your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.