We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ended up at this hotel, via a prepaid website, for part of the week between Christmas and New Year's Eve; and it was well worth what we paid. I would not currently recommend paying full price. The parking garage takes up the 1st ten floors so the lobby is on the 11th. Everything else rises above the lobby. With the view of the Mississippi, that should be amazing, and it would be if the elevators weren't run by very slow gnomes. There are only 4 elevators going up from the lobby to the 18 floors above, and one was not working during our entire visit. The elevator gnomes have 2 speeds: slow and slower. Every so often they let the elevators pass your floor over and over for up to 10 minutes before they stop. I think they intentionally stopped on the floors above and below us just so we could hear the elevators passing us by. My wife and I wondered why the hotel hadn't set up daiquiri vending machines in the hallways so we could spend the time waiting for the elevator.

Then there was the construction. Every morning, probably about 9, someone started whacking on the wall, or maybe inside the elevator shaft, with a hammer. He was careful not to be rhythmic in case we got used to it, and regularly changed hammers to vary the tone and depth of the din.

BUT, the view of the Mississippi cannot be beat! Ask for a high floor facing the river. The room was overall very quiet. Other than the hammer, we heard nothing from outside our room except for passersby in the hallway. The amenities were good. The hot water was plenty hot. All was clean. The cold water pressure was a little soft in the mornings, but not really a problem. The staff was courteous and professional. Not terribly warm, but no complaints. They probably had a hard time being courteous and professional with the elevator and construction problems.

If you can get a deal from prepaid site and you're not in a hurry when you get to New Orleans, this Westin is worth the price. If they ever get the elevator problem remedied it will be a great hotel with a great view. Avoid it if you're traveling for business because the elevators will add about 15 minutes to the time it takes just to get to street level.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views but the elevators run like they're being dragged through thick LA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    280
    180
    73
    37
See reviews for
149
218
33
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am on the first night of a 3 night stay I booked here at the Westin New Orleans. I am a Platinum member of SPG. I travel ALL over the US and stay frequently in Westin Hotels. I can tell you that I have never stayed in such a dirty and dilapidated Westin. WTF?? I know New Orleans isn't known to be the cleanest of cities, but I really expected more from Starwood. How do they let one of their properties deteriorate to this. Starwood should change the name of this place to Sheraton. If you have stayed in a Sheraton lately, then you know what I mean.
So here are the first things that I have noticed so far: 1) The elevators are really slow and messed up, and the carpet on floor and in elevators are really dirty like a cargo elevator. 2) valet parking is $42 a day. I think it was cheaper in San Francisco. 3) the smell of sewer gas in the hall when you are walking off the elevator to your room. 4) only 1 wash cloth and 1 bar of soap in my bathroom. 5) tiny tv in room 6) work out room was in a meeting room and had very little equipment and no mirrors on the wall.
The people were really nice when I checked in. I feel sorry for the nice people who work here because I am sure that everyone that stays here constantly complains about everything to them.
The hotel is in a good location if you are going to the French quarter.
Overall, I would never stay here at this Westin again. I was really confident that this was going to be like all the other Westin Hotels that I have stayed in, but sadly it isn't.
Very poor quality hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our first visit to NOLA and after much research we decided on the Westin. We loved the location. Very convenient. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't get back in the car until we left NOLA 4 days later! The hotel was clean, friendly, safe, and very enjoyable. The elevators are in the midst of being replaced so they were very slow. We waited as long as 20 minutes (on the 29th floor) at one point.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river and really enjoyed seeing the boats come and go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A group of friends and I booked rooms in this hotel based on its location as well as the reputation and our past experiences at Westin hotels. Other than its great location and views, this location did not deliver. Here's why:

-Lobby is on the 11th floor so you have to take an elevator from the street level to the lobby then take another set of elevators up to guest rooms. Wait time for elevators was long. It was not unusual for it to take 10 minutes for one. They had staff working on them every day we were there.
-Furniture in the rooms and lobby is stained and dirty
-They are currently doing construction on the hotel. Every morning of our 4 nights there, someone started using power tools before 8 a.m. right next to our room.
-Hot water actually ran out during showers not just for my husband and I, but our friends on the last day of our stay.

Overall, not what we expected out of a Westin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Loved the location and the views from room and lobby overlooking the Mississippi River. Rooftop pool area was really nice too (didn't swim since we stayed here in December). Rooms were nice and spacious and they had nice comfy bedding. One complaint is the odd configuration of the hotel. Lobby is on the 11th floor so you have to take an elevator from parking structure or ground entrance to the lobby then take another set of elevators up to the guest rooms. Only other comment is that the rooms could use some sound proofing around the doors, when other guests where in the hallway it sounded like they were in our room, fortunately we had so much fun in NOLA that we were too tired to care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We chose the Westin despite its $270 per day price, because of the brand and the hotel's location near the French Quarter and Riverwalk. The hotel actually begins on the 11th floor. We were impressed by its sweeping views of the French Quarter and the Mississippi River. Unfortunately, most of the chairs and sofas in the lobby were heavily stained and clearly had never been cleaned. A coffee table had a broken leg than nearly collapsed on my friend's foot. The room was no cleaner. Everything looked dirty, shopworn and in sore need of replacement. The hotel also had grossly inadequate elevator service which meant the people left coffee cups, soda cans, etc. lying around during the wait for the elevator which often exceeded 10 minutes! Service in the bar and dining room was fine, despite a waitress dropping TWO trays of dishes and knocking over a room divider. The concierge was friendly and helpful. No complaints at all about the staff, but the place was inexcusably dirty.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if cleanliness matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the Westin Canal Place. The location is unique as it's directly on top of a very nice, luxurious shopping mall. We were in town for a convention, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the farthest end hall of the convention center (we were in "D" I believe). So, not too bad. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do in the city with a 2-year old. We settled on the Audubon Zoo and had a great day, when not attending the convention.
The Westin itself was just OK. The air conditioner rattled all night, and so they moved our room the next day and EVENTUALLY gave us a substantial monetary credit to make up for it (when initially offering an insulting sum). It's above a standard hotel, but not much. Somewhere sandwiched between 3 and 4 star. I'd never intentionally seek out that Westin again, but it was OK.

Room Tip: A room facing the river is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.