We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #94 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. It's a great place. Lovely views of the city and the river. Each time I've been blessed to receive an upgrade to a suite on a high floor thanks to SPG Platinum. The beds are amazing. The bathrooms huge. I love the shower products at Westins. The pool is on the roof. So, that's a great experience. We stayed here for July 4th and watched fireworks from the roof as they were shot over the Mississippi River. I'd definitely go back. The staff is very warm and friendly. I've not eaten in the hotel restaurant because the options in NOLA are too many. The lobby also has a great view of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for the comments from your July visit with us at Westin New Orleans. We're happy that you had a great time and that your were well rested in our Heavenly Beds. Our views are truly inspiring and we are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience them. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    280
    180
    73
    37
See reviews for
149
218
33
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Exceptional service,hospitality,cleanliness. Tony C. P.S. I must add thelocation could not be any more convenient.Wether it be to the French Quarter or sightseeing New Orleans,because of where it is at the day does not feel so long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the thoughtful note in regards to your recent visit at Westin New Orleans! It feels good to hear such nice things about our "service, hospitality, and cleanliness" as you mentioned. We hope to see you again soon to deliver another satisfying experience!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Canal Place over Spring Break. The location was ideal for doing many of the touristy things New Orleans offers. It was especially convenient for walking to the Quarter, the French market, Cafe du Monde, etc. Self parking was an advantage; validated at the guest rate of $18 per 24-hour was a reasonable price compared to most other options. The only drawback to this was that we had to plan our departures so that we did not incur more than one $18 charge per day. The hotel was reasonably quiet and clean. . . but showed lots of wear and tear. The elevators were temperamental, but repairs were performed quickly. The lobby is a comfortable place to enjoy a conversation and a scenic view of the river. The lobby furniture, on the other hand, is completely worn out, looks dirty, and sags in all the wrong places. Overall, a serviceable hotel, but in need of some of updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the details from your stay at Westin New Orleans! We are working on all of the areas mentioned in need of revitalization including an entirely new lobby furniture design which will accentuate or magnificent Mississippi River and French Quarter views. Our elevator modernization project is nearly complete as our 6th of 7 elevators will be completed in a few days giving us the newest elevators of any hotel in the city.

We hope to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I lived in New Orleans for 5 years and my favorite hotel is Le Pavilion. However, on a recent trip Le Pav was booked so I decided to give the Westin a shot. My logic was that the location probably afforded the most convenience and the best views of the city. I was right.

People need to keep in mind when staying in New Orleans that there are no 5 star hotels in New Orleans. Every building is old, and most people come to New Orleans to party. So, naturally, all of the hotels (even the nicest) are at least a little run-down simply because they get partied in constantly. Having said that, I would put a suite at the Westin among the best luxury accomodations New Orleans has to offer.

NOTE: If you are going to stay here, pay the extra money and get the suite. It is worth every penny. My review doesn't apply to the little dinky 200 sq ft rooms. I can see why others will give this hotel 2 or 3 stars if they stayed in a tiny room.

The suite comes packed with 270 degree views of the river, warehouse district, downtown, and the French Quarter. The only thing you can't see is midtown, which no one should want to look at anyway. The suite also comes with a kitchen, two bedrooms with king beds, two and half baths, a dining area, and a seating area, 3 tvs, along with tons of closet and storage space. Most impressive though, are the sweeping views from every room. I could sit and watch the boats navigate past each other for hours.

Cons:
limited in-room dining menu (which is understandable because you shouldn't be doing a lot of room service while in N.O.)
parking is kind of a pain in the butt and you have to take two elevators to get to your room
pets are allowed (I had to call one night at 2am because of an incessant barking dog -- so they sent security and I don't know what they did but I never heard from that dog again - I think he's swimming with the fish in the Mississippi River)
Boat whistles (if you're not used to them they might wake you up once or twice a night)

Room Tip: Tell them you want an end suite -- I think they tend to end in 26. For example, floor 24 would be R...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the detailed feedback from your recent Westin New Orleans visit! There is no doubt that there is not another hotel in the city that can match our views and in the effort we give in providing truly personal service to our guests.

Over the past few months we have begun working on several property enhancements as well. We hope you noticed our new Westin Workout facility and also our recently modernized elevators. Additionally, we are updating our guest bathrooms, corridors, meeting rooms, and lobby area to revitalize our guest experience. We really hope to see you back soon to enjoy these enhancements first hand!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked the Westin because I wanted a consistent 4 star brand hotel and it seemed closer to the French Quarter than the Marriott. I also chose it for the heated pool.
First, I have to say the service and staff were great. (We were disappointed to not get rooms together ( not even on the same floor) whuch was weird since we booked these two rooms as a large family) )
The hotel has seen better times, however. The hallways and elevator were old dirty and outdated. Carpets in the room felt grungy. The rooms were cleaned well but are in need of an update.
The biggest disappointment was the pool though. Our kids were with us and we had planned on using the pool for down time. It was freezing cold even though we were told it was heated. It was our main reason for choosing this hotel. We brought it to the attention of staff several times over the first three days but were first told it was heated. Then someone said they'd have someone look at it. Then they said it was now turned on but would take another day to heat. Finally on the last day, the kids could swim. It is a tiny square on the roof surrounded by cheesy green astro turf. Do not be fooled by romantic images of a rooftop pool.
Can't say enough good stuff about front desk, concierge and doorman . They were great people and they gave great service but it doesn't make up for the rest of what the hotel lacks. The hotel is attached to an upscale mall and movie theatre but it was empty always. There aren't great restaurant facilities in the hotel. They do now have free wifi which is excellent. The work out room is definately above average and we used it several times. Overall my family was disappointed and ironically the Sheraton on canal seemed much more of an updated 4 star than the Westin. I'd do the Marriott or Sheraton on canal or an upscale boutique if I went back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for the nice comments about our staff! We also appreciate the feedback about some of the areas that you would like to see improved, as we apologize that you had a less than perfect experience.

We did have one of our original elevators still in service on your visit, but as of a few days from now we will have completely modernized 6 of our 7 elevators giving us the newest in the city. We are also working to add new carpet in all guest corridors, meeting rooms, lobby area, and modernizing our guest room bathrooms. As we are doing all of these enhancements in an unobtrusive manner to our guests, it progresses at a slower pace than we would prefer.

Thanks again for your feedback and we are hopeful that you come back to see us again to experience our property as we continue to evolve and grow.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Canal place in late March. It is conveniently located at the edge of the French Quarter which allows quick access to all the goings on there without being in the midst of all the noise and crowds. Its also convenient to get to the central business district, warehouse district or garden district. If you get a room on the river side the views are amazing. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Next time we return to New Orleans the Westin will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the descriptive comments about your visit and on our prime location at Westin New Orleans. We're glad you felt well cared for from our staff and it sounds like you experienced several different unique parts of our city. Depending on which direction you walk towards when exiting our front doors, you'll find a different cultural experience of New Orleans which is what makes our location truly irresistible.

We hope to see you again on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was the Westin New Orleans for 1 night over a business trip. I was upgraded to a King Suite so I am not sure what a standard room looks like but maybe it would be better. First off the front desk staff did a great job of being friendly and welcoming and the bellman were great also.

My Suite was certainly HUGE but lacked character. It was just a big empty room with some furniture thrown in. There was absolutely nothing special about it to bring it all together and make it feel special. It felt quite sad really - no special touches and a really big, empty feel. New Orleans is such a great city with lots of character but this could have been a room at any airport hotel.

The location is great but I don't think I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello and thanks for the thoughtful comments about our Front Desk and Bell Staff! Positive reinforcement such as yours helps to energize the team to continue to strive in being their best.

We take your feedback about the room seriously and will work to see what character or local feel we can add to it. Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Amex, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.