We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but has it's problems.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location but has it's problems.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was there for 4 days and loved the location to the Warehouse District and the Quarter. Views from lobby and our room were absolutely stunning. This hotel only needs to be renovated...looks worn and dated.

1. Elevator problems are being worked on and we incurred only one
incident that was not Westin's fault. Overall, elevators were very
were prompt.

2. Room was spacious with great beds/linen. It needed a chair or two to
fill in the empty space by window to enjoy the great view.

3. Our room had a mini bar but not working. Front desk did not offer
to replace it...just said "none were available and that we could
get ice on the floor". Really! Needless to say, we did not use it.

4. Bathroom was nicely appointed but the tub had bad mold in grout
lines. This was very disturbing when taking a bath. Nasty!

This could be great hotel if only updated. I don't think I would stay there again. Too many nicer hotels around but that view is a "Wow".

Room Tip: Get a higher floor with riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond! We appreciate the feedback you've provided and I can assure you we are working diligently on every issue you described. As you mentioned, we've been working on our elevators and have actually just completed 5 of our 7 elevators which has already resulted in dramatic improvements over the past few weeks. Just before the Super Bowl, we also completed our new Westin Workout facility which is the perfect place to burn off some of those calories that you are sure to gain while visiting our Green Bar or any of the world class restaurants just outside of our front door. We look forward to welcoming you back as we continue to evolve with our upcoming enhancements to our guest rooms, guest corridors, lobby, and more. Thanks again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    315
    177
    86
    61
See reviews for
148
248
61
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at lots of Westins in my day and this one just isn't up to their normal standard. Staff is very good but there aren't enough of them. The location and views of the city are great! But the public spaces and rooms are pretty worn. Elevators are being replaced now which is good because they are pretty shabby for a Westin. That said, my room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and it had a safe, tv with lots of options, and was well equipped. Unfortunately, all of the furniture, carpet and wallpaper looked rather beaten down, kinda dirty. I would give this hotel a rating of 3 to 3.5 stars provided the room rate doesn't exceed $185/night. If more than than that, I would stay elsewhere until the renovations are complete. Hopefully, they'll make the investment as the bones are there for 4+ star property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We welcome all feedback from our guests - good and not so good. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience and I can assure you that we are working extremely hard on everything you have mentioned. Our guest rooms, guest corridors, lobby, and more are all being improved on a daily basis with our hotel having a completely revitalized product by this time next year. We have also just completed our modernization 5 of our 7 guest elevators and also our Westin Workout facility, which is now something that our guests are absolutely raving about.

I'll be sure to share the kind comments about our staff which they always appreciate to hear. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very close to trolly, french market and casino! Only complaint was that there were two full size beds and not queens. Would think with the prices they get they could spring for two queens but of well, we didnt sleep much anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to respond! We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed our amazing city. Our location and views are the best in New Orleans, as you are truly just a few steps away from whatever your interest may be.

The determination for us in going with two double beds rather than two queen beds was to provide a more spacious room for our guests. We receive great comments about the size of our rooms with one king bed, two double beds, and our suites - but I can completely understand your preference. On your next visit, you may prefer a room with one king bed and one of our heavenly rollaway beds or possibly an entry level suite such as the Bienville suite with a heavenly rollaway bed. Please give us a call prior to your next reservation in order to ensure we are providing the most convenient and comfortable experience possible. Thanks again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville, alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off, I believe that the staff and employees at this particular Westin were outstanding and were always available with a smile to help me out. That being said, the elevators were awful and the hotel really needs an update. Many of the chairs in the lobby sitting area were thread bare and the 1990s carpet was in need of sore replacing. I was also disappointed with the gym but I understand it is due to be updated. Overall, I had a positive experience at this Westin, but I do believe management needs to take very seriously all of us business travelers who have recommended an upgrade as there are a whole hell of a lot of nice hotels in New Orleans in the Westin's price range. Last thought, this hotel is in an excellent location to enjoy the French Quarter and all it offers. No spa?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are disappointed that you had a less then perfect experience with us, but want you to know that we are currently working on all of the concerns you have mentioned! Our elevator modernization project became closer to full completion last week when our 4th and 5th of 7 elevators were completed. Over the past week, our guest are no longer noticing our elevators which is our goal. While our lobby does have the best view of the Mississippi river and French Quarter in the world, the furniture and carpet are indeed starting to show their age. However, we've taken feedback such as yours to heart and are scheduled to revitalize this area in the coming months. In terms of the Westin Workout facility, it was just completed and has become a great source of guest satisfaction. There's nothing like it in the city. We also have built a massage room adjacent to the Westin Workout facility where our guest can reserve a full compliment of massage services through our concierge desk with just 24 hours notice. We are sorry you just missed out on experiencing a few of these just completed enhancements, but we are extremely confident that your next visit will be well worth the wait as we continue to evolve each and every day.


Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you can get beyond the inconvenience of having to take two elevators to get to your guest room -- one to the 11th floor lobby because parking is on floors 1-10 (NOLA is underwater and parking is above ground!), the other elevator to the guest rooms -- then this hotel is well worth the stay. From the lobby you can see breathtaking views of the entire city and beyond thanks to a collection of really large floor-to-ceiling windows. Views from the guestrooms are even better. The service staff was great and very responsive. It is really too bad the new fitness center will be finished next week. Guess it means I'll just have to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east; you will not be disappointed. The views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for the compliments! Our views really are amazing which is why we are certain that our goal of being the best hotel in the city will come to fruition in the near future as we continue to refresh our property. We're sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy our recently completed Westin Workout Facility which is in a class of its own in our city. As you mentioned, you will definitely have to come back to experience it in what will surely be an even more rejuvenating stay! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It took a minute to find the parking garage. The hotel has a mall garage garage as the 1st 10 floors that cost only 18$. Which is a great deal in New Orleans. The Mall is the first 2 stories with high end stores. On the 3rd floor is a movie theater. The theater rooms are smaller with relaxing recliners. It also was wait service. The hotel lobby is on the 11th floor. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. It is directly across the street from the casino and on the edge of the french quarter so you are away from the noise. We didn't have any problems with elevators that others noted. Another couple did get stuck on the elevator for 5 minutes they said but the hotel staff was very nice apologizing for the issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We have turned the corner on our elevator modernization project and now have completed 5 of our 7 hotel elevators which has dramatically improved our speed and efficiency. We certainly have a great location and amazing views which we are glad you enjoyed. We're continuing to work on various improvements throughout our property as we evolve and grow, which we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am born and raised in NOLA, and know my way around very well. When I take a visit home I generally have preferred to stay in one of the better known and established hotels. I found a great discount on Westin Canal Place for the week before Christmas, and thought I would give it a try and save a few bucks. I am so glad I did! The location is perfect, especially if you don't want the added expense of a rental car - a short walk to the Quarter, a short walk the other way to the Dome, Convention Center, casino, or the streetcar to Uptown. The room was spacious with a fantastic view of the river, and the bed was very comfy. The hotel elevators were undergoing some work during my stay, and sometimes there was a sort of lengthy wait, but it was pleasant to chat with other guests plus while waiting I enjoyed the view of the bridge and Westbank from the elevator lobby so much I didn't care. The bar was small and friendly, the desk staff helpful, there was a shopping mall a short glass elevator ride away, and the rooftop heated pool sealed the deal. I expect I will make this hotel my regular place to stay whenever I can manage a visit to NOLA. Who Dat!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It was great to hear that you had such an exhilarating stay! We'll be sharing this with our staff to show them the benefit of the hard work we have committed to in order to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.