We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Save Saved
You added The Westin New Orleans Canal Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Loved the location and the views from room and lobby overlooking the Mississippi River. Rooftop pool area was really nice too (didn't swim since we stayed here in December). Rooms were nice and spacious and they had nice comfy bedding. One complaint is the odd configuration of the hotel. Lobby is on the 11th floor so you have to take an elevator from parking structure or ground entrance to the lobby then take another set of elevators up to the guest rooms. Only other comment is that the rooms could use some sound proofing around the doors, when other guests where in the hallway it sounded like they were in our room, fortunately we had so much fun in NOLA that we were too tired to care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    332
    189
    91
    60
See reviews for
162
256
66
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We chose the Westin despite its $270 per day price, because of the brand and the hotel's location near the French Quarter and Riverwalk. The hotel actually begins on the 11th floor. We were impressed by its sweeping views of the French Quarter and the Mississippi River. Unfortunately, most of the chairs and sofas in the lobby were heavily stained and clearly had never been cleaned. A coffee table had a broken leg than nearly collapsed on my friend's foot. The room was no cleaner. Everything looked dirty, shopworn and in sore need of replacement. The hotel also had grossly inadequate elevator service which meant the people left coffee cups, soda cans, etc. lying around during the wait for the elevator which often exceeded 10 minutes! Service in the bar and dining room was fine, despite a waitress dropping TWO trays of dishes and knocking over a room divider. The concierge was friendly and helpful. No complaints at all about the staff, but the place was inexcusably dirty.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel if cleanliness matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the Westin Canal Place. The location is unique as it's directly on top of a very nice, luxurious shopping mall. We were in town for a convention, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the farthest end hall of the convention center (we were in "D" I believe). So, not too bad. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do in the city with a 2-year old. We settled on the Audubon Zoo and had a great day, when not attending the convention.
The Westin itself was just OK. The air conditioner rattled all night, and so they moved our room the next day and EVENTUALLY gave us a substantial monetary credit to make up for it (when initially offering an insulting sum). It's above a standard hotel, but not much. Somewhere sandwiched between 3 and 4 star. I'd never intentionally seek out that Westin again, but it was OK.

Room Tip: A room facing the river is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Try to take advantage of their special rates. We found it on a blind bid. I have seen this property for years and was totally surprised at how The Westin out performed in every category. A first class facility and a super location for ease in seeing the French Quartet. Staff was friendly and most helpful. Service was prompt. No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Yes the elevators seem to be an issue loud guest in the halls at all hours and drunk doesnt help i had to park my SUV across the street and for$30 a day verses $18 at the hotel it would not fit in their parking low 6-4 clearance . The hotel location is great and the room was nice and room service good too i would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The lobby and rooms are very nice, the rooms are a good size with nice decor, super clean, with a good size bathroom but the lighting in the bathroom is the worst for a woman that I have ever seen. They use super bright florescent lighting which shows every flaw! The A/C uses an old water cooler type of system and you can only have either hot air or cold air but you cannot switch back and forth. New Orleans was hot in the daytime and freezing at night so we had to call maintenance each day and night to have it manually switched back and forth between heat and AC....also only two out of four elevators were working and one of the maintenance men told us that it is an everyday issue. The hotel has three sets of elevators, one for parking, one for the rooms and another to get down to the street level. This makes for lots of wasted time at the elevators especially since they don't work half the time. We were on the 26th floor so the stairs would not have been convenient either. But the staff was extremely kind and helpful in apologizing... we were given 4 free drinks in the bar as well as 2 free breakfasts for the inconvenience. The price per night was also extremely inexpensive so overall it turned out to be a very nice stay in a very nice hotel. The location is great too, all the attractions can be walked to easily. If they fix the a/c and the elevator problems then it would get 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During our recent stay in December 2012, the elevators were being repaired and had not been in full servcie for the past month. There were waiting times as long as 20 minutes for the elevator, and hotel management avoided any discussion of the problem. Rooms are in the average range; clean, a bit dowdy. Breakfast buffet is quite nice. Location is on the edge of the French Quarter. On the whole, the Monteleone is more attractive and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is downtown just steps from the French Quarter, the Convention Center, Jackson Square, and the central business district. Offering a rooftop pool and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.