We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location could use an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #94 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good location could use an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location is great right on the Mississippi with rooms overlooking the river & French Quarter or facing downtown and Harrah's casino. It's sits on top of an upscale mall. It's right off of Canal Street close to everything. The rooms were clean and large. However, they could use an update, the carpet in the hallways are old, as are some of the elevators. Having said that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Westin New Orleans. We're delighted that you had a nice visit and are currently updating or planning to update all of the areas you mentioned in the very near future. We look forward to your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    280
    179
    73
    37
See reviews for
149
218
33
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Clearly this place is well situated. The views from the windows should not be missed. The river is impressive there. This seems to be an old landmark type property and it sort of feels like it. I had higher expectations of Westin to be honest. It was more like a NOLA convention type hotel. It was very OK but nothing special besides the location.

There is a Starbucks in the connecting mall lobby and all of the city is within walking distance of the property. All the French Quarter to do's are right there. It's perfectly situated.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for the feedback on your visit at Westin New Orleans. Our location and views are irresistible perks to many of our loyal guests for certain and I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of them. However, we are also working diligently on a daily basis to complete several enhancements to our property with our guest corridors, guest rooms, lobby, and more.

I hope to welcome you back to experience our improvements first hand on your next visit to New Orleans!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel a year ago and found the staff exceptionally helpful. We made use of the integral car park which proved convenient.
To get maximum enjoyment, make sure you take one of the highest floors and request a view over the Mississippi river. If you're not lucky enough to get one, you can always sit by the rooftop pool and gaze down at all the sights - especially by night. It is within walking distance of the shops and also boat cruises along the river.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for the feedback on your visit last year at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you enjoyed the views of the Mississippi River and French Quarter from our roof top pool. The views are truly breathtaking to just about every guest that steps foot in our lobby.

We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel location was good. It's inside a mall which was nice if you have to stroll baby around in nice a/c area because outside gets pretty humid and hot. Took us forever to check in because there was only one person working. Elevator wasnt bad. Once we got to our floor, the hallway paint and carpet is pretty outdated. Nothing like what you see on the main floor. Our door to the room it looked old and bang up. The bathroom was white and outdated. There was this sewage smell in the bathroom. What you would smell in old home. The bed and the room was nice. The view of river was nice.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on your experience with us last August at Westin New Orleans. While I'm not certain what the issue described in your comments from last August may have been, I can assure you that over the past 9 months we have made multiple improvements to our property.

Each guest corridor has been redesigned in terms of its color scheme which involved repainting each corridor wall and guest room door. We have begun to add new carpet to our guest corridors and have just completed one floor recently. There are several other areas of the property that have been modernized since your last visit including our guest elevators, Westin Workout Fitness Studio, and more.

We believe you'll be pleasantly delighted to see the enhancements we've made on your next visit to New Orleans!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The staff is exceptional, but the hotel property is not as I remembered. The place is absolutely desperate for a make-over. Lobby furniture was so gross I hesitated to sit in it in my white slacks. The elevators were stained and worn out. Mismatched, stained furniture is not what I expect for $350 per night! Please, bring this back to the hotel I fondly remember!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for providing us with detailed feedback from your visit at Westin New Orleans. I assure you that we are working on several enhancements to address some of the items pointed out in your comments.

We currently have only 1 original elevator in service with our 5 others being the newest in the city. The last elevator should be completed with in a few days. Our lobby is scheduled to have a refresh in the coming months with new carpet and new furniture which will be designed to highlight our best feature which is our unmatched majestic view of the Mississippi River and French Quarter. We are also working to update all guest corridor carpet, as well as to enhance our guest bathrooms and more. We have already completed our new Westin Workout Fitness Studio which our guests are informing us as being an area that has truly uplifted their experience.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to New Orleans to see the improvements we are making on a daily basis!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Originally had 2 night reservation here and 3 night reservation at Sheraton but was able to consolidate to 5 nights at the Westin for French Quarter Fest a few days before.

Checkin was good and was given a room with a view of the river and the festival stage.

Was given a small slip of paper for internet access and thought it was the free internet for Gold status. But I was kicked out twice that night and thought the wifi was a little flaky or busy so switched to the wired since I need to do a bit of work and kept getting kicked out. Called down and was told that the paper I was given was for the complementary internet access for all guest and that as Gold I can select paid internet and it would be taken off. Would have been nice to be told that when I checked in instead of wasting some time.

Overall good service and staff are friendly. Some slight wear and tear in a few places but location is convenient for the Festival and French Quarter.

The other slight issue I ran into is that in order to print 2-3 pages, I need to go to the business center which charges minimum 5.95 I think and .60 per page. Considering I have my own laptop and free internet access, I was a tad surprised by the high cost. The front desk took it off for me as gold but if you need to do work, the Sheraton where I stayed at Jazz Fest last year gives you 45 mins free internet access in stations and something like 5 pages for free a day and I think about 10 or 20 cents per page after that.

On the last day I went to notary archive to research something and it took a lot longer than I expected to get help to research something. Called around 4pm to see if I can pay for 6pm checkout instead of my 4pm checkout from status and was told if I do it would be a full day's charge. I would have paid a reasonable fee but not a full day for 2 hours extra and they were nice enough to extend it for a little bit so I can wrap up what I was doing i.e. wait for them to print something for me, grab and cab back to the hotel and throw the last few things into my bags and checkout.

I would definitely stay here for leisure trips but with the current business center policy, might need to think for work based trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for the feedback on your recent Westin New Orleans experience! Your detailed comments on the areas that you saw as opportunities to improve are quite helpful and will be used immediately to grow our team for future guests. We truly hope to welcome you back soon to see the improvements we have made!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely view of the river from our 18th floor room. Clean, comfortable. Steep valet parking fee.
Two sets of elevators: one to lobby, second to rooms. Connected to small upscale mall that opens onto Canal St, across street from Harrah's Casino, and very close to Quarter. Like any mid or larger hotel in the city, some wee hour reveler noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Amex, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.