We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #88 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in. My sole complaint is that the walls are a bit thin and there were an inordinate amount of children. Located centrally, within walking distance of Frenchman, Bourbon, Riverwalk, and Aquarium, but far enough that the noise isn't bothersome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for the post and also for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to the Westin New Orleans. The French Quarter and our breathtaking views of the bustling Mississippi River make our 11th floor sky lobby the perfect place to unwind at the end of your day or to start an evening of delight. We'll take note of your feedback regarding the thin walls and work to see how we can improve our property to make your next experience even better!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    385
    217
    85
    45
See reviews for
214
288
44
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
241 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The good and bad about Westin is its consistency and looking at the physical plant of tis hotel,kudos to Westin for maintaining consistency with the brand. The hotel is clean. The staff friendly. It feels a bit far from things but really isn't, quite convenient.

Only downside is the self parking requires you to validate and the tyrant at the booth will make no exceptions and direct you to return to the front desk. That is ridiculous, i understand the garage is maybe city or third party owned, but Westin folks need to secure a better agreement. The hotel takes a hit on service for that one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we're excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! While it is great to hear your nice comments about our staff and cleanliness; getting constructive feedback such as with our garage is equally important. I can assure you, we will work with the garage company to improve its service immediately. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to see the improvements first hand.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Westin in New Orleans. We won't stay there again.
First the good things....... strangely enough, the parking garage. You can get really good views of the river from the 9th floor of the parking garage without even staying at the hotel. The roof of the hotel offers very nice views as well. The concierge (I think her last name was Webee) was very helpful and knowledgeable with suggestions. The lobby of the Westin is also very nice with huge windows for viewing the river.
Now the problems……… absolutely nothing for free. I am surprised they don’t charge to use the elevator. With as much as they charge for the rooms, they can’t afford free Wi-Fi????? Come on people, you can get free Wi-Fi in any Starbucks without even buying anything. This is ridiculous to force people to the lobby to get Wi-Fi. Not even a donut for free for breakfast??? Again, they are making plenty of money and could offer something for breakfast. This is just cheap on their part. I stayed at another place on the way home for about 1/3 the cost and had a massive breakfast for free as well as Wi-Fi in the room.
The room was fine but nothing special. The toilet backed up for no reason on our part. That was not good.
Overall, I should have went with tripadvisor reviews and stayed at the quality inn. I think we would have been much happier.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond about your stay. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience and will work to make improvements based on the valuable feedback you have provided. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss your visit with us further.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay. Both visits have been for business but I took my family along. The staff is amazing. We had drinks one night at the bar. The drinks were good, albeit pricey, and the staff was attentive and pleasant. Our king room was large and the white tea bathroom amenities smell wonderful. The Westin is a beautiful hotel but expect to pay all the extras. No fridge no microwave and no vending machines. You have to walk through the main lobby to get to the tiny "store" to get a $3 sprite. If you are expecting that then you'll enjoy everything else at the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We were thrilled that you chose to stay with us again at Westin New Orleans Canal Place and appreciate your loyalty! Our Green Bar has an ever growing reputation for its delicious cocktails, so we’re glad to see the momentum continue. We’ve shared your comments with our team and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently I stayed at Westin Canal place. I arrived day before the fat Tuesday. The hotel is located centrally yet away from all the noise and mess that is after the parade. The waterfront is right there and there were activities and music during the night. I felt safe walking to and from the hotel to bourbon street which is very close by.
The staff is as always very helpful and I love the smell of the hotel and room as you walk in. I had a really good river view and it was an enjoyable stay.
I would recommend this hotel highly

Room Tip: If you are SPG member, ask for upgrade. Even if you are not SPG member, doesn't hurt to ask as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for providing us with feedback from your visit over Mardi Gras! We're so happy that you had a great time and appreciate the nice comments about our staff. The refreshing smell you mentioned in the hotel and in your room is the WESTIN signature white tea scent which can be purchased on our website. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I never use travelocity and the site like this but I did for this trip for business and I was plesantly surprised. I got a 4 star property for 100 bucks and didnt know the name until I paid for it which was this westin property. Im glad it came up and I will stay here again. it was clean nice and the pool on the top of the building (about the 25th floor I think) was very cool and provided a great view of the city and the mighty Mississippi. I will be here again for sure! great workout center too!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond and we're glad you stayed with us as well! You were one of our first guests to experience our newly completed WESTIN Workout facility which gives our guests the perfect guilt free excuse to get out and enjoy the numerous world class dining options just outside our front door.

We can't wait to see you again, so please come back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I chanced upon a really good rate for the Westin during our visit March 1st. I specifically wanted a hotel located at the French Quarters. This is as Good as it gets. Location was perfect....great walking distance to the heart of the action. Starbuck a few steps away and lots of shops along your walk to Jackson Square.
We chose the valet parking option since it is very convenient. We had the "in and out" option till 8PM of the next day. It worked for us since we did drive out for dinner.
Room was spotless, beds were comfy as ever and check-in and check-out was a breeze. Will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing the highlights of your Westin New Orleans visit! We're glad to hear that you noticed our prime location, guest service, and cleanliness. We've shared your positive words of encouragement with our team and they are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,906 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
French Quarter
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,345 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.